SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Modern-Era Subsims > DW Mod Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-14-2009, 12:32 PM   #16
Molon Labe
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Along the Watchtower
Posts: 2,980
Downloads: 27
Uploads: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosencrantz
Hello Molon!


I think 309 looks just great! Well done everyone and big thanks! This far have found only one typo; Chilean Scorpene-class boat is named as SS Carerra. Should be SS Carrera.

But... Well done!


-RC-
That's easy to fix. Anyone notice that the name of FFG48 is no longer misspelled?
__________________
Molon Labe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 01:37 PM   #17
TLAM Strike
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Rochester, New York
Posts: 8,639
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 6


Default

Skjold has the flying boat problem (like the NKor Infiltration Launch) wihen it begins to exceed 40 knots. I recomend lowering the max speed from 60 to about 40. The boat is still fast but it only flys at an alt of about 20 feet.
__________________


TLAM Strike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 02:45 PM   #18
Molon Labe
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Along the Watchtower
Posts: 2,980
Downloads: 27
Uploads: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TLAM Strike
Skjold has the flying boat problem (like the NKor Infiltration Launch) wihen it begins to exceed 40 knots. I recomend lowering the max speed from 60 to about 40. The boat is still fast but it only flys at an alt of about 20 feet.
Alrighty. That kind of report was the kind I was expecting to come in.

Related note.... the container ship's waterline needs to be adjusted. The screws are partially above the waterline right now.
__________________
Molon Labe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 03:03 PM   #19
Molon Labe
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Along the Watchtower
Posts: 2,980
Downloads: 27
Uploads: 5
Default

I've been looking into the Armed Rig suggestions. The version of the Sakura mod I have doesn't have any, but I found the corresponding thread and found that he armed one rig with MANPADS and machine guns, and another with the same plus SS-N-22s. I'm fine with SA-14s and machine guns, but -22s are excessive. Does anyone have any information about weapons put on oil platforms, for example, by Iran (I know they've used platforms for spec ops command posts, so there is at least a military link in their case)? If there is historical precedent for heavier weapons, I don't mind going there.
__________________
Molon Labe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 05:14 PM   #20
CapitanPiluso
Forum Captain
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Buenos Aires
Posts: 273
Downloads: 22
Uploads: 0
Default Can t install 3.09

I am having trouble trying to install 3.09 and it surely comes from my system:
DW 1.04 on XP SP2 Dual Core 2GB Ram


This is what I get :



and then this :



Some help will be great.

Hope this is the correct place to post this.Feel free to move if not.
thx a lot
__________________
(Yo no fui )

My DW pics :https://goo.gl/photos/5gBN7WFntLBSAsc17

My SSM2007 pics :https://goo.gl/photos/1Fa6GaEom28AZuc57

Last edited by CapitanPiluso; 02-16-2009 at 07:15 PM.
CapitanPiluso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 06:52 PM   #21
Molon Labe
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Along the Watchtower
Posts: 2,980
Downloads: 27
Uploads: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapitanPiluso
I am having trouble trying to install 3.09 and it surely comes from my system:
DW 1.04 on XP SP2 Dual Core 2GB Ram


This is what I get :
http://img209.imageshack.us/my.php?image=error1lv6.jpg

and then this :

http://img209.imageshack.us/my.php?image=error2rk9.jpg

Some help will be great.

Hope this is the correct place to post this.Feel free to move if not.
thx a lot
Did you have 3.08 running on the same system?
__________________
Molon Labe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 07:52 PM   #22
Bill Nichols
Master of Defense
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 1,504
Downloads: 125
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Molon Labe
I've been looking into the Armed Rig suggestions. The version of the Sakura mod I have doesn't have any, but I found the corresponding thread and found that he armed one rig with MANPADS and machine guns, and another with the same plus SS-N-22s. I'm fine with SA-14s and machine guns, but -22s are excessive. Does anyone have any information about weapons put on oil platforms, for example, by Iran (I know they've used platforms for spec ops command posts, so there is at least a military link in their case)? If there is historical precedent for heavier weapons, I don't mind going there.
I agree SS-N-22s are a bit too much (if you must have SSMs, Silkworms would be a better choice). Manpads & MGs are exactly what I'd expect to find on an Iranian rig.
__________________
My Dangerous Waters website:
Bill Nichols is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 07:56 PM   #23
CapitanPiluso
Forum Captain
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Buenos Aires
Posts: 273
Downloads: 22
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Molon Labe
Quote:
Originally Posted by CapitanPiluso
I am having trouble trying to install 3.09 and it surely comes from my system:
DW 1.04 on XP SP2 Dual Core 2GB Ram


This is what I get :
http://img209.imageshack.us/my.php?image=error1lv6.jpg

and then this :

http://img209.imageshack.us/my.php?image=error2rk9.jpg

Some help will be great.

Hope this is the correct place to post this.Feel free to move if not.
thx a lot
Did you have 3.08 running on the same system?
Yes, but I disabled it via jgsme before trying to install this.
__________________
(Yo no fui )

My DW pics :https://goo.gl/photos/5gBN7WFntLBSAsc17

My SSM2007 pics :https://goo.gl/photos/1Fa6GaEom28AZuc57
CapitanPiluso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 10:07 PM   #24
Molon Labe
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Along the Watchtower
Posts: 2,980
Downloads: 27
Uploads: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapitanPiluso
Quote:
Originally Posted by Molon Labe
Quote:
Originally Posted by CapitanPiluso
I am having trouble trying to install 3.09 and it surely comes from my system:
DW 1.04 on XP SP2 Dual Core 2GB Ram


This is what I get :
http://img209.imageshack.us/my.php?image=error1lv6.jpg

and then this :

http://img209.imageshack.us/my.php?image=error2rk9.jpg

Some help will be great.

Hope this is the correct place to post this.Feel free to move if not.
thx a lot
Did you have 3.08 running on the same system?
Yes, but I disabled it via jgsme before trying to install this.
OK, a functioning 3.08 install tells us that the installer package and cmputil ran successfully at least once on your system. The 3.09 package isn't any different, so it "should" work as well.

My suggestion at this time is to run the installer over again, but to be absolutely sure no other processes are going on at the same time. Your screencaps show that the installer crashed while trying to run cmputil.exe, which as I said, we know can work on your system. For some reason, it didn't last time. (cmputil takes the graphics files for the new models and compresses them into the file that DW references to generate the models in the sim).

If that fails again, I'd try doing it with a clean install of DW+1.04 patch.

If that doesn't work, there's also the option of giving you the components individually, but I'd have to consult someone to figure out how to get it working with JSGME (I have to confess, after the initial enabling, I never use JSGME, I always move the DBs in and out manually).
__________________
Molon Labe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2009, 05:53 AM   #25
CapitanPiluso
Forum Captain
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Buenos Aires
Posts: 273
Downloads: 22
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Molon Labe



My suggestion at this time is to run the installer over again, but to be absolutely sure no other processes are going on at the same time. Your screencaps show that the installer crashed while trying to run cmputil.exe, which as I said, we know can work on your system. For some reason, it didn't last time. (cmputil takes the graphics files for the new models and compresses them into the file that DW references to generate the models in the sim).

If that fails again, I'd try doing it with a clean install of DW+1.04 patch.

If that doesn't work, there's also the option of giving you the components individually, but I'd have to consult someone to figure out how to get it working with JSGME (I have to confess, after the initial enabling, I never use JSGME, I always move the DBs in and out manually).
It s a good idea to have a clean install, but there s the chance that then lwami couldn t be installed, because something which I don t know has changed on my system, and that happened anytime after installing lwami 3.08
__________________
(Yo no fui )

My DW pics :https://goo.gl/photos/5gBN7WFntLBSAsc17

My SSM2007 pics :https://goo.gl/photos/1Fa6GaEom28AZuc57
CapitanPiluso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2009, 06:47 AM   #26
OneShot
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 956
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default

Two questions ...

1) What version of DW do you have ... Battlefront, STEAM, SF ... ?
2) Is the path used for the installer (3rd window or so) the path to your main DW folder or not?

Reason I'm asking, my guess is that the problem exists because the LwAmi Mod isn't installed where its supposed to be and therefore does not find and copy the files it has to which means that of course the cmputil tool fails.
OneShot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2009, 01:04 PM   #27
CapitanPiluso
Forum Captain
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Buenos Aires
Posts: 273
Downloads: 22
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OneShot
Two questions ...

1) What version of DW do you have ... Battlefront, STEAM, SF ... ?
2) Is the path used for the installer (3rd window or so) the path to your main DW folder or not?

Reason I'm asking, my guess is that the problem exists because the LwAmi Mod isn't installed where its supposed to be and therefore does not find and copy the files it has to which means that of course the cmputil tool fails.
1-I have the Steam version.

2-I am at work now, will check it later and post but I guess the path is right.

Thanks !
__________________
(Yo no fui )

My DW pics :https://goo.gl/photos/5gBN7WFntLBSAsc17

My SSM2007 pics :https://goo.gl/photos/1Fa6GaEom28AZuc57
CapitanPiluso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2009, 01:42 PM   #28
TLAM Strike
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Rochester, New York
Posts: 8,639
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 6


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Molon Labe
I've been looking into the Armed Rig suggestions. The version of the Sakura mod I have doesn't have any, but I found the corresponding thread and found that he armed one rig with MANPADS and machine guns, and another with the same plus SS-N-22s. I'm fine with SA-14s and machine guns, but -22s are excessive. Does anyone have any information about weapons put on oil platforms, for example, by Iran (I know they've used platforms for spec ops command posts, so there is at least a military link in their case)? If there is historical precedent for heavier weapons, I don't mind going there.
I agree with Bill on this Silkworms for SSMs. Also ATGMs like the AT-4 stagger would be appropate.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Molon Labe
Related note.... the container ship's waterline needs to be adjusted. The screws are partially above the waterline right now.
She is lightly loaded.

(I'll fix that up and finish my Russian SEABEE in a week or two)
__________________


TLAM Strike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2009, 03:37 PM   #29
OneShot
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 956
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapitanPiluso
Quote:
Originally Posted by OneShot
Two questions ...

1) What version of DW do you have ... Battlefront, STEAM, SF ... ?
2) Is the path used for the installer (3rd window or so) the path to your main DW folder or not?

Reason I'm asking, my guess is that the problem exists because the LwAmi Mod isn't installed where its supposed to be and therefore does not find and copy the files it has to which means that of course the cmputil tool fails.
1-I have the Steam version.

2-I am at work now, will check it later and post but I guess the path is right.

Thanks !
Ah, that might be the reason ... using LwAmi with the STEAM version proved to be a problem in the past sometimes. The wrong path might be the problem here because the installer looks for a certain registry key for the install path and I think that one is missing in the STEAM version hence it tries to install in a totally wrong folder. Just make sure during install that the installer is pointing towards the correct folder and it should work.
OneShot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2009, 06:57 PM   #30
Molon Labe
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Along the Watchtower
Posts: 2,980
Downloads: 27
Uploads: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TLAM Strike
Quote:
Originally Posted by Molon Labe
I've been looking into the Armed Rig suggestions. The version of the Sakura mod I have doesn't have any, but I found the corresponding thread and found that he armed one rig with MANPADS and machine guns, and another with the same plus SS-N-22s. I'm fine with SA-14s and machine guns, but -22s are excessive. Does anyone have any information about weapons put on oil platforms, for example, by Iran (I know they've used platforms for spec ops command posts, so there is at least a military link in their case)? If there is historical precedent for heavier weapons, I don't mind going there.
I agree with Bill on this Silkworms for SSMs. Also ATGMs like the AT-4 stagger would be appropate.
AT-4s are a great idea, especially with "NGO's" like Hezbollah arming themselves with ATGMs lately. Going further , the AT-4 and SA-14 would be great weapons to put on a new version (or three) of the Fishing Boat/Trawler/Powerboat/etc. Welcome to the unfriendly, populated littorals.
__________________
Molon Labe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim