SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2012, 06:04 PM   #76
Gammel
Commodore
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 641
Downloads: 268
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Per H'sie's instructions I put the patched SH3.exe into the Stiebler's Supplement to V16b1 folder with the 4 dll's
At this point I enable Stiebler's supplent in JSGME.
didn't you miss applying the Stiebler patch to the h.sie patched exe before enabling the mod?

To get the Stiebler mod working the exe has to be patched again
(Patch_SH3.bat in "V16B1-Patch-Kit" folder after you've copied the h.sie sh3.exe there.

After that and running the options selector move or copy the now duble-patched sh3.exe into the
"Supplement to V16B1 (JSGME)" folder, as well put your modified text files here in the right places.
You have to unpack this folder with 7zip (7zip.org) first.

No copy the folder to your game folder and enable with JSGME
after all other preparations are made:

Check you got the right version of the h.sie patch!
Don't forget to chose, rename and copy the right AISensor.dat to the library folder in "Supplement to V16B1 (JSGME)" before enabling the mod.

At last: If you use GWX delete the "sea" folder according to the manual - i removed the roster entry for the CAM Shipmod as well. Deactivate the CAM Ship mod with the options selector.
Gammel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 02:53 AM   #77
Stiebler
Fuel Supplier
 
Stiebler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,233
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 4


Default

@Hemisent:

As Gammel says above, you must have H.sie's patch installed first with JSGME.
Then you install the Stiebler4_addon folder with JSGME on top of the Hsie patch already present. The Stiebler4_Addon folder must contain its own patched version of SH3.exe, created by patching Hsie's version of SH3.exe.

Furthermore, if your set-up is complaining that four dlls are missing, then clearly you have placed them in the wrong place in the Stiebler4_Addon folder. In fact, it was not necessary to move these dlls from H.sie's original patch folder.

Stiebler.
Stiebler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 05:42 PM   #78
HEMISENT
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 1,051
Downloads: 135
Uploads: 0
Default

Gammel and Stiebler
Thanks for replying to this. I'm a bit confused as you make reference to H.sie's patch being activated thru JSGME.

I'm following the patch instructions and nowhere can I find it tell me to insert in JSGME.

1) Patching sh3.exe
a. Create an empty working directory somewhere on your harddisk (where you have write permission.)
b. Download the latest V16_Patch-Kit archive and extract all contained files into that working directory.
c. Copy your original (unpatched) sh3.exe into that working directory. Now, your
sh3.exe and the patcher named Patch_SH3.bat MUST be located in the same folder!
d. Start Patch_SH3.bat. If your sh3.exe is compatible, it will be patched. Otherwise not. Before patching, the patcher automatically makes a backup of your original file called sh3.old. Save sh3.old somewhere for later use, e.g. in case you want to undo the patches.
e. If step d) was successful, your new sh3.exe contains ALL of the fixes!
f. Start HsieOptionsSelector.exe in order to individually enable/disable the fixes as you like. This tool also allows to apply the 4GB-Patch.

At this stage I have a folder named PATCH with the SH3.exe in it, I have activated the patch_sh3.bat file and when I run the game the "1.6B1" designation appears in the lower right corner.

I understand something is going amiss but...

Am I to insert my "PATCH" folder in JSGME and enable it at this time?

Thanks guys
__________________
Nuke 'em till they glow!
HEMISENT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 06:11 PM   #79
Gammel
Commodore
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 641
Downloads: 268
Uploads: 0
Default

You should end up with two folders to enable with JSGME:

1. Supplement to V16B1 (JSGME) - h.sie's stuff

2. Stiebler4B_Additional_files_V16B1 - Stiebler's stuff


each containing his patched sh3.exe + the added / modified mod files
Second folder overrides the files of first folder when enabled.

This is h.sie's folder should look:


This is Stieblers folder should look
Gammel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 04:38 PM   #80
HEMISENT
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 1,051
Downloads: 135
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi Gammel
Thank you sooo much for helping with this.

The first screenshot of yours shows what appears to be Stieblers supplement contents and the second screenshot shows the 4b addon contents. I have the supplement in my JSGME/MODS folder. I have DL'd the 4b addon but it is not being used yet as I wanted to get the game working first.

