SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2019, 06:52 PM   #1
skirich
Chief
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Patroling the south pacific
Posts: 321
Downloads: 75
Uploads: 0
SHO Ship Identification Guide

I'm playing SH4 - American Career, set for Hard, so I only have manual targeting.
I noticed I cant pull up the Ship ID guide either. Which I would think the subs would ave regardless of difficulty.

Is there a link to the PDF version of the guide, or a trick or mod to add back the guide when playing hard mode?
skirich is online   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2019, 07:05 PM   #2
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 15,416
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0


Default Welcome aboard!

skirich!
__________________
"Only two things are infinite: The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe..." Philip K. Dick
Aktungbby is online   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2019, 09:56 PM   #3
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,270
Downloads: 281
Uploads: 1


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skirich View Post
I'm playing SH4 - American Career, set for Hard, so I only have manual targeting.
I noticed I cant pull up the Ship ID guide either. Which I would think the subs would ave regardless of difficulty.

Is there a link to the PDF version of the guide, or a trick or mod to add back the guide when playing hard mode?
If you don't have any mods added, and are playing Stock, then pressing the <N> key should get you the recognition manual. However, you do have to be on the periscope page, not the attack map or anywhere else. Only the periscope - or TBT on the bridge... When on the periscope or TBT, there should be a button the menu for that page to bring the manual up. If it is not showing from that, you might have "mod soup" if you've added mods that conflict with each other.
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 06:54 AM   #4
skirich
Chief
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Patroling the south pacific
Posts: 321
Downloads: 75
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
If you don't have any mods added, and are playing Stock, then pressing the <N> key should get you the recognition manual. However, you do have to be on the periscope page, not the attack map or anywhere else. Only the periscope - or TBT on the bridge... When on the periscope or TBT, there should be a button the menu for that page to bring the manual up. If it is not showing from that, you might have "mod soup" if you've added mods that conflict with each other.

Ah thanks The N key worked. I donot have a recognition manual buton on periscope menu but I do have an ID button.
skirich is online   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 08:07 AM   #5
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,270
Downloads: 281
Uploads: 1


Default

Are you running the game with any activated mods?
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 10:14 PM   #6
skirich
Chief
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Patroling the south pacific
Posts: 321
Downloads: 75
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
Are you running the game with any activated mods?

Just two OTC and 3000 Yard Plotter.
No big deal, ig I have the N key I'm good.
skirich is online   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2019, 07:26 AM   #7
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,270
Downloads: 281
Uploads: 1


Default

Kuhl. CapnScurvy made OTC nice and slick, eh? The bearing tool can be a bit of a memory hog, but is cool. If you have a 64-bit OS, then be sure and activate either the 4gig Patch from here, or use LAA, as outlined by CapnScurvy in "Windows10; Large Address Aware; SH4 Install. The first says WinXP, and the 2nd says Windows 10, but both apply to the SH4.exe file, and set bits in the executable that then show Windows that the game is capable of addressing more memory. The first, from privateer, is a simple little applet. The 2nd uses the Windows dotNet for its functionality. In both cases, they are useable by any of the Windows 64-bit OSes to allow the game more "breathing room" in your computer's RAM, allowing smoother game play and less "stuttering".
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2019, 03:06 PM   #8
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 8,985
Downloads: 1012
Uploads: 0


Default

A Warm Welcome To The Subsim Community > skirich
Subsim <> Make A Donation <> See The Benefits <> Support The Community
SH3 – 4 - 5 Tutorials > Downloads > Other Useful Information > See Links in My Signature Below
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ship id guide

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim