SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Sub/Naval + Other Games > Sub/Naval & General Games Discussion > Jutland
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2020, 04:23 PM   #1
frigokar
Sailor man
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 46
Downloads: 64
Uploads: 0
Default Engine sounds stop after few minutes

Problem appearing in Distant Guns and Jutland.Anyone have any solution?
frigokar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2020, 04:26 PM   #2
WallysWorld
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 13
Downloads: 46
Uploads: 0
Default

Happens to everyone when there are multiple ships in a battle. 1v1 battles are fine.

Once the ships start firing, the engine sounds disappear. Norm Koger posted years ago that this was because of the way the the sound engine works in the game and couldn't be avoided.
WallysWorld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2020, 04:40 PM   #3
Randomizer
Officer
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 241
Downloads: 82
Uploads: 0


Default

Koger's go to excuse for all of the (many) Jutland/DG bugs was always "That's how the engine works" rather than attempting to find fixes. Arguably it's game designer shorthand for sloppy programming and a lack of rigorous beta testing.

-C
Randomizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2020, 06:50 PM   #4
WallysWorld
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 13
Downloads: 46
Uploads: 0
Default

Yes, I agree with your comment that it should have fixed. Both games just needed a few more fixes and tweaks.



Just an FYI that I just tried out this sound mod in Distant Guns and played a big battle with multiple ships firing and the engine sounds kept playing when before with the delivered sounds, they would stop once multiple ships started firing.


I only copied the Sound2 folder into the Distant Guns folder and renamed it as "Sound" and copied the same folder into the Jutland folder to make it work. I didn't have to load the settings in the game itself as per the mod's instructions. Make sure to backup your vanilla Sound and Sounds2 folders first, but this mod is very good.



https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/dow...p?do=file&id=7
WallysWorld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2020, 12:29 AM   #5
Randomizer
Officer
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 241
Downloads: 82
Uploads: 0


Default

Thanks for the heads up on the sound mod/fix, it seems to work, which begs the question as to why Koger and company never bothered to do something similar for their paying customers.

-C
Randomizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2021, 11:36 AM   #6
frigokar
Sailor man
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 46
Downloads: 64
Uploads: 0
Default

doesent work,not with this mod,or with other sounds i tried
frigokar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2021 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.