My folder with H'sie's stuff contains:

tool
readme
hsie option selector.exe
sh3.exe
HSIEoptions.chm
_merge_with_Campaign_SCR.mis
Patch_SH3.bat
sh3.old
_append_to_de_menu.txt
_append_to_en_menu.txt
HSIEContents.txt
Optional O2 guages v2(JSGME).7z

(this is "after" I clicked on the PATCH_SH3.bat icon


As for the "Supplement"
The top item in your list is a data folder whereas the top item in mine is a menu folder. Are there different versions of the supplement or could I have a corrupted DL?
__________________
Nuke 'em till they glow!

Last edited by HEMISENT; 08-10-2012 at 06:06 PM.
HEMISENT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 06:29 PM   #81
Gammel
Commodore
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 641
Downloads: 268
Uploads: 0
Default

Cheers HEMISENT!
Quote:
The first screenshot of yours shows what appears to be Stieblers supplement contents and the second screenshot shows the 4b addon contents.
It's vice versa, first it's h.sie's mod read yto go, Stiebler's is second pic.

For better understanding your problem: could you please export and post your modlist in JSGME?
The option is under the link "tasks" in JSGME. You'll get a textfile.
Please post the contains of the file.


Both folders from my pics go to the /silenthunter3/mods folder.
They have to be enabled with JSGM - confirm the files to override (JSGME will ask overriding several files and the sh3.exe from h.sie's supplement folder, that's ok
and shos things are moving good. If theres no override when enabling Stieblers mod something gone wrong.
So the paths in yyour game should be:
.../silenthunter3/mods/Supplement to V16B1 (JSGME)
.../silenthunter3/mods/Stiebler4B_Additional_files_V16B1

Quote:
The top item in your list is a data folder whereas the top item in mine is a menu folder.
That cant be right - if you open one of the 2 folders ready for enablling with JSGME theremust be a data folder. The folder "Menu" is beyond it.. ...Silenthunter3/Data/menu.
The "supplement" folders have this data folder from the start, Stiebler's supplement as well as h.sie's. Stieblers mod folger that goes into the mods folder
is named "Stiebler4B_Addon_for_V16B1".
Perhaps is better to start from scratch again: If you unpack the stiebler mod, you'll se sure theres a "Data " folder in it.

Quote:
My folder with H'sie's stuff contains:
http://img832.imageshack.us/img83
tool
readme
hsie option selector.exe
sh3.exe
HSIEoptions.chm
_merge_with_Campaign_SCR.mis
Patch_SH3.bat
sh3.old
_append_to_de_menu.txt
_append_to_en_menu.txt
HSIEContents.txt
Optional O2 guages v2(JSGME).7z
Thats fine for the moment, but this not the folder that goes into the game"
You should have this folder in a TEMP location it has not to be copied into the game.
Gammel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 02:32 PM   #82
HEMISENT
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 1,051
Downloads: 135
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi Gammel
Here's what I have after I unzip hsie's patch, inserted in a temp folder called "hsie patch"and after the SH3.exe has been patched.


Here's Stiebler's supplement unzipped into the sh3/MODS folder, the patched SH3.exe from the patch folder inserted in it



As you can see, there is a "Menu" folder at the top of the list vs. a Data folder in your example.

Here's the only two activated mods

HSIE PATCH
Supplement to V16B1 (JSGME)

When I activated the "supplement mod the Hsie mod greyed out.
These are the steps and in the order which I have done so far.

1. Unzipped Hsie patch to temp folder in Program File/Ubisoft
2. Inserted SH3.exe into Hsie PATCH
3. Click on Patch_SH3.bat
3a. edit en_menu & de_menu & Campaign_SCR as directed
4. Insert Hsie PATCH folder in JSGME
5. Enable Patch
6. Test game. v16b icon shows on rt lower corner/ingame WO immediately
goes to bridge upon surfacing-I am assuming this means Hsie patch is
working.
7. Unzip Supplement to MODS folder
8. Copy/paste SH3.exe icon from Patch folder.
9. Enable Supplement-Patch designation greys out as Supplement mod
overwrites as expected.
10. Test game-starts and runs normally but Supplement does not take.

I am obviously screwing up somewhere but......

Thanks again for the assistance.
Cheers!
H
__________________
Nuke 'em till they glow!
HEMISENT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 07:30 PM   #83
Gammel
Commodore
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 641
Downloads: 268
Uploads: 0
Default

Cheers HEMISENT!
Thats not Stiebler's patch on your second screen!
It's the part that goes into the .../Silenthunter3/mods after you copied your own testfiles in there and added the changes according to readme.

Your folder HSIE PATCH has not to bee in the mods folder, it's only a temp folder for patching the exe file.

You have to copy your own textfiles from game folder (Campaign_SCR.mis, Menu_de.txt...) to the supplement folder fron h.sies mod. Then make the addition to them. As well copy the new Sh3.exe here

Then copy the "Supplement to V16B1 (JSGME)" to your game mod folder and enable it.
H.sie's patch is now active and hopefully working, estp. the changes to Campingn_scr.mis is a bit tricky. Try a sinle mission to test.

We'll take care of Stieblers' addon later, workflow is nearly the same as it builds up your modified files.

But first has HSIE PATCH folder has to move out of your load order. Look at the files in theres no need to get them into the game. Delete/move this folder out of the game, it's just temp stuff.

On your second Pic i see another problem, the folder "Menu" there has to be in the "Data" folder.

Best delete everything and start over again with the extraction of the files.
Perhaps backup the mod Campaign_scr.mis file first if you have already done the addition of the subs and the renumbering.
Perhaps whe should switch to h.sies thread for now.

If you went into troubles with the textfiles look here:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...postcount=3490

Last edited by Gammel; 08-11-2012 at 07:52 PM.
Gammel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 11:55 PM   #84
Rubini
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: São Paulo Brazil
Posts: 2,754
Downloads: 128
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi Stiebler,

Thanks again by this new update of your add on! It is just amazing!

I should like to say few words about the new fido (accoustic torpedo) add on.
I was thinking about it and i guess that it´s possible to change (or just make a new ) a bomb by a "fido" torpedo (i mean: 3d object and its texture) and also adjust it´s "explosion" impact on water to be more like a dropped torpedo hit on water. If all this really works as intend , later we can hook your "fido" routine to this object and them add it to the correct planes. As we already knows, by the hard tries from others modders, the ai torpedo on Sh3 just don´t work, the game don´t have code routines for it ... so, it will be not yet a complete eye candy aerial torpedo neither it will search for the uboat (it will desappear as it hit the water) but with a "fake" torpedo and your code routine we will get very close!

I will look for this when i have some free time, but the idea is open to anyone that want to try it!

Thanks again by your brilliant work!

Here the easy first step. The big problem is to have a plane that could behaviour like a torpedo bomber... well, this is for later work. Sorry to hijack the thread , but the idea of an ai torpedo is just so much good for sh3!
__________________
One gamer's must-have mod is another gamer's waste of time.
-Sailor Steve

Last edited by Rubini; 08-12-2012 at 12:28 AM.
Rubini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 10:49 PM   #85
HEMISENT
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 1,051
Downloads: 135
Uploads: 0
Default

Gammel. thank you!!!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gammel View Post

Your folder HSIE PATCH has not to bee in the mods folder, it's only a temp folder for patching the exe file.
this was just something I tried...removed from JSGME.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gammel View Post
Then copy the "Supplement to V16B1 (JSGME)" to your game mod folder and enable it.
H.sie's patch is now active and hopefully working, estp. the changes to Campingn_scr.mis is a bit tricky. Try a sinle mission to test.
HSIE's patch is working correctly

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gammel View Post
On your second Pic i see another problem, the folder "Menu" there has to be in the "Data" folder.
Actually, it appears that this was where the problem was all along. I deleted the entire Supplement folder, re dl'd it and unzipped to the MODS folder. Now there is a data folder instead of a menu folder and after all the file editing my setup matches your pic exactly. I enabled it in JSGME and it appears to be working.

Just tried out the wolfpack single mission and the contact report sent out as expected but no reply yet.

If you went into troubles with the textfiles look here:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...postcount=3490[/QUOTE]
__________________
Nuke 'em till they glow!
HEMISENT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 07:09 AM   #86
tomo123
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 13
Downloads: 49
Uploads: 0
Default

Here's a problem I noticed. Maybe it's a bug, maybe it's me.

SH3 1.4b + GWX + v16b1 ( v16b1 working perfectly, everything enabled, text strings added where needed in en_menu.txt, only two Wolfpack related options disabled )

---

I decided to add Stiebler 4b updates to the mix... just because I need a few new and useful options, like time compression and such.

So, I have SH3 1.4b + GWX + v16b1 + Stiebler 4b ( and yes, everything is done / patched / added correctly and without error ). Everything works as it should. But, one problem. After sending contact reports, I get empty replies. Like, from Bdu to me ... message empty.

I guess there's a bug somewhere with the patching or... If I disable the Bdu improvement, the problem still remains. So, maybe it's the patch.

Can someone check that?

EDIT:

Just completely rolled back to SH3 1.4b + GWX + v16b1 and everything works like it should. Messages and all...

Conclusion:

Can anyone else confirm that after patching with Stiebler 4b you get empty replies for Contact reports sent to Bdu? And sometimes, a few of them, a couple of minutes apart. Also empty.

Last edited by tomo123; 09-01-2012 at 09:03 AM.
tomo123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 11:13 AM   #87
tomo123
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 13
Downloads: 49
Uploads: 0
Default

Anyone? This is bugging the hell out of me.

Tried again, no dice. Followed the instructions to the letter. Everything is working like it should, TC messages are showing... since I added these lines in my "/data/menu/en_menu.txt" .

;; Stiebler Minimum TC Messages
4997=Minimum Time Compression switched ON (min. 128)
4998=Minimum Time Compression switched OFF
;; end of additional files.

But, BDU replies are broken... Here is a part of my en_menu.txt entries from v16b1 that work ( before patching with 4b ):

; BDU-Messages
;-------------
; General
4835=Only sink hostile ships, you amateur!
4836=Error in transmission! Repeat last message!
4837=Start return! Home base as directed!

; Congratulations for achievement of new tonnage-category
4838=Very good results! ; 20000- 40000t
4839=Congratulations! Excellent results! ; 40000- 60000t
4840=Germany salutes you and your crew! ; 60000- 80000t
4841=That is worth an award! ; 80000-100000t
4842=Congratulations - new wearer of the Knight's Cross! ; > 100000t

; For sinking >15000t
4843=Great work! That will hurt the enemy!
4844=Bravo! Excellent shooting!

; For sinking >10000t
4845=Very good work! A decisive blow!
4846=Bravo! But next time near enemy destroyers!

; For sinking >2000t
4847=Nice work! Carry on!
4848=Good work! Continue search for single ships.
4849=Well done! Keep at it!
4850=Sinking registered. Report any survivors immediately!

; Occasional communications
4851=Message received. Continue as ordered!
4852=Signal received.
4853=Short-signal received. Expect next status- and weather- news in 24h.
4854=Signal acknowledged. Stay alert.
4855=Message acknowledged. We have high expectations!
4856=Message received. Beware of aircraft!
4857=Message acknowledged. All further transmissions on long-wave 20.4kHz.
4858=Signal acknowledged. Use short-wave until further notice.

; For motivation
4859=Be more aggressive! We need better results!
4860=Show more courage! Charge at the enemy!
4861=You can***8217;t come home with fully-loaded torpedo-tubes!
4862=Attack! Shoot! Sink!

After adding Stiebler's 4b patch, no replies from BDU ( I guess 4854 to 4857, did not test further ). But, Minimum TC Messages work.

Last edited by tomo123; 09-03-2012 at 11:16 AM. Reason: ...
tomo123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 12:41 PM   #88
Friede Rösing
Seaman
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Spain
Posts: 34
Downloads: 287
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomo123 View Post
Anyone? This is bugging the hell out of me.

Perhaps Stiebler answer better, but i think "stiebler V16B1 Addon" work very good with NYGM, i have played many camping with this configuration and never had a problem.... but i try install in another super mods and it not working good....

Last edited by Friede Rösing; 09-03-2012 at 03:27 PM.
Friede Rösing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 12:47 PM   #89
tomo123
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 13
Downloads: 49
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks for your time.

Main problem, one that's giving me the $hits, is that everything I add via Stiebler's excellent 4b addon works, except BDU response messages. Even when I remove BDU improvement option, replies remain empty.

I could do without them, but...
tomo123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 10:42 AM   #90
Stiebler
Fuel Supplier
 
Stiebler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,233
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 4


Default

@Tomo123:

The reason you are not seeing contact reports is because you have not got them in your en_menu.txt file.

Lines 4863 - 4892, supplied with H.sie's mod, are all missing from the list you have shown above.

This is nothing to do with my Stiebler4A patch kit. (Although you seem not to have added some of the lines from my patch kit at values >4892 either.)

I hope that helps.

Stiebler.
Stiebler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim