SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2010, 02:20 PM   #91
Hitman
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Hitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,264
Downloads: 109
Uploads: 2


Default

@IABL, would you consider doing a lite pack with the units that look best & some skins for the less powerful systems? I think many people would wellcome it
__________________
One day I will return to sea ...
Hitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 02:24 PM   #92
Wreford-Brown
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: In sight of Stonehenge
Posts: 1,750
Downloads: 49
Uploads: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hitman View Post
@IABL, would you consider doing a lite pack with the units that look best & some skins for the less powerful systems? I think many people would welcome it
__________________

All my mods are available at MediaFire:
SH3 Mods
Other modders SH3 mods
SH4 Mods
...you can't please all of the people all of the time...
Wreford-Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 05:33 PM   #93
iambecomelife
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,979
Downloads: 239
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fubar2Niner View Post
@IABL

Quick question mate, are the two new skin packs good to use with your original MFM mod released Sunday? Or do I need to d/l 3.2? Also do I just enable all the skins via JSGME and they will show when the appropriate time date comes around, or, do I have to enable only those applicable to the year I am playing? Many thanks.

Best regards.

Fubar2Niner
You have to enable the skins through JSGME. For instance, if you are playing between late 1942-1945, enable the last skin pack so that you will encounter lots of camoflaged ships.

As for a light version of the mod, I will look into that. I already have a mini-mod on my HD that only includes improved models for existing ships and some of my older releases, like the Empire Freighter - I might make that available soon.
__________________
iambecomelife is online   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 07:54 PM   #94
pickinthebanjo
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 651
Downloads: 281
Uploads: 0
Default

Well I tried the first release it crashed so I dumped all my mods, rolled back Commander then put it back on by itself, again it crashed. Then I tried version 3.2 by itself and it crashed

Any suggestions?
pickinthebanjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 08:43 PM   #95
BigBadVuk
Ensign
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Belgrade,Serbia
Posts: 222
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default

I downloaded 3.2 version,installed using JSGME on GWX 3.0.New career,deleted profile and started over from scratch.
And again when i start mission in 1939 i get CTD!!!


Phenom X2,2Gb DDr3.No other mods installed except GWX 3.0+16Km atmosphere.
I gues this MOD is not gonna work with my installation of SH3.Too bad
__________________
Any ship can submerge..
Only submarine can surface!
BigBadVuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 08:55 PM   #96
pickinthebanjo
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 651
Downloads: 281
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBadVuk View Post
I downloaded 3.2 version,installed using JSGME on GWX 3.0.New career,deleted profile and started over from scratch.
And again when i start mission in 1939 i get CTD!!!


Phenom X2,2Gb DDr3.No other mods installed except GWX 3.0+16Km atmosphere.
I gues this MOD is not gonna work with my installation of SH3.Too bad
I'm about to try a new/Fresh install, then re-install GWX3 and see if that helps. Have you tried that yet?
pickinthebanjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 09:12 PM   #97
Reece
CINC Pacific Fleet
 
Reece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Down Under
Posts: 24,107
Downloads: 171
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wreford-Brown View Post
Seeding back up and running after my wife switched off the bloody computer.
I have got to 51.7% but has stopped!

Never mind, just started again!

Now stopped at 77.6%, (12th June) I must assume that his PC goes offline at bedtime!
__________________

Sub captains go down with their ship!

Last edited by Reece; 06-12-2010 at 12:13 AM.
Reece is online   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 07:54 AM   #98
BigBadVuk
Ensign
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Belgrade,Serbia
Posts: 222
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pickinthebanjo View Post
I'm about to try a new/Fresh install, then re-install GWX3 and see if that helps. Have you tried that yet?
NOP, i quit!
GWX is ok by itself,i would rather play instead of uninstall and reinstall all day

maybe if i one day switch to win7 then i will reinstall all from start,then i will try again but until then i`ll just stick with GWX.
__________________
Any ship can submerge..
Only submarine can surface!
BigBadVuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 09:17 AM   #99
pickinthebanjo
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 651
Downloads: 281
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBadVuk View Post
NOP, i quit!
GWX is ok by itself,i would rather play instead of uninstall and reinstall all day

maybe if i one day switch to win7 then i will reinstall all from start,then i will try again but until then i`ll just stick with GWX.
I'm giving it one more go on a clean install, I managed to get it working last night but it crashed when I went to the map and pressed ahead standerd
pickinthebanjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 10:05 AM   #100
nik112
Sonar Guy
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Greece
Posts: 393
Downloads: 272
Uploads: 0
about ctd

ctd in campaign and museum

Last year when the mod was out i had the same problems, and somebody told me to broke the mod in smaller pieces and install via jsgme. i tried it and worked.
i ll try it tonight [breaking the mod in 5-6 parts] installing part by part when returning from a mission ex (installing part 1 --load campaign-return to port-installing part 2) etc...

cheers
nik112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 10:32 AM   #101
Jimbuna
Chief of the Boat
 
Jimbuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: 250 metres below the surface
Posts: 137,429
Downloads: 49
Uploads: 11


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reece View Post
I have got to 51.7% but has stopped!

Never mind, just started again!
I've told you before....keep feeding the leccy metre with them Aussie Pesos
__________________
Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.
Oh my God, not again!!


GWX3.0 Download Page - Donation/instant access to GWX (Help SubSim)
Jimbuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 04:35 PM   #102
Sailor Steve
Really feelin' it.
 
Sailor Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: High in the mountains of Utah
Posts: 51,387
Downloads: 631
Uploads: 250


Default

SUCCESS!!!

It tooks some bit of work, though. I had CTDs even with 3.2, so I removed it and this time got a crash even without it! So I took out all the mods, and it still crashed! "Well", thought I, "it looks like it's time for a fresh install."

"OH NO! I can't do a fresh install. Both my discs are somewhere in 500 square feet of storage space! It could take days to find them! And I don't want to go buy a third copy...I'm not rich!"

Then I remembered that I always keep a separate Stock 1.4b Data folder in a safe place, because sometimes I need a stock file for some reason on another. So I deleted the Data folder from SH3, made a copy of the spare and loaded it up. So now I'm looking at all the stock screens. "Hm, haven't seen those in awhile." And I load up the Museum. CRASH! So I try a campaign. CRASH!

I'm now thoroughly screwed, so what have I got to lose. I install GWX on top of it. I load up the Museum. CRASH! "Yup, thought so." I load up a campaign. "WHOA!" It loaded!

So, "What the heck?" I install MFM and start a new campaign. IT LOADED! So I set out the long way around Denmark from Kiel, just to keep the TC up, and docked in Liverpool (it's August, of course). What do you think I saw?





















I saw several other ships as well, but they were all stock.

So it seems a complete fresh install of SH3 and GWX will do the trick, even if the 'install' is just a new stock Data folder. Needless to say, I'm happy as a clam. I'm thinking of installing the Skin Packs into SH3 Commander so they'll load by themselves at the appropriate dates.

AT LONG LAST LOVE!!!




[edit] I did notice one thing - both of the ships I saw in heavy weather were sinking because of it. Maybe they're small enought that that's to be expected. Just though I'd mention it.


__________________
"Human beings are perhaps never more frightening than when they are convinced beyond doubt that they are right."
—Laurens van der Post




Sailor Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 05:46 PM   #103
melnibonian
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Reading UK
Posts: 3,473
Downloads: 90
Uploads: 0
Default

IBL is there any reason why some flags on the hulls are backwards? It is not a show stopper obviously but I was just wondering if there is a specific reason why you designed them like that.

Quote:
I'm thinking of installing the Skin Packs into SH3 Commander so they'll load by themselves at the appropriate dates
Steve if you manage to do that I am interested. I thought about it as well but I am not 100% sure on how to do it. Any help you can offer will be most appreciated.

Top quality ships IBL. I haven't managed to sink any yet but I hope that will change soon
melnibonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 05:52 PM   #104
iambecomelife
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,979
Downloads: 239
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by melnibonian View Post
IBL is there any reason why some flags on the hulls are backwards? It is not a show stopper obviously but I was just wondering if there is a specific reason why you designed them like that.



Steve if you manage to do that I am interested. I thought about it as well but I am not 100% sure on how to do it. Any help you can offer will be most appreciated.

Top quality ships IBL. I haven't managed to sink any yet but I hope that will change soon
Mostly due to texturing limitations - it's not my strongest skill. Right before the mod was released I finally designed some symmetrical ship hulls from scratch, but using them would have delayed the mod by many months.

Also, some hull flags were in fact backwards - I think that painting neutrality marks was left up to the individual ship masters, and this was an occasional error (see the pic of the "Comol Rico" below - stripes should be "trailing" astern, not pointing to her bow).

These improved merchant hulls will be included in Wolves of the Kaiser (if I get it done!)
__________________
iambecomelife is online   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 06:06 PM   #105
melnibonian
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Reading UK
Posts: 3,473
Downloads: 90
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks for the quick reply.

I must say we've been waiting for years for your mod but it was worthy in the end.
melnibonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim