SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH4 Mods Workshop > SH4 Mission Designers' Forum
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2014, 04:33 PM   #1
Sniper297
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philadelphia Shipyard Brig
Posts: 1,358
Downloads: 154
Uploads: 19


Default Go fish.

Alright, cruisers, destroyers, and PT boats also have torpedoes, is there a way to get them to actually use the godforsaken things during a surface battle? I tried setting up a group of US Elco torpedo boats to attack a pair of Japanese cruisers, and they will get close - then slow down and start firing 50 cals at them. There must be something addable to waypoints saying "attack any enemy ship in range with all you got" or something, but I'm not finding it.
Sniper297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 07:02 PM   #2
Admiral Lutjens
Machinist's Mate
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Michigan
Posts: 123
Downloads: 64
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniper297 View Post
Alright, cruisers, destroyers, and PT boats also have torpedoes, is there a way to get them to actually use the godforsaken things during a surface battle? I tried setting up a group of US Elco torpedo boats to attack a pair of Japanese cruisers, and they will get close - then slow down and start firing 50 cals at them. There must be something addable to waypoints saying "attack any enemy ship in range with all you got" or something, but I'm not finding it.
Perhaps too close?
__________________
Please follow my patrol log!

https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/sho...=1#post2671928
Admiral Lutjens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 07:22 PM   #3
Cybermat47
Willing Webfooted Beast
 
Cybermat47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,276
Downloads: 205
Uploads: 13


Default

I've tried, I don't think any AI units have torpedoes. A real shame, I'd love to be ambushed by some IJN PT boats sometime.
__________________
Historical TWoS Gameplay Guide: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...20#post2572620
My Mods
Silent Hunter 4
- Japanese Career: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=4554
Silent Hunter 5
- Historical Torpedo Ranges and Speeds: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=5399

- Shorter External Transfer Cooldown: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=5400
Cybermat47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 09:35 PM   #4
Sniper297
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philadelphia Shipyard Brig
Posts: 1,358
Downloads: 154
Uploads: 19


Default

Without torpedoes a PT boat is kinda useless, I guess these are only for decoration. Probable trouble is the SH3 legacy, Germans didn't have much in the way of a surface fleet so there weren't many surface battles. Apparently this game is designed to have the player sub only fire torpedoes, so that kills that idea.

"Perhaps too close?"

No, it's not in the waypoints, it's the AI (Artificial Idiots) that alter course toward the target, speed up to 44 knots, then slow down and stop within 100 yards waiting to be turned into toothpicks. I've seen most of them make what looks like perfect firing runs but they just never launch a torpedo. Maybe they left them ashore and have all four tubes stuffed full of beer.
Sniper297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2014, 04:50 PM   #5
Sniper297
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philadelphia Shipyard Brig
Posts: 1,358
Downloads: 154
Uploads: 19


Default

Found an alternative - Torpedo Bombers. In real life it was a minor military miracle when an American torpedo bomber made it all the way to the drop point, a major military miracle if the cantankerous contraption actually worked, hit the target and exploded. Think the sub fleet had troubles, US aerial torpedoes had to be dropped lower than 100 feet at about 90 knots and even then they would often break into pieces when they hit the water.

But the US TBs in game can be equipped with a fish and sometimes you can see them hit the target and do some damage. Looking over the PT boats and cans the "Loadout" option is grayed out, so no can add fish to anything without wings.
Sniper297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 07:21 PM   #6
merc4ulfate
DILLIGAF
 
merc4ulfate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: florida
Posts: 2,032
Downloads: 195
Uploads: 0
Default

Yes there is ... there is a couple of old threads and at least two mods to enable surface ships to launch torpedos. From what I remember it was a list of DD's that could fire them.

If the DD can fire them anything can.

The Threads:

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=207517


http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...ki#post2177014


Contact jhapprich about his mod. It gave Fubuki Class DD's the ability to fire them but there are a few other mods that add the funtion to DD's.

Akizuki
Asashio
Clemson
Fletcher
Minekaze
Mutsuki
Shiratsuyu
Somers
Tribal
V&W

... Can all fire Torpedoes with the "More DDs for AITorpedoLauncher" mod from what I read.

http://www.mediafire.com/download/37...doLauncher.zip

I would compare it to jhapprich 's mod and see how they work then add them to other ships as well.
__________________
Self-education is, I firmly believe, the only kind of education there is.
~Isaac Asimov~

Mercfulfate
将補
日本帝國海軍

merc4ulfate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2020 Subsim