SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Modern-Era Subsims > Dangerous Waters
Forget password? Reset here

Old 12-22-19, 11:39 AM   #1
Lymark
Swabbie

Downloads: 96
Uploads: 0
Default Sonar is showing incorrect info?

I'm new to DW(with RA) and have been practicing in some training missions. There's this odd phenomenon that I often encounter and I can't tell If it's me doing something wrong.

Picture attached is a screenshoot of the broadband with a designated target S-08 at 072 using towed array. The target's engine noise is clearly audible. However, the next picture with truth enabled shows that there's nothing at 072 at all.

Would someone please enlighten me? Thanks!

Lymark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-19, 01:22 PM   #2
p7p8
Seasoned Skipper

Downloads: 136
Uploads: 6

You should read manual:

Quote:
Towed Array Contacts

Because of the way the physics of the towed array construction, an ambiguous contact, a mirror image of each true contact, appears on the display along with the true contact. If you have a contact at the same bearing on your bow array, you can be fairly certain a contact at a bearing on your towed array display is on contact’s true bearing.
If the contact is not visible on another array, changing the course of Ownship allows you to determine which bearing is the actual and which is its mirror image on the display. After you maneuver, one contact remains at a consistent bearing and one appears to move in the display. The contact’s true bearing is that of the contact that remains constant.
When numerous contacts are present or the contacts are close together, this process can be very challenging!
Old 12-23-19, 02:10 AM   #3
Lymark
Swabbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by p7p8 View Post
You should read manual: