SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2012, 02:57 PM   #721
Stiebler
Fuel Supplier
 
Stiebler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,235
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 4


Default

@U570, Sittingwolf:

1. You are correct, the download of NYGM3.6B contains an updated copy of the file envsim.act which also requires H.sie's V16B1-patched SH3.exe in order to operate. And guess how I tested NYGM3.6B? With V16B1 installed, sorry about that. And many thanks for your bug reports.

2. Therefore I have uploaded another copy of NYGM3.6B which contains the correct version of envsim.act - it does not require a patched SH3.exe in order to operate correctly. Please download this new version. I have tested it on a brand new copy of NYGM starting from a reinstallation of stock SH3, so it should work now for you too. I hope.

3. U570 - No, you do not need to patch your copy of SH3.exe in order for NYGM to function correctly (provided you have the new, correct copy of NYGM3.6B...). However, you will be missing much of the extended functionality of the game that H.sie and I have created through these patches.
But remember also that you cannot use my Stiebler4b_Addon_for_V16B1 unless you have first added H.sie's patch.

@HaraldLange:
I take your point about your preference for the black symbols for ships, that indicate presence but not type or nationality. It seems as though you need to copy the icons you like so much from GWX to NYGM. I shall investigate this further.

Stiebler.
Stiebler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 04:11 PM   #722
U570
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 876
Downloads: 79
Uploads: 0
Default

Would you please be able to put up a link please?
__________________

"Submariners are a bunch of intelligent misfits that somehow seem to get along,
understand each other and work well together"- Anon
U570 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 07:29 PM   #723
Sittingwolf
Navy Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 170
Downloads: 64
Uploads: 0
Default

@Stiebler,

No worries mate.
Thanks for support.
Will try that out and report back.

Last edited by Sittingwolf; 08-10-2012 at 07:57 AM.
Sittingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 01:50 AM   #724
Stiebler
Fuel Supplier
 
Stiebler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,235
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 4


Default

@Harald Lange:
In order to obtain the symbols you like from GWX in NYGM, follow these instructions:
1. Create a new multiple folder (call it GWX_ICONS) in your existing MODS folder, thus:
MODS\GWX_ICONS\data\menu\gui\units.
2. Copy these files from your GWX folder silenthunteriii\data\menu\gui:
contline.tga, dashline.tga
into your new folder MODS\GWX_ICONS\data\menu\gui.
3. Copy these files from your GWX folder silenthunteriii\data\menu\gui\units:
UnitAir.tga, UnitAirL.tga, UnitAirM.tga
UnitLand.tga, UnitLandL.tga, UnitLandM.tga
UnitMship.tga, UnitMshipL.tga, UnitMshipM.tga
UnitWship,tga, UnitWshipL.tga, UnitWshipM.tga
(Possibly also UnitSub.tga, UnitSubL.tga, UnitSubM.tga if your prefer it)
into your new folder MODS\GWX_ICONS\data\menu\gui\units.
4. Activate your new GWX_ICONS mod with JSGME.

I've tested my own advice, the results are effective.

@U570:
Can you please make clear which link you require? Thanks.

Stiebler.
Stiebler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 02:04 AM   #725
SquareSteelBar
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U-73
Posts: 1,628
Downloads: 475
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by U570 View Post
Would you please be able to put up a link please?
It's in Stiebler's sig.
SquareSteelBar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 05:14 AM   #726
U570
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 876
Downloads: 79
Uploads: 0
Default

I'm looking for the 3.6B that has the correct envsim.act to use without the patches. I downloaded from the link, but it was the exact same file as before.
__________________

"Submariners are a bunch of intelligent misfits that somehow seem to get along,
understand each other and work well together"- Anon
U570 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 05:28 AM   #727
SquareSteelBar
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U-73
Posts: 1,628
Downloads: 475
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stiebler View Post
...Therefore I have uploaded another copy of NYGM3.6B which contains the correct version of envsim.act - it does not require a patched SH3.exe in order to operate correctly...
@U570:
Did you a md5 checksum comparison of the included envsim.act?

old version <-> new version

Last edited by SquareSteelBar; 07-26-2012 at 06:28 AM.
SquareSteelBar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 05:32 AM   #728
Sittingwolf
Navy Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 170
Downloads: 64
Uploads: 0
Default

@Stiebler,

NYGM3.6B works fine now but I still have the problem with Stiebler4B_Addon_for V16B1. I don't know, maybe I haven't done something.
There is that additional files folder to add files' correct values but I checked with that and these values are yet added to the all necessary files by you I guess. I don't know where the problem is .
Maybe you could check and upload new copy of Stiebler4B_Addon_for V16B1 either?

cheers.
Sittingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 08:02 AM   #729
Harald_Lange
Ensign
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NY Harbour, Periscope depth.
Posts: 234
Downloads: 149
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stiebler View Post
@Harald Lange:
In order to obtain the symbols you like from GWX in NYGM, follow these instructions:
1. ....
Stiebler.
That sir, is fantastic, thank you!
Harald_Lange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 02:05 PM   #730
Stiebler
Fuel Supplier
 
Stiebler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,235
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 4


Default

@Sittingwolf:

There does not appear to be anything wrong with the Stiebler4b_Addon_for_V16B1 folder or its contents, and at least one NYGM user has got it to work without a CTD, see here:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...7&postcount=41

The same folder works without difficulty for me in my new installation of NYGM.

Therefore it seems that there is an error in your installation of the folder.

Firstly, have you installed H.sie's V16B1 patch (and its extra mods folder) BEFORE you added the Stiebler4b_Addon_for_V16B1 folder?
If not, you must fix this problem immediately!

If you still have CTDs:
If you have installed the Stiebler4b_Addon_for_V16B1 folder with JSGME (if not, why not?), then uninstall it again. Now simply rename each subfolder with a leading 'XXX'; I suggest you start by renaming the Stiebler4b_Addon_for_V16B1\Menu first to Stiebler4b_Addon_for_V16B1\XXXMenu.

Then reinstall with JSGME, and see if you still have a CTD. If so, rename the other folders one by one with an 'XXX' until the CTDs cease. Then you will know where the problem lies. (Note - you must rename the Stiebler4b_Addon_for_V16B1\Air and the Stiebler4b_Addon_for_V16B1\Roster folders together.)

I hope that helps.

Stiebler.
Stiebler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 04:01 AM   #731
Sittingwolf
Navy Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 170
Downloads: 64
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stiebler View Post
@Sittingwolf:

There does not appear to be anything wrong with the Stiebler4b_Addon_for_V16B1 folder or its contents, and at least one NYGM user has got it to work without a CTD, see here:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...7&postcount=41

The same folder works without difficulty for me in my new installation of NYGM.

Therefore it seems that there is an error in your installation of the folder.

Firstly, have you installed H.sie's V16B1 patch (and its extra mods folder) BEFORE you added the Stiebler4b_Addon_for_V16B1 folder?
If not, you must fix this problem immediately!

If you still have CTDs:
If you have installed the Stiebler4b_Addon_for_V16B1 folder with JSGME (if not, why not?), then uninstall it again. Now simply rename each subfolder with a leading 'XXX'; I suggest you start by renaming the Stiebler4b_Addon_for_V16B1\Menu first to Stiebler4b_Addon_for_V16B1\XXXMenu.

Then reinstall with JSGME, and see if you still have a CTD. If so, rename the other folders one by one with an 'XXX' until the CTDs cease. Then you will know where the problem lies. (Note - you must rename the Stiebler4b_Addon_for_V16B1\Air and the Stiebler4b_Addon_for_V16B1\Roster folders together.)

I hope that helps.

Stiebler.
Thanks Stiebler,

I think I really followed your previous instructions on how to install it correctly.
Anyhow, at some point, I must have done it wrong.
Will get to that again.

Last edited by Sittingwolf; 08-10-2012 at 07:57 AM.
Sittingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 06:52 AM   #732
Stiebler
Fuel Supplier
 
Stiebler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,235
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 4


Default

Sittingwolf:

Check out this post, where I have placed a folder for users of NYGM:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...3&postcount=56

Stiebler.
Stiebler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 01:31 PM   #733
Sittingwolf
Navy Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 170
Downloads: 64
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stiebler View Post
Sittingwolf:

Check out this post, where I have placed a folder for users of NYGM:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...3&postcount=56

Stiebler.
Ok, sadly I must say I give up.
After really following the instructions given by you and looking into that post you provided the link to.

