SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH4 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Old 12-08-19, 11:02 AM   #1
Suzuro
Nub

Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default Difficulty installing Trigger Maru Overhauled

Good morning, all

I'm just getting into SHIV and having a bit of trouble. I'm attempting to install TMO, and I'm about at my wits end trying to get it work.

I put JSGME in the SHIV folder, had it create the MODS folder, I then put TMO in that folder (Ensuring that the data folder was in it), and used JSGME to install.

It creates the data folder and everything, and when I start....nothing.

I don't get the different loading screen and no changes to UI.

I've tried about a half dozen different ways now, and I just can't seem to get it to work.

Oh, and I guess I should say I'm using the gold edition, with TMO 2.5.

Any help you might be able to give me would be greatly appreciated, and I'm sorry if I put this in the wrong place.
Suzuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-19, 05:23 PM   #2
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job

Downloads: 439
Uploads: 2

First of all, "Welcome to SubSim Suzuro!"

2nd of all, where do you have the game installed? If you used the "default" installation path that the installer uses, then that would most likely be the problem. The "Program Files" folders are 'protected' Windows System folders, and as such, 'un-authorized' changes are not allowed. Since both Silent Hunter and JSGME were written prior to the use of User Access Control (UAC) in Windows Vista and later, they were not written to that Windows spec, and are therefore not on the 'authorized' list. When you activate a mod on the game inside one of those folders, Windows "sees" the changes, and will roll them back to 'protect' the system.