SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2019, 07:19 PM   #1
skirich
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 10
Downloads: 4
Uploads: 0
gear Safe CO2 Levels

What is a safe level for CO2 in the boat before I have to surface?
skirich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2019, 08:01 PM   #2
jimmbbo
Gunner
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 97
Downloads: 19
Uploads: 0
Default

Don't know what the percentage level or hours remaining are but I have seldom run into a problem.

After a fairly long time underwater, the CO2 icon displays in the upper RH corner of the screen and the CO2 indicator bar on the lower bar begins to register...

After the first indication on the bar I have enough time to conduct an attack and sneak away

When the level gets close to the limit, a text warning shows, and surfacing becomes a priority.
jimmbbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2019, 10:15 PM   #3
skirich
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 10
Downloads: 4
Uploads: 0
Exclamation Bug with CO2 still there?

I just read a fix for the old bug where the CO2 still climbs when surfaced. Save game and reload fixes that. But is there a big and is there a mod that fixes it?
Running SH4 v1.5
skirich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 08:05 AM   #4
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 4,991
Downloads: 273
Uploads: 1


Default

No way to fix it. It is technically not a "bug" per se with the game. The game was written in the Windows XP days, and you did not shell-out to Windows and "lose" the audio and / or video "stream" the way you do with Windows Vista and all later versions. It has to do with Windows handling programs and resources as "virtual", and assigns "addresses" for the system resources to the programs, such as the video card and sound card, but Windows still retains control of the devices. In Windows XP, those "addresses" were static and did not change.

In Vista and later, if you "shell-out" from the game to your Windows desktop, the OS might assign a different "address" for the resources that the game is using. Newer games "refresh" their "addresses", whereas the older programs don't. The game still expects to find the sound card and the video card where they were, as well as its temporary address space, but they might have been "moved" and now has a new "address". When that happens, you end up with strange game behavior, the most common being the CO2 level sticking, as well as audio looping and other anomalies. The only "fix" is to not shell out to Windows by use of the <Alt><Tab>, or <Ctrl><Tab> or <Windows> key combinations. If you need to go to Windows, save and exit the game, then use Windows...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
co2

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim