SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter III
Forget password? Reset here

Old 12-29-22, 01:45 AM   #1
HeirWinter
Nub

Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default Help tracking convoys

Hi im very new to the silent hunter series but I'm loving it so far! but i am struggling a lot with tracking the convoys on the map. i set a interception route and get close and wait but i never find them.
HeirWinter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-22, 03:34 AM   #2
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666

Location: On a tilted, overheated, overpopulated spinning mudball on Collision course with Andromeda Galaxy
Downloads: 22

Default welcome aboard!

HeirWinter!

"Only two things are infinite; The Universe and human squirrelyness; and I'm not too sure about the Universe"
Aktungbby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-22, 03:37 AM   #3
maillemaker
Sea Lord

Downloads: 75

Been a while since I've played SH3.

Do you have map contacts on? Are you trying to locate a reported convoy, or are you trying to track one you actually have visual contact on?

If it's reported, you'll get an icon on the map and a message about speed and course, as I recall. You'll have to estimate where it is going and try to intercept.

If you have visual, then you plot some points and draw a line to get the target(s) course.
maillemaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-22, 04:18 AM   #4
blackswan40
LSH-2022 Liaison Officer

Downloads: 588
Uploads: 30

Hi HeirWinter A warm welcome to Subsim Sir also when you do a sonar sweep to it manualy you can hear convoys and ships up to 38kms away from you your A.I. sonarman wont pick them up at that distance.
blackswan40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-22, 02:14 PM   #5
HeirWinter
Nub

Downloads: 1

thanks for the helpful intel! i did not know that about the manual sonar thats super helpful. and yeah i have the map updates on