SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2019, 01:42 PM   #7216
Kurt Dagger
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 6
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Niume View Post
Are you running highter time compression than 512x because if so. You won't encounter aircraft. you must play at 512x time compression maximum if you want to meet aircraft.
Yes, I really used time compression above 512. Thank you very much, did not know about this feature of the mod)
Kurt Dagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2019, 11:58 AM   #7217
Niume
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 1,162
Downloads: 348
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurt Dagger View Post
Yes, I really used time compression above 512. Thank you very much, did not know about this feature of the mod)
It's a bug of a game actually. In Silent Hunter IV and Silent Hunter V is fixed.
__________________
Niume is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2019, 04:54 PM   #7218
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,161
Downloads: 277
Uploads: 1


Default

I wouldn't say it's "fixed" in SH4, just that the dynamic loading of the game allows a little more room in the RAM, but high TC can still bring the game crashing down around you, as well as getting one sunk... With 512x TC, a second in real time is over eight and a half minutes in game time... Time flies when you are having fun!
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is online   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 09:25 AM   #7219
Noobicum4Ever
Mate
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 59
Downloads: 12
Uploads: 0
Default

After getting bored with the classic Silent Hunter 3 campaign, I decided to play the GWX missions!

The problem is that when the submarine is immersed, I no longer see the arrow on the surface of the water. I'm using the external camera and now is so difficult for me.

Also, on the map, I no longer see the ships as a line but as a point and it is difficult for me to do the calculations on the map.


Please tell me that I can solve these two problems!
Noobicum4Ever is online   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 09:38 AM   #7220
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,161
Downloads: 277
Uploads: 1


Default

A couple of things you could do. Remove all mods and copy all of the "Data / Sea / ShipName / ShipName_shp.tga" files, and copy the "Data / Misc / UMark.tga" (the arrow for your sub submerged) file to a safe location, and then put them back in their respective folders after activating GWX, or find them elsewhere (such as a mod) and copy over the locations in GWX. GWX adds some ships, so you would have to substitute a tga for those. I am not real familiar with SH3 mods, other than the likes of mega-mods such as WAC, GWX, LSH, etc., and I have not tried any of the above... but I did stay at Holiday Inn Express last week... (tired old US joke). The UMark doesn't really help you much, and if you make a mark at the "dot" when you first see it, then do it again in 3 minutes, you have your course, and can calculate the ship's speed, so not having them really isn't that much... of course, I'm somewhat used to playing like that after 12 years of it...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is online   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 10:58 AM   #7221
Noobicum4Ever
Mate
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 59
Downloads: 12
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
A couple of things you could do... of course, I'm somewhat used to playing like that after 12 years of it...
Thank you, now I can see the narrow; I copied "Data / Misc / UMark.tga" and it works.
I can not find "Data / Sea / ShipName / ShipName_shp.tga" file! Do you have other ideea?

It is very nice of you to always help those in need
Noobicum4Ever is online   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 12:31 PM   #7222
Anvar1061
The Old Man
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: on land,on air and on sea
Posts: 1,398
Downloads: 632
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noobicum4Ever View Post
I can not find "Data / Sea / ShipName / ShipName_shp.tga" file! Do you have other ideea?:
shipname_shp.tga he meant any suitable folder ships. Example data/Sea/NDD/NDD_shp.tga
__________________

Anvar1061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 01:12 PM   #7223
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,161
Downloads: 277
Uploads: 1


Default

Exactly sort of like using a "variable" in a math equation - substitution... there are a lot of ships though...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is online   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 02:03 PM   #7224
Noobicum4Ever
Mate
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 59
Downloads: 12
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anvar1061 View Post
shipname_shp.tga he meant any suitable folder ships. Example data/Sea/NDD/NDD_shp.tga
ops... thank you!
Noobicum4Ever is online   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 02:06 PM   #7225
Noobicum4Ever
Mate
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 59
Downloads: 12
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
Exactly sort of like using a "variable" in a math equation - substitution... there are a lot of ships though...
I think the problem with the narrow is enough... I am so happy, I did my first mission. I sunked Duke of York, even it was not enough to save Scharnhorst I am verry excited. My first mission in GWX. This supermod has a lot of U-boat love to share, from the developers of the mod to players!
Really amazing work.

BTW, today i did some A-10 Thunderbolt II missions in Lock On, great day !
Noobicum4Ever is online   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim