SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Modern-Era Subsims > Dangerous Waters
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2018, 10:48 PM   #1
FPSchazly
Good Hunting!
 
FPSchazly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Maryland
Posts: 734
Downloads: 11
Uploads: 1


Default Run Dangerous Waters in a Window on Windows 10

Hey, all! I made a little how-to here for those of you who want to run DW on Win10 in a window. This one uses the program DXWnd. I believe there are some other ones, but this is the one I stumbled upon. First, here's links to the stuff I use in the video:

and without further ado, here is the video:

__________________
Your friendly neighborhood modern submarine YouTuber.

My videos:
**Exclusive Look at Modern Naval Warfare!**
Dangerous Waters Liu Doctrine (LwAmi
Learn to play Dangerous Waters
FPSchazly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2018, 05:28 AM   #2
Pisces
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: AN9771
Posts: 4,782
Downloads: 283
Uploads: 0


Default

Awesome! Should come in handy for other old programs too.
Pisces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2018, 01:36 PM   #3
Sosondowah
Watch
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Timișoara/România/Eastern Europe
Posts: 26
Downloads: 16
Uploads: 0
Default

Thank you, great tutorial! As always, in fact, from your side.
__________________
"The Dutch say we are brothers, and joined together with chains, but that lasts only as long as we have beavers; after that no attention is paid to us." Mohawk Leader

Sosondowah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2020, 08:14 AM   #4
A-Ganger
Electrician's Mate
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 138
Downloads: 11
Uploads: 0
Default

Tried this exactly as video.
Get error failed to initialize graphics display.
As well, you cant click the error to close DxWin and must use task mgr.
A-Ganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2020, 08:52 AM   #5
A-Ganger
Electrician's Mate
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 138
Downloads: 11
Uploads: 0
Default

So weird..
Completely uninstalled game again, DL from steam, re-did the DxW program, reinstalled Nvidia driver, now it's working again lol


With the DxW program you don't even need to copy over that d3d.dll file either.


Now I shall try installing RA 1.49..
A-Ganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2020, 09:13 AM   #6
A-Ganger
Electrician's Mate
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 138
Downloads: 11
Uploads: 0
Default

RA installed, test, awesome..I had completely forgot about this DxWin program and it was on my desktop lol


Thanks FPSchazly for you work as usual and to whomever else helped figured this all out..


You can also uncheck the Run in window button and run it FS..
But before setting up this DxW program I couldn't get the game to run correctly at all!
A-Ganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2020, 09:30 AM   #7
FPSchazly
Good Hunting!
 
FPSchazly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Maryland
Posts: 734
Downloads: 11
Uploads: 1


Default

You're welcome! Also note that the d3d8.dll will break DxWnd, so it's good you're not using it
__________________
Your friendly neighborhood modern submarine YouTuber.

My videos:
**Exclusive Look at Modern Naval Warfare!**
Dangerous Waters Liu Doctrine (LwAmi
Learn to play Dangerous Waters
FPSchazly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2021, 03:55 AM   #8
bacon117
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Linden, MI
Posts: 7
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Just want to add my experience. I had to change the DXWnd Initial Virtual color setting in "Video" to 16BPP to just start the game.

I kept getting an error saying failed to initialize graphics (or something similar). In "Direct3D" of DXWnd, I had to check the "Enumerate 16bit modes" for it to run.

This worked for me.

GLHF
bacon117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2021, 04:00 AM   #9
bacon117
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Linden, MI
Posts: 7
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Also, in the "Hook" tab, I had to change the injection mode to "SetWindowsHook" to allow other windows to be on top of the DW window and for it to actually start at the 1280x1024 resolution I wanted. It seems "Inject Suspended process" keeps it at 1024x768.

I dunno, I pretty much kept pressing buttons until it worked. Come to think of it, that's how I got married too. So YMMV...
bacon117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2021, 09:16 PM   #10
Torpex77
Mate
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Pennsylvania-Endless Moutains
Posts: 60
Downloads: 42
Uploads: 0
Default Bummed

I tried every Posted method to get DW to Run on Win 10, but after a dozen hours trying everything I could find posted here, Steam and YouTube It continues to crash as soon as I press the PLAY command.

If anyone has recently had any success, please let me know so I can Try again.)) I got SH4, SH5, 688I, and Sub Command all working with some /some not tweaking. Hate to raise the White Flag! lol

Thanks!

Gave up for now. Updated my Old XP Machine with an Old Version of Steam that allowed me to access the necessary steam data. Then Copied Dangerous Waters folder from the Win 10 Machine onto a portable HD, then installed the game files into the SteamApps folder and BOOM..DW working like a Champ on XP.
__________________
Pre 2001 TORPEX

Last edited by Torpex77; 04-17-2021 at 04:01 PM.
Torpex77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2021, 07:00 PM   #11
A-Ganger
Electrician's Mate
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 138
Downloads: 11
Uploads: 0
Default

Try and create a new file in the DXWnd program.
These are the settings I run on W10, works like a champ.


[target]
title0=Dangerous Waters
path0=C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Dangerous Waters\dangerouswaters.exe
startfolder0=
launchpath0=
module0=
opengllib0=
notes0=
registry0=
ver0=0
monitorid0=-1
coord0=1
flag0=673185825
flagg0=1275330640
flagh0=20
flagi0=138412036
flagj0=4224
flagk0=66561
flagl0=34816
flagm0=32768
flagn0=5
flago0=0
tflag0=0
dflag0=0
posx0=50
posy0=50
sizx0=1700
sizy0=1022
maxfps0=0
initts0=0
winver0=0
maxres0=7
swapeffect0=0
maxddinterface0=7
slowratio0=2
scanline0=0
initresw0=1280
initresh0=1024
[stamp]
version=v2.04.36.fx3
time=Mon Apr 26 18:58:34 2021
A-Ganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2021 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.