SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Modern-Era Subsims > Dangerous Waters plus New Developments
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2016, 08:49 AM   #16
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 15,405
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0


Default Welcome aboard!

briane941!keep us posted on window 10 upgrade stuff
__________________
"Only two things are infinite: The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe..." Philip K. Dick
Aktungbby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2016, 11:20 AM   #17
Micksp
Sailor man
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Burgas, Bulgaria
Posts: 50
Downloads: 24
Uploads: 0
Default

Huh, the DW game still have a problem running properly on my home PC under Win7-the game menu is flashing for cople of seconds, about 10, and dissapear. I've tried to change the compability settings to run in Win XP SP3 mode, not effect. The other things are going well, the game runs stable, only have the menu issue. I'll be glad for some help hou to manage the game under Win 7-64? My own last experience finished with Win XP 5 years ago...
Micksp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2016, 07:49 AM   #18
Pisces
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: AN9771
Posts: 4,522
Downloads: 240
Uploads: 0


Default

It really is the speech recognition applet. Whenever you click options it tries to come to the foreground. But the game wants to stay fullscreen so there is a short fight going on. Nothing bad happens though. Just annoying.

Or you have the game installed into C:\Program Files (or similar x86 folder), and you are trying to save a game file in to the Scenario folder or save a screenshot. Then User Account Control is popping up a message to ask your approval because Windows wants to prevent that. If this takes too long before acknowledgement then this goes away and whatever you tried to do fails to work. To avoid that install the game into a folder outside of c:\Program Files (whatever)
Pisces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2016, 07:59 AM   #19
FPSchazly
The One and Only
 
FPSchazly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Maryland
Posts: 623
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pisces View Post
It really is the speech recognition applet. Whenever you click options it tries to come to the foreground. But the game wants to stay fullscreen so there is a short fight going on. Nothing bad happens though. Just annoying.

Or you have the game installed into C:\Program Files (or similar x86 folder), and you are trying to save a game file in to the Scenario folder or save a screenshot. Then User Account Control is popping up a message to ask your approval because Windows wants to prevent that. If this takes too long before acknowledgement then this goes away and whatever you tried to do fails to work. To avoid that install the game into a folder outside of c:\Program Files (whatever)
Yeah, the speech recognition is annoying. For me if I'm running full screen, it pops up, my game minimizes, and then I leave it up and go back in game. It won't bother you again as long as you leave it up. But, I run the game in a window so it's a non-issue for me.

For what it's worth, I've never had an issue having my game installed to Program Files, but it's worth a shot if the problem still persists.
__________________
Your friendly neighborhood modern submarine YouTuber!

My videos:
**NEW** Dangerous Waters Liu Doctrine (LwAmi) **NEW**

688(I) Hunter/Killer
Cold Waters South China Sea

Remember, it's just a game
FPSchazly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2016, 01:37 PM   #20
Berzerkly
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Los Angeles CA.
Posts: 8
Downloads: 24
Uploads: 0
Default RE: DW Wrapper

Thanks Komat! Back on patrol on Windows 10 thanks to you, running beautifully. -Berzerkly
__________________
Berzerkly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2016, 05:20 PM   #21
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 15,405
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0


Default Welcome back

Berzerkly! after a bit of a silent run!
__________________
"Only two things are infinite: The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe..." Philip K. Dick
Aktungbby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 07:10 PM   #22
DisparateX
Nub
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Dordrecht
Posts: 4
Downloads: 11
Uploads: 0
radar

Quote:
Originally Posted by Micksp View Post
Huh, the DW game still have a problem running properly on my home PC under Win7-the game menu is flashing for cople of seconds, about 10, and dissapear. I've tried to change the compability settings to run in Win XP SP3 mode, not effect. The other things are going well, the game runs stable, only have the menu issue. I'll be glad for some help hou to manage the game under Win 7-64? My own last experience finished with Win XP 5 years ago...
I'll be damned. DW worked when i started it from Steam the first time. A day later a startup error an no luck. The wrapper wasn't even installed so i tried but no luck. I even had backup copy of the whole directory but no luck.
I just installed Sub Command from Steam and it works at 1600x1200. Without the wrapper. I copy the settings ini file to my other Sub Command folder but no luck there.
I have no clue what is going on here. I'm starting to think to revive my 2006 pc or try VM.
__________________
==========================
Where is the patch for that patch?
==========================
DisparateX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 07:21 PM   #23
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 15,405
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0


Default Welcome back

DisparateX! after an eight year silent run!
__________________
"Only two things are infinite: The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe..." Philip K. Dick
Aktungbby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 03:48 PM   #24
Mystic
Watch
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 18
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default

I am hopefully in the process of rejoining the ranks of submarine commanders after a decade of absence due to only having Mac computers, since I just bought a PC specifically for gaming, and all of the old toys are beckoning me, hehe. I am running Windows 10 and have Steam installed.

As an owner of Dangerous Waters, Sub Command, et al from way back, I am wondering if there have been any updates made to the Steam versions that would make it worthwhile for me to purchase them this week (a bundle is on sale for $6) rather than going through the installs and digging up the patches from my saved disks. In fact might buy them from Steam just to save myself the effort of digging that stuff up ... that is, unless someone here tells me that I'll have better luck getting my old versions installed and running on Windows 10 than I would with the Steam versions.

Also, what is the consensus opinion (if any) at this point on whether or not this Windows 10 wrapper actually works?
Mystic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2016, 06:11 PM   #25
Guts
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: England
Posts: 7
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Default

What folder do I extract the .dll to??
__________________
\'Fear the fury of a patient man\'
Guts - No Fear
Guts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2016, 10:19 PM   #26
FPSchazly
The One and Only
 
FPSchazly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Maryland
Posts: 623
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guts View Post
What folder do I extract the .dll to??
\Dangerous Waters\
__________________
Your friendly neighborhood modern submarine YouTuber!

My videos:
**NEW** Dangerous Waters Liu Doctrine (LwAmi) **NEW**

688(I) Hunter/Killer
Cold Waters South China Sea

Remember, it's just a game
FPSchazly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 03:23 PM   #27
Kapitan_Phillips
Silent Hunter
 
Kapitan_Phillips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Gallifrey
Posts: 3,910
Downloads: 183
Uploads: 0
Default

I'm having the same problem as mentioned before. Installs and runs fine first time, then straight to the "Windows is searching for a solution to the problem"

I've tried that DLL with no luck. Win10 64bit here
__________________
Well, here's another nice mess you've gotten me into.
Kapitan_Phillips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2016, 10:30 PM   #28
tjwine
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default help

i have DW and i use windows 10 and the patch still doesnt work it still goes to a black screen. PLS help
tjwine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2016, 11:11 PM   #29
silent shadow
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

Sorry I am not very computer literate.

When you say unpack to game directory; Where exactly is the game directory? Is it just the dangerous waters folder or a sub folder?

Thanks
silent shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2016, 04:48 AM   #30
p7p8
Samurai Navy
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 587
Downloads: 116
Uploads: 5


Default

Dangerous waters folder
p7p8 is online   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim