SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter III
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2019, 04:13 PM   #31
Rhodes
Time Lord
 
Rhodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Figueira da Foz, Portugal
Posts: 4,197
Downloads: 76
Uploads: 0


Default

Fine by me!



No problem, I also didn't check the thread in the last days.
I did resolve the issue with the link provided by Chief_WH
Rhodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 09:22 AM   #32
Anvar1061
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: on land,on air and on sea
Posts: 1,299
Downloads: 618
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhodes View Post
I had a little upgrade on my pc, with a new installation of Win7.

I just installed SH3 now and after I run the game with out success. The same problem and rundll32 spiking!
SO it is a win7 problem, do to something. Any one want to join and march through MS with pitch and forks?

https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/sho...7&postcount=15
Anvar1061 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 03:24 PM   #33
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 4,884
Downloads: 256
Uploads: 1


Default

I find that very interesting, changing the gameux.dll to gameux.txt or similar... how did someone figure that out? Also, why are things fine in Win10, but not Win7?...

- Thanks to Chief_WH for posting!
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is online   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 04:35 PM   #34
Randomizer
Mate
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 53
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 0
Default

I am running a Dell and for whatever reasons cannot gain administrator permissions to delete the Gameux.dll or change its file extension. Also discovered that the Rundll32.exe problem also happens with stock FS2K4 but not with my two heavily modded FS9-based variants.

The stock flight simulator executable is FS9.exe but the variants have different names (Silver Wings.exe and Golden Wings.exe respectively) so perhaps this might be a factor. All SH3 installations retain the SH3.exe file name for their executable but SH4, which has the same naming convention, is seemingly immune to the runaway Rundll32 issue. Am confident that the problem is not related to SH3 Commander in any way.

There are a total of six Rundll32.exe files living in various folders in the Windows directory and this seems excessive but hey, it's MS Windows after all...

-C

EDIT New Data

Just did some more testing and changed the executable file name from SH3.exe to GWX.exe and the main program runs fine without the runaway Rundll32.exe CPU issue. The only problem is that SH3 Commander cannot identify a renamed SH3.exe and will not run after renaming the file.

If you cannot use the fix provided by Chief WH you appear left with a basic binary choice:

0 = Rename the SH3 executables and lose the use of SH3 Commander: or

1 = Terminate the Rundll32.exe process using the task manager after you get SH4 up and running.

-C

Final edit

Last word. Got the permissions sorted and changed the gameux.dll to gamux.xxx. Tested and the runaway Rundll32.exe issue is gone. Performed a cold boot to check that there are no startup issues and all is well. Thanks to Chief WH for his fix and everyone else for their input.

-C

Last edited by Randomizer; 07-04-2019 at 10:18 PM.
Randomizer is online   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2019, 12:04 PM   #35
johnlax
Helmsman
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 107
Downloads: 14
Uploads: 0
Default SH3 commander and SH III

Question will the installation of win 10 fix this problem??
everything I read and hear about this issue points to win 7 problem The machine I use for the game is run by win 7 I do not use it for anything else

will this solve the problem??
johnlax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 10:37 AM   #36
David I
Soundman
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 149
Downloads: 167
Uploads: 0
Default Back in the saddle

Randomizer,

I tried a bunch of different solutions mentioned on this thread with strange, time consuming and mixed results.

However this one worked (at least so far):

0 = Rename the SH3 executables and lose the use of SH3 Commander

I got her up and running and I'm back to playing.

There are many features from SH3 Commander that I really miss: Date and type of sub you start with, adjustable time compression, removable deck guns, career records, and NO FATIGUE to name a few. Fortunately I know how to kill fatigue manually.

Anyway, thanks for pointing me in the right direction!

David I
David I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 12:52 PM   #37
regentkpt
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 1
Downloads: 12
Uploads: 0
Default

Hey all,

I experienced a similar issue with GWX not loading the first time, with or without Commander. I have Windows 7 64 and I have to launch the game a second time to get it to start. I use task manager to end process on the first instance. This is on a clean install of GWX in C:/Games and admin account. I tried all sorts of compatibility settings and even disabled my antivirus but nothing worked except the work arounds mentioned by others here.

Oddly enough, I have played GWX on and off for many years on the same computer without this problem. Also, SH3 vanilla now has this problem.

It’s not a big game breaker but a slight annoyance.

Regards

Last edited by regentkpt; 07-18-2019 at 08:16 PM.
regentkpt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 04:02 PM   #38
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 14,939
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0


Default Welcome aboard!

regentkpt,
__________________
"Only two things are infinite: The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe..." Philip K. Dick
Aktungbby is online   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 04:06 PM   #39
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 8,767
Downloads: 998
Uploads: 0


Default

A Warm Welcome To The Subsim Community > regentkpt
Subsim <> Make A Donation <> See The Benefits <> Support The Community
SH3 – 4 - 5 Tutorials > Downloads > Other Useful Information > See Links in My Signature Below
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim