SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2021, 05:12 PM   #16
Jeff-Groves
Village Idiot
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 3,975
Downloads: 83
Uploads: 0


Default

Mister_M should be culling down some files with some suggestions I gave him.
__________________
Professional Cunning Linguist
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2021, 06:04 PM   #17
John Pancoast
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Minnysoda
Posts: 2,787
Downloads: 440
Uploads: 2


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff-Groves View Post
Right.
So if you cut the English speech files and only use the German files?
You save space on your hard drive but it really shouldn't even be reading those files. "The fastest way to have the Game load is with an SSD drive." < - THIS

__________________
"Realistic" is not always GAME-GOOD." - Wave Skipper
John Pancoast is online   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2021, 06:08 PM   #18
John Pancoast
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Minnysoda
Posts: 2,787
Downloads: 440
Uploads: 2


Default

One way to help, depending on if your install has them in the first place is to replace any 3d units you want, with their 2d versions from the stock version.
I.e., I could care less about 3d aircraft. Crash dive time, not gawking time.

So I just use the NYGM versions and the only reason I use those is for the better "Battle of the Atlantic" skins vs. stock.
__________________
"Realistic" is not always GAME-GOOD." - Wave Skipper
John Pancoast is online   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2021, 07:06 PM   #19
Mad Mardigan
The Old Man
 
Mad Mardigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Grand Rapids, Mi.
Posts: 1,595
Downloads: 402
Uploads: 0


radar

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff-Groves View Post
Right.
So if you cut the English speech files and only use the German files?
You save space on your hard drive but it really shouldn't even be reading those files. "The fastest way to have the Game load is with an SSD drive."< - THIS


Quote:
Originally Posted by John Pancoast View Post



Nice, if you're blessed with deep enough pockets, to afford all of them... there nice shiny extras, bells & whistles...

Unfortunately... some of us, ain't blessed with them there, nice deep pockets & have to do the best with what they can or have... *sighs* just know, that this isn't Me, judging or anything of that... it's just... Me, venting frustration... but... not at y'all...



M. M.
__________________
Mad Mardigan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2021, 07:25 PM   #20
John Pancoast
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Minnysoda
Posts: 2,787
Downloads: 440
Uploads: 2


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Mardigan View Post


Nice, if you're blessed with deep enough pockets, to afford all of them... there nice shiny extras, bells & whistles...

Unfortunately... some of us, ain't blessed with them there, nice deep pockets & have to do the best with what they can or have... *sighs* just know, that this isn't Me, judging or anything of that... it's just... Me, venting frustration... but... not at y'all...



M. M.

Understood. Heck, I play it on a 2009 windows 8.1 laptop.
__________________
"Realistic" is not always GAME-GOOD." - Wave Skipper
John Pancoast is online   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2021, 10:30 AM   #21
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: One hour from Music City USA!
Posts: 8,037
Downloads: 391
Uploads: 1


Default

Our last i3 Win81 lappy died a few weeks ago. Onboard Intel graphics, and it did fine with SH3, and could do most SH4 mods. The mid-grade i5 machine with onboard Intel HD graphics does fine also, and can even run SH4 with FotRSU on Win10. It is "tight" though. Two desktops, one with Win10, the other a triple-boot XP / Win7 / Win10 machine (XP is still needed for a couple of audio apps) does fine with all of the SH series games, and is able to run SH4 FotRSU in Windows XP also, using the 3Gig switch in the boot.ini - In other words, all versions of Windows, from XP through Win11 will run SH3 no problem. You are better off with a 64-bit machine though, to be able to set the SH3.exe file to be LAA. It is just a matter of setting the SH3.exe Properties pages, especially the Compatibility tab, to suit your video system.
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is online   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2021, 05:50 PM   #22
Mad Mardigan
The Old Man
 
Mad Mardigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Grand Rapids, Mi.
Posts: 1,595
Downloads: 402
Uploads: 0


radar

Ok....

enough with all the sappy, touchy feely... 💩

What say, we get back to the meat of the subject... how to best get SH3 in trim fighting shape... & not have it flat line...



M. M.
__________________
Mad Mardigan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2021, 05:57 PM   #23
Jeff-Groves
Village Idiot
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 3,975
Downloads: 83
Uploads: 0


Default

I was gonna mention I just gave away a notebook with Windows 7 and a 500 Gig SSD.
Now. Based on your system? IF it can handle an SSD drive? 125 Gig SSd's are around $30 or so.
Hell! I'll send you one if you give me your system specs!
An external SSD using USB 3.0? 1 TB's for like $50!

Now. Maybe that is a lot of money to you. But not to me. So if I'm willing to gift you an SSD?
Only Pride can get in the way.
__________________
Professional Cunning Linguist
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2021, 08:24 AM   #24
Mister_M
Weps
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 364
Downloads: 12
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Mardigan View Post
how to best get SH3 in trim fighting shape... & not have it flat line...
With very simple 3D models and textures. I'm currently testing this idea with a more realistic Buckley DE built on the model of WoWS released by Alex.B, but with the same or maybe less triangles than SH3 vanilla model. And I intend to re-use the vanilla and GWX textures for compatibility.



We could give the name "minimalist" to this mod.

Last edited by Mister_M; 12-07-2021 at 08:41 AM.
Mister_M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2021, 12:32 PM   #25
kyle9154
Officer
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia THE HUB OF ALL CONVOYS
Posts: 246
Downloads: 328
Uploads: 0
Default

I wish you guys the best of luck in this endeavour, keep at it guys as this could be the base for all super/megamods out there.
__________________
U-Boote sind die Wölfe auf See...Angreifen...Reißen...Sinken!!! U-boats are the wolves at sea...Attack...Tear...Sink!!! - Karl Doenitz

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tSpRvfqFYp0&t
kyle9154 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2021, 03:58 PM   #26
Doolar
Expert Shipsinker
 
Doolar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Baltimore,Md./ CA45
Posts: 565
Downloads: 344
Uploads: 0
Default Re

First of all, I know absolutely 0 on these things, but I'm interested in learning and in this thread. In the image in post 24, would the "new low poly" models, be less detailed (viewing wise) or would they be just as beautiful and as visual as they are now? Would the ships behave differently? Sorry for the dumb question. thanx.
__________________
ONEALEX / Toyotagt86 / CCoM12
Doolar is online   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2021, 04:37 PM   #27
John Pancoast
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Minnysoda
Posts: 2,787
Downloads: 440
Uploads: 2


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doolar View Post
First of all, I know absolutely 0 on these things, but I'm interested in learning and in this thread. In the image in post 24, would the "new low poly" models, be less detailed (viewing wise) or would they be just as beautiful and as visual as they are now? Would the ships behave differently? Sorry for the dumb question. thanx.

They may look different, (not to my old eyes, but maybe younger ones ) they would not behave different.
__________________
"Realistic" is not always GAME-GOOD." - Wave Skipper
John Pancoast is online   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2021, 08:18 AM   #28
Mister_M
Weps
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 364
Downloads: 12
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doolar View Post
First of all, I know absolutely 0 on these things, but I'm interested in learning and in this thread. In the image in post 24, would the "new low poly" models, be less detailed (viewing wise) or would they be just as beautiful and as visual as they are now? Would the ships behave differently? Sorry for the dumb question. thanx.
Yes, low poly and I will remove all useless small details (which can't be seen from a periscope point of view anyway, nor from old eyes ). But they will look a lot more like the real ships (shape, proportions, measures, disposition of the armament...).

This is a lot of work and I will probably do this only for the most representative units.

This approach could be ideally used to have a lot of different types of merchant ships at low coast for the RAM.

By the way, I don't have GWX installed anymore. Could someone send me the GWX files for the Buckley DE (.dat, .sim, ... and textures) ? And also the textures which come with the additional mod which adds a lot of textures and skins to GWX depending on the year (I don't remember the name of this mod, but it must be used with SH3 Commander IIRC).
Mister_M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2021, 02:37 PM   #29
Anvar1061
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: on land,on air and on sea
Posts: 2,905
Downloads: 742
Uploads: 0
Default


GWX_Combined_Skin_Pack
__________________
Anvar1061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2021, 06:29 AM   #30
kapuhy
Mechanic
 
kapuhy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 731
Downloads: 66
Uploads: 2


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Mardigan View Post


Nice, if you're blessed with deep enough pockets, to afford all of them... there nice shiny extras, bells & whistles...

Unfortunately... some of us, ain't blessed with them there, nice deep pockets & have to do the best with what they can or have... *sighs* just know, that this isn't Me, judging or anything of that... it's just... Me, venting frustration... but... not at y'all...



M. M.
Your time has a value attached to it. Minimal hourly wage in your area is like 10$, SSD is 30$. If trimming SH to get similar loading time on HDD to what you'll get on SSD takes less than 3 hours, it's worth your time, if not - it isn't unless you are just having fun while doing it in which case it is totally good idea to spend as much time as you like on this task
kapuhy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2022 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.