SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2019, 08:10 PM   #1
Mios 4Me
Electrician's Mate
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 135
Downloads: 10
Uploads: 0
Default Event camera askew

Once again this issue has popped up but under differing circumstances. It's happened on each career and I'd come to assume it was simply a memory defect related to multi-barrel patrols and dozens of sinkings. This time it's only my first assignment and maybe 10-12 kills, mostly by shellfire.

I'm running stock 1.5 with hacks to create a 1945 Balao in 1941, complete with Mk 16 torpedoes, two 5" guns, and no crew limitations. I don't see how any of that should be related though. I had briefly installed some of Berbster's GFO megamod but shut it off several patrols ago.

Historically, the event camera issue precedes time compression issues above 1500 or so. I've restarted the computer but the issue remains.

LAA has been activated since the career began.

Any thoughts?
Mios 4Me is online   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 08:12 AM   #2
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,270
Downloads: 281
Uploads: 1


Default

Well, adding and removing mods in the middle of a career can cause issues with the Save game, but what do you mean by "askew"? Does it not pop-up reliably? Or are you talking about that when it's following your torpedoes, you'll see the torp, and then you won't, and the screen goes to like a light blue, but still shakes? Or are you referring to it constantly shaking and / or having unrelated content in it, like the camera is facing the wrong way?

The camera showing something, like a torpedo traveling, and then doing a shaky blue screen can mean that the torpedo has breached and is out of the water. Also, the camera will sometimes "rotate" its view, and not be pointing at the subject very well. Sort of like an incompetent cameraman, all too common on today's TV shows... - Excessive shake of the camera is a setting in the camera's cfg file. The 'triggering' of the camera popping up is part of the game code.

All of these can be influenced by (as mentioned) altering the mod configuration, but also by leaving the game with either a click on a Windows background, or using the <Alt><Tab> or <Windows> key combinations. The game basically loses its "handles", if you will, to where the computer's resources, such as sound and video, are. The game might then start over-writing portions of itself and other aspects of the computer stored in the RAM. These situations will sometimes corrupt your Save file also. Don't shell out to windows, if you've been doing that. Also, the game has a nasty habit of not releasing all of the computer's resources after it closes back to Windows, but you do mention having restarted the computer. However, if you run a Quick Mission or Patrol, or run the Museum, be sure and exit the game before you load your career, since the computer doesn't release its own resources back to itself very well either, and should be restarted when switching between "modes"... old tech...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 10:03 AM   #3
Mios 4Me
Electrician's Mate
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 135
Downloads: 10
Uploads: 0
Default

Wow, had no idea file commands were so fraught in this game. I've been doing all the things you mentioned. THanks for the warnings.

It's the external camera views of ships within radar or sonar range, not the event camera - apologies for the brain freeze when i wrote that. I'll rotate through the images of a convoy, for example, and it will suddenly display the individual ships, if at all, from very odd angles and planes.
Mios 4Me is online   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 02:58 PM   #4
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,270
Downloads: 281
Uploads: 1


Default

Yeah, the external camera does the same stuff when the game gets "confused". Avoid the shelling out to Windows, and you'll eliminate a good portion of the troubles. Not all, but most. Changing mods, even ones that shouldn't affect game-play, can mess with the Save files sometimes. Then again, the game itself can mess up the Save file, with no human intervention required... - Sometimes, the game is practically bullet-proof, and will keep going when other game engines would roll over and die. Other times, the game gets a "splinter", ie: a mis-placed comma in a text file, and ends up dying in short-order...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2019, 09:16 PM   #5
Mios 4Me
Electrician's Mate
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 135
Downloads: 10
Uploads: 0
Default

Is there a geographic component to these errors?

I'd been running without issues as long as I stayed out of Empire waters, but after finally being transferred back to Pearl, I'm running into it every patrol now. The oddest part is that I'm running at TC 8100 with no issues until I approach Iwo Jima. Then one or two blinking destroyer-only task forces approach, ones I've come to recognize as harbingers of game instability, either three or four ships, and the game starts lagging badly above 512 TC.

This is coming at the beginning of a new patrol, no kills, no prior encounters, nada. I've done full computer restarts twice but it repeats.
Mios 4Me is online   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 06:33 AM   #6
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,270
Downloads: 281
Uploads: 1


Default

What is your mod list now? There are issues with what I describe as "run-a-way spawns" in a few mods, where a couple of DD Random Generated Groups were supposed to be an anchored destroyer, but the "anchor chain broke", so to speak, and the DD instead circles the "globe" at 5 knots, joined by more and more of its sisters, each spawn cycle. This is what generates the DD-only "Task Groups" that are seen. These will eventually grow too large for the computer system to keep up with, and you will see performance degradation, eventually to the point of a CTD.
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim