SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific
Forget password? Reset here

Old 05-05-20, 04:35 PM   #1
stellaferox
Soundman

Downloads: 51
Uploads: 0
Default MODS for SH4?

Hi Guys,

I am completely new to SH4, but I have played every subgame there is and was from the eighties. Especially the other SHs. Guess I am into German U-Boats. Now I want to try the allied side.
I like playing at full realism and do all the stuff manual.
Regarding this, what is the best MOD for SH4? Is there also something like The Wolves of Steel as in SH5?
stellaferox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-20, 04:50 PM   #2
Texas Red
Fastest Gun Around

Downloads: 527
Uploads: 5

I'm not completely sure but I would go for Fall of the Rising Sun Ultimate Editon.
I love it. You should use it but it is totally up to you.

I'm not very active on the forums anymore. If you have a question, please DM me and I'll respond ASAP!
Texas Red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-20, 05:00 PM   #3
XenonSurf
Sea Lord

Downloads: 107
Uploads: 4

Hello stellaferox,
as for mods there is an ample choice with SH4, but most of the time you are going to need the upgrade 'U-Boot Missions' v.1.5 which you must aquire separately, this is not a mod but an official expansion to the game. If you have the Steam version you should already own that.

With this installed, there are a couple of big mods that you can install via JSGME:

RFB (Real Fleet Boat) is a mod that focuses on realism improvements. Nothing I can say more about , I didn't play it.

TMO 2.5 (+ OTF) (+RSRD) is a serious overhaul to the game, making it harder with better grafics and many new features like walking in your sub and clickable items (if you install OTF), better optics etc. Comes with a complete manual. Optionally you can add RSRD which changes the campaign traffic.