SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH4 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2018, 11:03 AM   #196
GOZO
Captain
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Linkoping, Sweden
Posts: 484
Downloads: 163
Uploads: 0
Icon9 Glitch!!!!!!!!!

getting a new assignment 15 July I travel towards Luzon Straits.
After a while the home base is changed from Majuro to Saipan. Nothing strange about that.
At exactly 20:00 215 nm w of Saipan the game crash!!!!

Repeated it several times. Has anyone seen this before?

Have not TC:d but after reloading saves Saipan is not home base but just port for refuelling. plus the island still in Japanese hands.
After a while home base appears as home but still jap?????

Thinking of restarting in Majuro in base, exit and deinstall/reinstall the mods from RSRD to Ralles special to see what happens.
Part from this all is ok

GOZO
__________________


SHIV:TMo 2.5, RSRD, SCAF OLC, Ralle's modpack
SHIV: WDAD, Med Campaign
SHIII: GWX3 GOLD, OLCII Gold, ACM-reloaded interface mod, SHIIIcmndr 3.2, Full Realism/DiD
SHIII: LSH3 2015
Cold Waters with all bells and whistles
Finally SHV but still unmodded and still a noob....
GOZO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 02:28 PM   #197
Bleiente
Keelhauled
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Banned
Posts: 1,043
Downloads: 177
Uploads: 0
Default

To be honest, this is the first time anyone has reported a CTD in my Soljanka.

1. What does your mod list look like?
2. Did you use old scores?

Bleiente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 04:27 PM   #198
GOZO
Captain
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Linkoping, Sweden
Posts: 484
Downloads: 163
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bleiente View Post
To be honest, this is the first time anyone has reported a CTD in my Soljanka.

1. What does your mod list look like?
2. Did you use old scores?

Resolved!!!!!

I returned to Majuro. Left game and using JSGME to remove all mods after 1.0 TMO_RSRDC_OTC.

When doing that I saw that an early experiment with the "Rescue sub" mod was still there although never worked. So "sloppy me" for not noticing that

By this I had an idea that this odd mod could be the culprit since it affects the RSRD-files!!!!

So, added the RSRD-patch, the pirate flag and your eminent Ralles ModPack for TMO_RSRDC_OTC I continued from Majuro, setting up the patrol and going for Saipan. It went very smooth and finally (22 July 17:00) I decided to dock (end patrol) there.

No extra renown and no slapping of fingers as well. Got the old orders and departed 12 aug.

Saipan is now populated with mostly civilan ships as if building the new base waiting for the rest to arrive.

Conclusion: IT WORKS!!!

Really enjoying the mod and again thanks for your work.

GOZO
__________________


SHIV:TMo 2.5, RSRD, SCAF OLC, Ralle's modpack
SHIV: WDAD, Med Campaign
SHIII: GWX3 GOLD, OLCII Gold, ACM-reloaded interface mod, SHIIIcmndr 3.2, Full Realism/DiD
SHIII: LSH3 2015
Cold Waters with all bells and whistles
Finally SHV but still unmodded and still a noob....

Last edited by GOZO; 04-06-2018 at 04:17 AM.
GOZO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2018, 06:49 PM   #199
Bleiente
Keelhauled
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Banned
Posts: 1,043
Downloads: 177
Uploads: 0
Default

The RSRDC patch was usually included in my pack.
But I am glad that your game is running again.

Soon everything will be more active and dangerous; you should think about what you usually do with your submarine ...











picture upload







Bleiente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 01:52 PM   #200
GOZO
Captain
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Linkoping, Sweden
Posts: 484
Downloads: 163
Uploads: 0
Default



Sunk jap konv of three in storm, heavy rain and dense fog in the formosa strait. Used only radar and finally sonar to feed TDC.

LOVE THIS MOD!!!!


Interresting note: During operations in that stormy,rainy and foggy weather the bridge crew never put on their raingear. Mabye hardened sailors ;-)
__________________


SHIV:TMo 2.5, RSRD, SCAF OLC, Ralle's modpack
SHIV: WDAD, Med Campaign
SHIII: GWX3 GOLD, OLCII Gold, ACM-reloaded interface mod, SHIIIcmndr 3.2, Full Realism/DiD
SHIII: LSH3 2015
Cold Waters with all bells and whistles
Finally SHV but still unmodded and still a noob....

Last edited by GOZO; 04-11-2018 at 10:14 AM.
GOZO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2018, 06:33 AM   #201
KingKenny04
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

I'm having some trouble with auto-aim. I recently reinstalled SH4 after not playing for a few years. I installed this modpack on the recommendation of a friend.

My trouble is that my torpedoes always crank hard left after firing. I'm using the auto-aim, and I have not touched the PK button. Doesn't seem to matter what distance I am from the target. I lock the target, wait until the little pipper turns green, and fire, but the torpedoes go out a bit and immediately crank hard left, about 75 degrees or so (the target is only about 10 degrees left). What am I doing wrong here? I've already checked and double checked that I haven't accidentally set an offset or anything. Is this a bug?
KingKenny04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2018, 09:18 AM   #202
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,350
Downloads: 286
Uploads: 2


Default

First of all, just to be certain, when you start the game again KingKenny04, go to the Options page and make certain you have the Game Play settings the way you want them, including un-ticking the manual targeting. That controls the Single (Quick) Missions and other non-career modes of the game. When you load an existing career, or do a new career and you are in the Captain's Office again, click on the wooden radio icon toward the left of the room view, and choose those Game Play options again, and make certain they are set the way you want them. Those control the Career mode only of the game. You might have to check that every new career, depending upon what you choose for the "Easy, Normal, Hard" settings for the CareerStart. Finally, after you "Lock" the target, turn that PK on so that the TDC "tracks" your intended target, else you'll be like me on manual targeting, and miss 90% of the time... and just a minor detail, make certain that you have an appropriate tube selected - just sayin'... I have been known to attempt to shoot at my intended victim, traveling across right-to-left on a 15 bearing, and as I'm shooting, I realize that I have an aft tube selected... that doesn't work too well either...

Now, prepare for greetings from the other old-heads, welcoming you back after a long, silent run... "Welcome back, old-head!"
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2018, 01:21 PM   #203
KingKenny04
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

I appreciate the help. I loaded the OnEnteringBase save for that career and looked at the options. Manual Targeting was not checked before I started that patrol. I reloaded the save with my target, opened tubes, locked target, set torpedo settings, and toggled the PK on. Same result. My torpedoes are still cranking hard left about 75 degrees (my target is heading left-to-right in relation to the front of my sub).
KingKenny04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2018, 01:39 PM   #204
KingKenny04
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

I've uploaded a quick webm demonstrating what's going on, in case that helps:

https://streamable.com/bk7p6
KingKenny04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2018, 04:35 PM   #205
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,350
Downloads: 286
Uploads: 2


Default

The video helps alot for someone looking to help you. One thing I notice, is that you are shooting from over 4100 yards away. The torps will need a LOT of lead angle from where you are, especially if you have them set on "Slow" speed to make it that far, so that may well be the intersection shot. Next time, look at your Attack Map view, and see if you don't see an "X" marking the spot where the TDC is expecting to impact the target. It may well be way out there... It is better to get in closer, like take what you have there distance wise, and divide it by 3... so get into like 1200 or so yards and try. Just be careful, especially in Bleiente's mix here, of escorts, daylight, and smooth water... - It appears from the scope view in your video that you should be fine attacking this lone ship, but it's usually better to pick a good time to attack under other circumstances, so you can 'live' to shoot another day...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2018, 09:55 PM   #206
KingKenny04
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

The problem is that's NOT an intersection shot. The ship in that video is moving from left to right, so the torpedoes are turning to a point several thousand yards astern of the target ship.
KingKenny04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2018, 10:46 PM   #207
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,350
Downloads: 286
Uploads: 2


Default

yup, that'd be "backwards". When you installed the mod, had you emptied the My Documents / SH4 folder, which is where the Saved games go? Or was it brand new with the game install on this particular computer?

Open JSGME, and click on the blue "Tasks..." in the middle, under the buttons, and if you have v2.6, choose "Export activated mod list to..." and then "Clipboard". If you have v2.3, choose "Export activated mod list".Click on the OK in the next pop-up window, select and copy the text to the clipboard. When you do your next post, use <Ctrl><V> to paste the text into the text box here. Oh! Which boat do you have?

I wish I could see your needles as you push the PK, but I don't see them move at all. On Auto-targeting, you should see your needles move. You lock the target, push the PK, and the TDC calculates the solution, needles should move... Let me do one real quick, and I'll show you... be right back...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2018, 12:23 AM   #208
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,350
Downloads: 286
Uploads: 2


Default

(SpongeBob announcer) "Three Hours Later..."

I made a quick test mission (loaded the tanker with fuel for loud noises if / when I hit it). It moves left to right. My intention was for a 90 shot, but I got tired of waiting, and was probably going to be a pinch too close anyway, so I shot early. Two mags, and one impact trigger, and all 3 worked. I'll usually get at least one dud out of a spread... anyway, I only did 2 degrees (check that on yours - about the 35 sec mark... ), because I forgot to un-zoom the scope, and I think I did that backwards anyway... Opened doors, up scope, find 'em again, then I did "L" for lock, "S" button, and to be certain, the PK button. Shot shot and shot... Now, this is FotRSU, not Ralles, but similar in design (lots of ships, pretty, fun to play ). My Ralles is on a different computer, and I can't do captures very well on it, and it doesn't have video editing...




Check the Off-set Angle dial, and if your boat still won't shoot straight, don't use that "S" button, and only shoot singles. See what it does...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2018, 09:02 AM   #209
Bleiente
Keelhauled
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Banned
Posts: 1,043
Downloads: 177
Uploads: 0
Default

Ahoy @KingKenny04!



Quote:
Originally Posted by KingKenny04 View Post
I've uploaded a quick webm demonstrating what's going on, in case that helps:

https://streamable.com/bk7p6

Small question: Did you happen to activate the additional modes "TorpedoupdateV2" from the folder "2.1 ModPack_Optionals"?

With this mod, the torpedoes are even more unpredictabl... just like in your video.


Bleiente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 02:18 PM   #210
Niume
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 1,171
Downloads: 349
Uploads: 0
Default

I am bit confused If I have only stock and If I still this modpack will I have TMO, RSRDC,OTC or i have to install them seperatly?
__________________
Niume is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim