SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 5
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2020, 03:50 PM   #1
athenian
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 5
Downloads: 3
Uploads: 0
Support Hello, venting a bit, and a question.

Hello folks, I'm a new member and I figured I'll introduce myself. I've been playing SH III for a while and recently I was lured by the excellent graphics and the realism of being able to walk about a pretty accurate version of a U-boat in SH 5. The game is full of bugs and, as one thing led to the next, together with the home confinement due to the virus (I live in California, USA), I found my way to Subsim. It's going to be a hard and arduous way uphill but a modded SH 5 could simply be the best submarine game around so I think it's worth a go.
In SH 5 I am Hans Trembel (which is a bastardization of my last name), commander of U-28. In SH 3 I am Kurt Yogurt, commander of U-98. SH III is unfolding nicely, I am on my 6th patrol now and acquiring a better and more experienced crew. I also gave myself a promotion to Oberleutnant and have been awarded both First and Second Class Iron Cross. Not bad considering that on my first patrol I sank 1800 tons, and using the deck gun because I couldn't have torpedoed an island at 800 m at that point!
SH 5 is not so rosy but it's engaging enough to keep me coming back. The whole game interface is horrible and I wish they had kept the buttons, displays, and gauges from SH 3. I think some of the mods have brought those displays back in SH 5, which should help. I like the fact that in SH 5 you're only dealing with 11 of your crew, and they don't become tired and require replacement at the most critical time in the game! But having to physically get myself to the deck gun in order to fire...what happened to 'fire at will'? My first mission in SH 5 went great.....after a lot of re-starts, that is. I managed to sink 35,000 tons and made it back to Kiel with my hull at 28% integrity just to find out that I can't finish the mission and advance in the game. I discovered 'silent otto' and can go ahead and play all the missions but knowing that your captain and crew are not going to change from mission to mission is a killjoy for me.
Don't worry mate, you'll say, the mods will fix all that for you. Yes, one would hope. For what are we without hope. So I went ahead and downloaded JSGME and 7zip, which allows me to open up the file. Great, there's the file with all the mods, next step. Well, I don't think there's a directory for the games on my computer! I downloaded SH III from Amazon, and it left a shortcut on my desktop that looks like a blank page. Weird, but it plays the game no problem. However, I can't find anything relating to SH III on my hard drive! I got SH 5 from Steam with a proper shortcut (meaning there's an image) but it won't play the game. I can only play SH 5 through Uplay. The only thing I can find on my computer relating to SH is a folder titled 'Ubisoft' in my Program Files. I've attached a photo of what the meny looks like when you open it.
So my question is can I use mods at all under the present circumstances? I've been looking around for an actual disk of the game so I can have a physical location for it on my computer, but might as well be looking for an authentic Paleolithic stone ax. I can keep playing SH 5 as is, and/or go back to playing SH 3 neither of which is fully satisfactory. Any suggestions are much welcome. Stay healthy in those claustrophobic tin cans of yours as much as you can, and good hunting!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20200330_131029.jpg (96.9 KB, 14 views)
athenian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2020, 03:56 PM   #2
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 17,426
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0


Default welcome aboard!

Athenian!
__________________
"Only two things are infinite: The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe..." Philip K. Dick
Aktungbby is online   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2020, 04:21 PM   #3
bstanko6
Sea Lord
 
bstanko6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Murwik Naval Academy
Posts: 1,602
Downloads: 387
Uploads: 13


Default

Welcome friend!
__________________

BSTANKO6'S SH5 NAVAL ACADEMY
http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCPbe...W2NArCA/videos
bstanko6 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 11:11 AM   #4
Captain Hammered
Seaman
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 41
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

Hello Athenian!

I'm sorry I can't give much specific information regarding your specific situation; I'm a bit of an idiot when it comes to fixing problems, but I can tell you the main mod you need - The Wolves of Steel - does work very well with a Steam installation.

I'm not sure how you have your game set up, but if you're having problems I'd suggest a complete wipe and re-install (I put mine on my D: drive - plenty of room with over a terabyte). Once that's done, download the latest version of TWoS, get the install instructions and follow them exactly - it will clear up a lot of problems with SH5.
One thing - while TWoS strongly recommends installing to a directory other than default (in my case D:\Program Files (x86)\SteamLibrary\steamapps\common\Silent Hunter 5), I haven't found a way to do that - but it works perfectly well in the default folder.

Frankly the TWoS mod elevates SH5 to by far the best subsim I've ever played, and I've played 'em all.
...though I must admit; U-BOAT looks REALLY good.

Give SH5 and TWoS a bit of a chance; see how it goes for you. I miss the crew management of 3 and 4 too, but it has its compensations.

Cheers!
Captain Hammered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 05:41 AM   #5
athenian
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 5
Downloads: 3
Uploads: 0
Default

I'm a total idiot when it comes to computers which is not helping. At the moment I can't find a game directory for SH 5 under either Steam or Ubisoft. Thanks for the help, I'll keep searching.
athenian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 05:49 AM   #6
athenian
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 5
Downloads: 3
Uploads: 0
Default

Wow I found it. Steam -> steamapps ->common -> SH 5. Success! Something has worked because gameplay feels and looks different. The stadimeter now works, and, most importantly, I can use the AOB dial which was inactive before. Thank you!

Last edited by athenian; 04-11-2020 at 06:36 AM.
athenian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2020 Subsim