The thing is, ALL the installation steps go fine and without any problems till I have to add that Stiebler4b_Addon_for_V16B1.
Even when I copy sh3.exe yet patched with H.sie's V16B1 into YOUR OWN folder downloaded from the link above, it just CTD's.
Without that addon EVERYTHING works correctly.

Just in case, I give you my procedure of installing everything from the very beginning, for analysis. Maybe you will tell me where my mistake lies.

1. I install the game and execute it once for SH3 folder in my documents.

2. All the downloaded and unpacked folders from NYGM Tonnage War Mod - More than a mod: it's an experience! go to JGMSE/MODS folder.
(I know that when I unpack all the contents, the folders are actually double), so I copy only inner folders containing files into JGMSE/MODS. After that they are activated one by one in the correct order shown on the NYGM website.
PLEASE MIND THAT I DO NOT ACTIVATE: H.sie's V16B1 patch, Stiebler3B_Addon_for V16B1 and Stiebler4B_Addon_for V16B1 in that way.

3. Now, I patch the original sh3.exe using H.sie's V16B1 patch and use mod selector. As I run 64Bit, it's activated as well. All the process goes fine and it's hunky-dory.

4. Sh3.exe yet patched with H.sie's V16B1, I copy into Stiebler3B_Addon_for V16B1. Same procedure, ALL GOOD but this time I copy patched executable into Stiebler3_addon_for_V16B1 (internal folder).
After that, the entire folder and only that one goes to JGMSE/MODS.

5. Sh3 folder patched with Stiebler3B_Addon_for V16B1 goes to Stiebler4B_Addon_for V16B1 this time. Same procedure. All the process goes fine. I use convenient mod selector again. All good. Done. Now I copy the patched sh3.exe into internal folder Stiebler4B_addon_for V16B1. Next, I copy internal folder Stiebler4B_addon_for V16B1, as the only one, into JSGME/MODS.

6. Now, having it all done, I activate it all in the, I think, correct order:
a) Supplement to V16B1 goes first.
B) Stiebler3_addon_for_V16B1 goes second.
C) Stiebler4_addon_for_V16B1 goes last, After all the mods activated beforehand.

Any mistakes?

Last edited by Sittingwolf; 08-10-2012 at 07:56 AM.
Sittingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 01:49 PM   #734
Stiebler
Fuel Supplier
 
Stiebler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,235
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 4


Default

@SittingBear:

You do not need the Stiebler3A patch at all.
All its elements are included within the later Stiebler4b patch.

Throw away the 3A patch. Forget it completely.

Therefore, you need to patch your original copy of SH3.exe only twice, once with H.sie's patch, once with the 4b patch.

Also, do NOT use the Options Selector until you have completed BOTH patches.

Your order of items 6a,6b,6c is correct, except that again you do not need the Stiebler3A contribution.

Use JSGME to remove the mods you have recently installed, back to NYGM 3.6B (keep NYGM 3.6B in place).
Then patch your original copy of SH3.exe again, with only the double-patch (Hsie, Stiebler4b). NOW you can use the Options Selector. Add the double-patched SH3.exe to the Stiebler4b folder.
Install first H.sie's Supplemental Folder, then the Stiebler4b folder.

Best of luck!
Stiebler.
Stiebler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 02:04 PM   #735
Sittingwolf
Navy Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 170
Downloads: 64
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stiebler View Post
@SittingBear:

You do not need the Stiebler3A patch at all.
All its elements are included within the later Stiebler4b patch.

Throw away the 3A patch. Forget it completely.

Therefore, you need to patch your original copy of SH3.exe only twice, once with H.sie's patch, once with the 4b patch.

Also, do NOT use the Options Selector until you have completed BOTH patches.

Your order of items 6a,6b,6c is correct, except that again you do not need the Stiebler3A contribution.

Use JSGME to remove the mods you have recently installed, back to NYGM 3.6B (keep NYGM 3.6B in place).
Then patch your original copy of SH3.exe again, with only the double-patch (Hsie, Stiebler4b). NOW you can use the Options Selector. Add the double-patched SH3.exe to the Stiebler4b folder.
Install first H.sie's Supplemental Folder, then the Stiebler4b folder.

Best of luck!
Stiebler.
Wow! Now I can see that I messed it up completely. Thank you Stiebler.

Last edited by Sittingwolf; 08-10-2012 at 11:06 AM.
Sittingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
torpedos through hull

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2020 Subsim