SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific > SH4 ATO Mods
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2020, 01:24 AM   #301
Fifi
Silent Hunter
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France - South West
Posts: 3,809
Downloads: 412
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff-Groves View Post
You forgot me! Will my help was just a little bit.

Pardon me my friend of course yes, you very kindly helped too!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Strothy View Post
I have a question or rather something that seems fishy...

Sometimes it happens that I need like 30-40+ rounds of HE or AP from the deck gun to sink a single previously torpedoed merchant, which in the case of AP should result in a Swiss cheese-like merchant. Now today I met a rather resilient merchant who refused to sink no matter what.

The question now is am I ****ing up? Or is this a bug of some kind?
I'm almost always trying to aim for the waterline with AP and then HE to get the BBQ going. Ship in Question was... ehh nah IT IS a KS-M-KS-M-F-M-KS-M Merchant.

The Merchant took a single G7a (G39a) almost perfect to the midship, followed by ~ 60 HE and ~ 30 AP rounds, still afloat...
Those guys must have the best damage control on the Planet, I mean the guys on the USS Franklin (CV-13) were good, but they ain't got **** on this ship's crew.

(I'll try ramming maybe a Type VIIB to the broadside make a big enough hole to sink it )
Ah...you probably found the last remaining Uber ship with crazy hit points...from memory some OM ships had more than 4000 hit points!...while average ships hit points should be around 600. Had to lower all those ships hit points, but obviously i missed one...

Easy fix would be to find this ship in sea folder, open his .zon file and lower the 4000 hit points to a reasonable value as 600
__________________
Fifi is online   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 09:52 AM   #302
succerpunch
Helmsman
 
succerpunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: South Africa, Cape Town
Posts: 103
Downloads: 274
Uploads: 0


Default

I think I found another bug, it is September 1941 and I have not been given any turm upgrades or sub upgrades since the start of the war. Still stuck in a VIIB?
__________________
No amount of experimentation can ever prove me right; a single experiment can prove me wrong. - Albert Einstein
succerpunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 11:33 AM   #303
Fifi
Silent Hunter
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France - South West
Posts: 3,809
Downloads: 412
Uploads: 0


Default

Well that is SH4 bug coupled with OM mod.
The VIIB turm 2 should be available beginning 42.
If not, Iím afraid you have to start new career with desired boat, and same actual date, and manually get back your renown...
__________________
Fifi is online   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 12:52 PM   #304
Strothy
Nub
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Bottom of the Atlantic
Posts: 4
Downloads: 15
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fifi View Post
Pardon me my friend of course yes, you very kindly helped too!



Ah...you probably found the last remaining Uber ship with crazy hit points...from memory some OM ships had more than 4000 hit points!...while average ships hit points should be around 600. Had to lower all those ships hit points, but obviously i missed one...

Easy fix would be to find this ship in sea folder, open his .zon file and lower the 4000 hit points to a reasonable value as 600
Well that does not seem to be one of the harder fixes, gonna do that thanks for the input!
Strothy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2020, 10:35 AM   #305
succerpunch
Helmsman
 
succerpunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: South Africa, Cape Town
Posts: 103
Downloads: 274
Uploads: 0


Default

It is march 1943 and I have been given no upgrades either if it is by the turm upgrade or boat upgrade or in the equipment menu. still the same stuff since 1939. Is there a way I could fix this without starting a new carrier?


EDIT:



I just got the turm upgrade but it removed alot of my crew, I dont have a radio room compartment anymore and in the upgrade menu I cant change the deck gun or anything but the aa guns and emblem.
__________________
No amount of experimentation can ever prove me right; a single experiment can prove me wrong. - Albert Einstein

Last edited by succerpunch; 03-31-2020 at 06:23 AM.
succerpunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2020, 07:14 AM   #306
succerpunch
Helmsman
 
succerpunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: South Africa, Cape Town
Posts: 103
Downloads: 274
Uploads: 0


Default

It was the turm ungrade issue, the tutorial on how to fix it must be rewritten, It is so confussing to read and do. If anyone wants to do it and do it with pictures of even video form that will help alot.


I have done it but I didnt do it properly, in the equipment upgrade menu in port it doesnt show up (the second flak gun) but i can asign crew to it and I cant see it in external cam and on the damage screen it is there but I cannot change it .
__________________
No amount of experimentation can ever prove me right; a single experiment can prove me wrong. - Albert Einstein
succerpunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2020, 07:38 AM   #307
succerpunch
Helmsman
 
succerpunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: South Africa, Cape Town
Posts: 103
Downloads: 274
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by succerpunch View Post
It was the turm ungrade issue, the tutorial on how to fix it must be rewritten, It is so confussing to read and do. If anyone wants to do it and do it with pictures of even video form that will help alot.


I have done it but I didnt do it properly, in the equipment upgrade menu in port it doesnt show up (the second flak gun) but i can asign crew to it and I cant see it in external cam and on the damage screen it is there but I cannot change it .



Third update, so i got it working from just messing about, Step 7 doesnt make sense because I do not have a UPCInitial folder, when I loaded my save, my hydrophone was upgraded to the crystal one and I had been given BOLD 1 even though I did not have it before.
__________________
No amount of experimentation can ever prove me right; a single experiment can prove me wrong. - Albert Einstein
succerpunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2020, 08:21 AM   #308
Fifi
Silent Hunter
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France - South West
Posts: 3,809
Downloads: 412
Uploads: 0


Default

Glad you solved it
I knew you could do it
Thatís the only big downside point of this whole OM mod unfortunately
__________________
Fifi is online   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2020, 10:29 AM   #309
succerpunch
Helmsman
 
succerpunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: South Africa, Cape Town
Posts: 103
Downloads: 274
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fifi View Post
Glad you solved it
I knew you could do it
Thatís the only big downside point of this whole OM mod unfortunately
You sound like my dad "I knew you could do it"


I just wish there was a program that could automate it, like you create the save and the dummy file and you just tell the program where each AUPU is and it does the file editing for you.
__________________
No amount of experimentation can ever prove me right; a single experiment can prove me wrong. - Albert Einstein
succerpunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2020, 12:10 PM   #310
Jeff-Groves
Village Idiot
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 2,713
Downloads: 54
Uploads: 0


Default

There's not a whole lot of people doing programming for the SH Games now days.
Could it be done? Yep.
Will it be done? Probably not.
__________________
Professional Cunning Linguist
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2020, 12:14 PM   #311
Fifi
Silent Hunter
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France - South West
Posts: 3,809
Downloads: 412
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff-Groves View Post
There's not a whole lot of people doing programming for the SH Games now days.
Could it be done? Yep.
Will it be done? Probably not.
In all cases, certainly not by me!
Know nothing about programming
__________________
Fifi is online   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2020, 12:44 PM   #312
Jeff-Groves
Village Idiot
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 2,713
Downloads: 54
Uploads: 0


Default

Give me the details and I may be able to do something.
Got lots of time during this lock down period.
__________________
Professional Cunning Linguist
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2020, 02:12 PM   #313
Fifi
Silent Hunter
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France - South West
Posts: 3,809
Downloads: 412
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff-Groves View Post
Give me the details and I may be able to do something.
Got lots of time during this lock down period.
Thatís again very kind of you proposing your help
My english is not that good enough to explain the details of those upgrade fails in OM, but Iím quite certain our friend Propbeanie would tell you successfully
__________________
Fifi is online   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2020, 05:15 PM   #314
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 6,141
Downloads: 306
Uploads: 1


Default

If I remember correctly (now, seriously, how often has ~that~ happened lately... ) - but from memory (and correct me if I'm wrong please), there are equipment mis-matches between the turms and attached equipment (aka: "appurtenances"), such as radar masts and the like. The Pacific side had the same issue, but with OM, it is a herculean task to match everything. There are a LOT of turms and a LOT of appurtenances... Wintergardens do not help, I'm sure... Don't forget that most of the subs in OM are all set to the same "UpgradeClass" setting in their upcge files, so you generally do not get submarine upgrades.
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 05:38 PM   #315
succerpunch
Helmsman
 
succerpunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: South Africa, Cape Town
Posts: 103
Downloads: 274
Uploads: 0


Default

A program that just does the file editing for you because that is the most difficult part for me. Also how come I cannot get equipment upgrades. When I fixed my turm upgrade issue, I had BOLD 1 and a upgraded Hydrophone that I did not have access to before. How does one unlock equipment upgrades and how does one get a new sub, I have been getting medals for every patrol but the game wont give me a new sub yet. It is the middle of 1942 btw.
__________________
No amount of experimentation can ever prove me right; a single experiment can prove me wrong. - Albert Einstein
succerpunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2020 Subsim