SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2012, 02:27 PM   #661
TorpLos
A-ganger
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 72
Downloads: 35
Uploads: 0
Default

Any environment mods that go well with NYGM and improve to 16km?
TorpLos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 02:53 AM   #662
Stiebler
Fuel Supplier
 
Stiebler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,236
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 4


Default

NYGM already includes OLC's excellent environmental mod, with a 16 km range.

Stiebler.
Stiebler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 06:50 PM   #663
Tigershark624
A-ganger
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
Downloads: 113
Uploads: 0
Default

Stielber,

I'm having the devil's own time trying to get this mod to work. I have one base copy of SH3, from which I've copied and modded three times with GWX3.0, LSH3, and the War Aces Campaign. For some reason, I'm having the same problem with NYGM that I originally had. The game starts up and the Naval Academy missions run fine. Whenever I start a new career, the U-Boote Heraus load screen gets almost to the end and I get a CTD. I also can't get MultiSH3 to work either, but I worked around that by having a different Kaleun for each mod. Can you think of anything that might be causing this, or offer any advice?

Thanks,
Tigershark
Tigershark624 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 03:12 AM   #664
Stiebler
Fuel Supplier
 
Stiebler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,236
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 4


Default

Quote:
Whenever I start a new career, the U-Boote Heraus load screen gets almost to the end and I get a CTD.
Seems like a problem with one of the campaign files (campaign_lnd/rnd/scr.mis).

However, it is unwise to stack different super-mods on top of one another. Apart from any other consideration, they all share a common series of files in My Documents\sh3, which are unlikely to be mutually compatible (trying to start from different base locations, for example, might explain your problem). So you could try making a back-up of your existing sub-folder My Documents\sh3, then delete the original sub-folder. SH3 will then recreate this folder for its current set-up.

Nevertheless, as a principle, you should always make a fresh installation of SH3 for each supermod. If you have a copy of the original game, you will also need to patch it with the 1.4b patch, available fom Ubisoft, but all subsequent releases (since about 2006) have this patch already installed as part of the game. If you have several partitions on your hard-drive (eg drives C: D: E), then you can install a game on each.

Stiebler.
Stiebler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 04:14 AM   #665
Tigershark624
A-ganger
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
Downloads: 113
Uploads: 0
Default

I should have been more clear. I have in my Ubisoft folder a separate folder for each mod. They're not stacked. For each mod I copied in the working SH3 folder patched to 1.4, then installed SH3 Commander and Jones mod enabler into each one after renaming its folder for its respective mod. This was the method recommended in the MultiSH3 readme notes. So far it's worked for all the mods except NYGM. I also should have mentioned that the CTD occurs with no other mods enabled except the 2.5 stand alone mod. I can create a unique character and start a career under SH3 1.4 then install the NYGM 2.5 stand alone mod. If I then reload the career in base before mission 1 and start a new patrol I get the CTD. I'm really stumped on this one.
Tigershark624 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 12:24 PM   #666
Stiebler
Fuel Supplier
 
Stiebler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,236
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 4


Default

@Tigershark624:

Try renaming your folder My Documents\SH3, and then restart SH3 modded with NYGM.

Stiebler.
Stiebler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 05:23 PM   #667
Tigershark624
A-ganger
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
Downloads: 113
Uploads: 0
Default

I already have a folder in My Documents called SH3. I renamed it and tried to start NYGM and received an error message that it couldn't find the cfg file. I moved the folders out of the Careers folder, renamed the folder back to SH3 and tried again with a blank slate. I got the same CTD. There must be something wrong with my original version of SH3 that only bothers NYGM. I made a fresh install on my laptop, copied the resulting SH3 folder onto my flash drive, then tried to use that, but I couldn't even patch that to 1.4. The patch program kept giving me an error message that said the sensors file was unrecognizable. I'm going to try to tweak the fresh install on the laptop to get it patched to 1.4 and try to work with that.
Tigershark624 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 03:19 AM   #668
Stiebler
Fuel Supplier
 
Stiebler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,236
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 4


Default

Tigershark624:
Try to install ONLY NYGM 2.5 on your new installation, and see if that runs. Get rid of (or back-up) any existing subfolder My Documents\SH3 which is at present on the same installation. (SH3 re-creates this sub-folder whenever it cannot find an existing sub-folder.)

Stiebler.
Stiebler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 07:26 PM   #669
Tigershark624
A-ganger
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
Downloads: 113
Uploads: 0
Default

(Lack of) Progress report:

Here's what I did to try and find out why this mod won't work for me:

Installed SH3 from my original DVD onto my laptop, no other versions installed.
Patched successfully to 1.4
Followed the procedure to play SH3 without the disk outlined in the forums
Started SH3 and created a new career
Installed Generic Mod Enabler
Installed NYGM 2.5
Loaded career from In port before mission 1
CTD

MultiSH3 did work, however, so I'm going to use this new install as a base for my other mods to get the folders in My Documents sorted out. Unless NYGM doesn't like the modded exe or one of the modded dll's involved with the no-cd fix, I can't imagine what could be causing this. I'll try again tomorrow with the old exe, dll's and disk in the drive and see if that solves this, unless you have any other ideas.

Tigershark

Edited to add: Changed the save directory and started NYGM 2.5. Created a new career and got the same CTD. Hopefully better news tomorrow.

Last edited by Tigershark624; 04-11-2012 at 07:31 PM. Reason: Additional information
Tigershark624 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 12:01 AM   #670
TorpLos
A-ganger
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 72
Downloads: 35
Uploads: 0
Default

Ok so i feel like i got the perfect mod combo but it has frequent CTDs when i load up games. But sometimes it works ok. So i feel there is just a small problem.

Here is loadout..


TorpLos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 03:03 AM   #671
Stiebler
Fuel Supplier
 
Stiebler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,236
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 4


Default

@Torplos:

If you cannot get even NYGM 2.5 to run without CTDs, then there is something fundamentally wrong with your set-up.

Can you get even SH3.exe (the stock game, patched with 1.4b) to run without CTDs?

I regret that I cannot give any further advice from this distance.

Stiebler.
Stiebler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 04:11 AM   #672
Tigershark624
A-ganger
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
Downloads: 113
Uploads: 0
Default

I don't know if you were asking me or TorpLos, but in my case SH3 1.4 runs fine, as do the other super mods. My suspicion is that it has something to do with the rld-sh14 no-cd fix. It can't be a Windows 7 issue because my laptop is running XP. I'll report back in when I've had a chance to test the original exe but for now that's what I'm thinking. I've got one more trick I can try if all else fails, but more on that later, if necessary.

Tigershark
Tigershark624 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 11:53 AM   #673
TorpLos
A-ganger
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 72
Downloads: 35
Uploads: 0
Default

Im sorry i wasnt clear. NYGM works fine but the problems seem to arise after MaGUIF installing and NvDriftetrs Depth Charge Shake. I just wanted help making those work together well. I guess ill have to choose one or the other but im pretty sure its not a huge issue. THe only thing those two mods conflict with is the CAMERAS.dat
TorpLos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 06:14 PM   #674
Tigershark624
A-ganger
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
Downloads: 113
Uploads: 0
Default

OK, my problem does not arise from the no-cd fix. A brand new clean install, patched to 1.4 with only the Generic Mod Enabler and NYGM 2.5 resulted in the same CTD. I'm down to my last option, and if this doesn't work I'm packing it in. Hopefully I'll have success over the weekend.


***UPDATE***

I installed Steam and SH3 onto my laptop then loaded SHC3.2, the Generic Mod enabler and NYGM 2.5. CTD. I'm now completely out of ideas. I've tried my original copy of SH3 from the DVD, with and without the rld-1.4 no CD fix and a clean install from Steam on both a Windows 7 desktop and Win XP laptop. Same result. If anyone has any further suggestion please let me know. Thanks to all who offered advice.

Tigershark

Last edited by Tigershark624; 04-14-2012 at 07:53 AM. Reason: Results
Tigershark624 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 06:13 AM   #675
Kpt. Weyprecht
A-ganger
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 73
Downloads: 60
Uploads: 0
Default

Hello all,
I just tried to create a multi-install of SH3, one copy being dedicated to NYGM.
I performed the installation procedure through JSGME. Now the last on the list of NYGM downloads is the Stiebler's patch: I still have to use the H.sie's one before, even if it is ont on the list?

EDIT: forget the question, I got the install right.
__________________
"My eyes no light shall cherish
For ships at sea distressed
BUT DARKLING LET THEM PERISH
Or split against my breast"

Last edited by Kpt. Weyprecht; 04-29-2012 at 07:00 AM.
Kpt. Weyprecht is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
torpedos through hull

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim