SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH5 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2019, 05:09 PM   #12211
vdr1981
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 5,551
Downloads: 556
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nervi View Post
Never got that message to pop up, Do u know anywhere else I can download the installer other than the mediafire link in the first post? Just to try something new.
Check your antivirus...
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 02:26 AM   #12212
Sauroketh
Sailor man
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Ἀτλαντὶς
Posts: 50
Downloads: 52
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vdr1981 View Post
This option is disabled somewhere in the OFEV or maybe even Generic Patcher, can't remember exactly...
Regarding the bleeding "round numbers"...

Changing this setting in the "Tactical map" in OFEV has no effect, and Generic Patcher settings give not a single clue... At least no such string as "torpedo solution line" nor "solution line markers" nor "markers" in general...

Strange thing is, that there ARE numeric markers in TARGET route line, if you lock the target. But none in the TORPEDO route line.

Someone have any idea where this setting is buried?
Sauroketh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 02:40 AM   #12213
hauangua
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Verona, Italy
Posts: 867
Downloads: 1288
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nervi View Post
Never got that message to pop up, Do u know anywhere else I can download the installer other than the mediafire link in the first post? Just to try something new.
As Vecko said, some antiviruses create problems with the installation, however everything is written on the download page:

"Note for users of antivirus software: Since TWoS is actually an unofficial installation program (SFX WinRar Self Extracting archive), the possibility exists that some antivirus programs mistakenly recognize its parts as a threat, compromising the installation in the process. Of course, the warnings are false positives, which means that you need to disable protection during mod installation or even send files for further analysis and wait for results if you prefer."

Alternatively it creates an exception on your antivirus for TWoS files, I don't know which Antivirus you are using, With "Karspersky" But even with "windows defender" never had problems with TWoS installer.
__________________
Parked under the balcony with my U-27 waiting Juliet finish makeup
hauangua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 05:33 AM   #12214
vdr1981
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 5,551
Downloads: 556
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sauroketh View Post
Regarding the bleeding "round numbers"...

Changing this setting in the "Tactical map" in OFEV has no effect, and Generic Patcher settings give not a single clue... At least no such string as "torpedo solution line" nor "solution line markers" nor "markers" in general...

Strange thing is, that there ARE numeric markers in TARGET route line, if you lock the target. But none in the TORPEDO route line.

Someone have any idea where this setting is buried?
Try round map options button in the upper left corner of your TAI/nav map...
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 05:42 AM   #12215
Sauroketh
Sailor man
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Ἀτλαντὶς
Posts: 50
Downloads: 52
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vdr1981 View Post
Try round map options button in the upper left corner of your TAI/nav map...
A fool I am, but not that much fool.
Of course that be the first thing I tried.
I'm sorry, sir.
Sauroketh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 05:57 AM   #12216
vdr1981
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 5,551
Downloads: 556
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sauroketh View Post
A fool I am, but not that much fool.
Of course that be the first thing I tried.
I'm sorry, sir.
There it is...And explore your GUI mate. Every button has it's own description.

vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 06:52 AM   #12217
Sauroketh
Sailor man
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Ἀτλαντὶς
Posts: 50
Downloads: 52
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vdr1981 View Post
There it is...And explore your GUI mate. Every button has it's own description.

Yessir, I tried exaclty THIS button and the checkbox
"round numbers in the torpedo solution line" in the menu popping up.
Thank you sir, it appears to be somewhat deeper. Or so it seems.
I.m really sorry for inconvenience, but the mystery persists.
Sauroketh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 07:27 AM   #12218
vdr1981
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 5,551
Downloads: 556
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sauroketh View Post
Yessir, I tried exaclty THIS button and the checkbox
"round numbers in the torpedo solution line" in the menu popping up.
Thank you sir, it appears to be somewhat deeper. Or so it seems.
I.m really sorry for inconvenience, but the mystery persists.
Round numbers are only available in auto TDC mod so make sure to disable manual TDC solutions in gameplay settings menu...
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 09:10 AM   #12219
Sauroketh
Sailor man
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Ἀτλαντὶς
Posts: 50
Downloads: 52
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vdr1981 View Post
Round numbers are only available in auto TDC mod so make sure to disable manual TDC solutions in gameplay settings menu...
Disabled from the beginning, but thanks for the TDC hint (!!!), thus may be I'll find the related file or setting.
A screenshot, just in case...
Sauroketh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 12:48 PM   #12220
Tonci87
XO
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 402
Downloads: 96
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lanzfeld View Post
I don’t think so because it also came through as a scrambled enigma message. Also, It was directed at my boat specifically.


I just don’t know what to do.
The radio message you received is basically there to give you enough time to stock up on torpedoes, even if you are somewhere on the English west coast.

OP Weserübung will start in a few days, and this is also when the objective will become available.
See here:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...97&postcount=2
Tonci87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 02:11 PM   #12221
zeus
Officer
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 237
Downloads: 758
Uploads: 0
Default

Is it true that the AI of the destroyers if very dificult and that it is not possible to escape?
zeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 02:37 PM   #12222
vdr1981
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 5,551
Downloads: 556
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeus View Post
Is it true that the AI of the destroyers if very dificult and that it is not possible to escape?
Well, it's definitely true for some!
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 02:46 PM   #12223
Tonci87
XO
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 402
Downloads: 96
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeus View Post
Is it true that the AI of the destroyers if very dificult and that it is not possible to escape?
No

The convoy I´m currently hunting is well defended and I got hunted by a few lend lease destroyers and a few Black Swan sloops. My first encounter with these ships, and the new Depth Charge projectors they have installed.

First they didn´t know where I was, since I fired electrical torpedoes, but it didn´t take them long to find me. I didn´t dive immediately after shooting, so that was my fault. And well, if you can only move at a speed of 1kn if you want to be as silent as possible, their area that they have to search is not terribly large.

I got subjected to a brutal depth charge attack from five destroyers and sloops total, that lasted for a few hours.
I managed to evade by sprinting every time they seem to drop DCs directly on me.

My sub got pretty damaged, and at one point I had flooding in the torpedo room and my sub was dropping down to 200m Managed to keep going at flank speed and with occasional emergency blows for long enough to fix the holes and to pump the water out.

After a few hours, and countless DCs dropped everywhere around me I somehow managed to get away by going very silent and very deep.

My boat will need repairs, but we are still alive.

So yeah, it is possible to escape, but I might not have gotten myself into this situation in the first place if I went deep immediately after shooting my torpedoes.
Tonci87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 03:26 PM   #12224
zeus
Officer
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 237
Downloads: 758
Uploads: 0
Default

ok

The IA depends on the year in witch you play?
zeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 03:27 PM   #12225
XenonSurf
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Germany, Italy
Posts: 1,370
Downloads: 65
Uploads: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeus View Post
Is it true that the AI of the destroyers if very dificult and that it is not possible to escape?

No, if you play intelligently you will succeed. Besides: you can lower the game difficulty in the options and the OFEV as well as in the Map menus during game, this will show you more/less enemy sensors. Go playing with all sensors enabled so you can analyze the destroyer's tactics and find out yourself!


Good hunting,
XS
XenonSurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2020 Subsim