SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2019, 03:25 AM   #1381
ericlea
Weps
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Strasbourg F
Posts: 365
Downloads: 106
Uploads: 0
Default

Your mods list
Date, location, uboat type

With second widegui, normally no ctd because no ram problem.
Wac5.2 + widegui has been tested by many players. It is stable !
Problem can come from your installation or your mods list...
ericlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2019, 09:50 AM   #1382
chipsranger
Machinist's Mate
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Brasil * Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 125
Downloads: 756
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ericlea View Post
Your mods list
Date, location, uboat type

With second widegui, normally no ctd because no ram problem.
Wac5.2 + widegui has been tested by many players. It is stable !
Problem can come from your installation or your mods list...

WarAceCampaign 5.0
WarAceCampaign 5.0 Patch_5.2

(V16B1-Patch Kit Applied sh3.exe)

WAC5.2 H.sie Supplement to V16B1
(Applied sh3.exe)

Optimized ARB-Ahnenerbe WideGui 1920x1080 for WAC5
(Applied sh3.exe in Full Map and Chrono Patch)

DKruger Ofaces Das BooT Correction

Running HsieOptionsSelector
chipsranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2019, 10:16 AM   #1383
ericlea
Weps
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Strasbourg F
Posts: 365
Downloads: 106
Uploads: 0
Default

Location, date, uboat type ?

Try with : Optimized WAC5.2 WideScreensGUI 1920x1080 Ahnenerbe (alone without full map)
http://www.mille-sabords.com/forum/i...dpost&p=438940
ericlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2019, 10:41 AM   #1384
chipsranger
Machinist's Mate
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Brasil * Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 125
Downloads: 756
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ericlea View Post
Location, date, uboat type ?

Try with : Optimized WAC5.2 WideScreensGUI 1920x1080 Ahnenerbe (alone without full map)
http://www.mille-sabords.com/forum/i...dpost&p=438940
The problem is not the Ahnenerbe GUI but the number of neutral ships in the mod (WAC) when it is used a time comprehension of maximum 32 mainly in ports falls to windows 10 desktop (with everything as administrator)
I see that this mod is very loaded.
I think it would look better on a last-generation Intel processor.
Note: More if there was a small mod to reduce the traffic of neutral ships would not fall more to the windows desktop.

My settings:
AMD FX 8350
240GB SSD
16 GB DDR3 DUAL RAM
NVIDIA GTX 1070
chipsranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2019, 03:30 PM   #1385
Wolfcat
Officer
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 240
Downloads: 10
Uploads: 0
Default

Interesting, I didn't have Wilhelmshaven explosion problem in patrol 1-3. Now I am having it even when I do x8 tc. The harbor is too crowded.

Btw, the recognition manual doesn't have enemy submarine info. So where do I find enemy sub info?
Wolfcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 09:54 AM   #1386
HanSolo78
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Austria
Posts: 1,841
Downloads: 100
Uploads: 3


Default

@Wolfcat

Many thx for your feedback.
Some things to clearify...

1.
Programming and testing sensors of SH3 is very time consuming. To test other settings simply copy sensors.cfg and sim.cfg from Cfg folder. Maybe the changes fit better.
But it has to be tested in many situations.

2.
Ship traffic or harbour traffic can be stipped down easily. I can show here if you want, so you can make a light version.

3.
Air atracks are controlled by airbase.cfg in Cfg folder.

4.
The radio traffic is mainly optimized in german. Please give specific information which date undetailed mission orders arrived.

5.
CTD at loading savegames has been an issue from the beginning but it increased with the amount of data in SH3. Remember.. this game is from 2005!

6.
Feel free to change the watch officer skin. There are many in maiks SH3 archive.

7.
Friendly radio reports are necessary to participate in german operations like 'Weserübung'. To get immersion and give the opportunity to meet the germam homefleet or support ships, watch battles of german warships.

8.
Starshells were created in that way by Kendras. Deel free to use the default ones.
__________________
HanSolo78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 09:16 AM   #1387
Wolfcat
Officer
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 240
Downloads: 10
Uploads: 0
Default

@Hans

For 1, I don't think it's sensor issue. I think sensors are working fine. Just AI is stupid. AI is not reporting contact even though you can hear it on sonar yourself.

For 5, if I delete old saves, would that help to reduce amount of data to load? Also, I found out that if you do "save and exit". That save would have high probability of crashing. Normal saves are ok.

Oh, btw, are you aware that a lot of ship dimension data in recognition manual is inaccurate? Some of the ones I noticed are: Converted whale factory, pyreous ammo ship etc. Also where to find ship dimension data for enemy submarines?
Wolfcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 01:48 AM   #1388
Belmondo
Seaman
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 42
Downloads: 639
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi, I sank a battleship and an Aircraft Carrier at once. Altogether torpedoes and escorts, I was not looking for anything at all
__________________
Leutnant z.S. kimanu-96
Belmondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2019, 03:51 PM   #1389
Wolfcat
Officer
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 240
Downloads: 10
Uploads: 0
Default

Weird bug. When I return to base and quit the patrol, it says I am dead. And I cannot continue the campaign any more. I am on patrol 7 btw.
Wolfcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 09:50 PM   #1390
Wolfcat
Officer
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 240
Downloads: 10
Uploads: 0
Default

Does it matter in which order I activate the SH3 commander? Or I can activate it at the end of the list?
Wolfcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 09:21 AM   #1391
chipsranger
Machinist's Mate
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Brasil * Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 125
Downloads: 756
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HanSolo78 View Post
@Wolfcat

Many thx for your feedback.
Some things to clearify...

1.
Programming and testing sensors of SH3 is very time consuming. To test other settings simply copy sensors.cfg and sim.cfg from Cfg folder. Maybe the changes fit better.
But it has to be tested in many situations.

2.
Ship traffic or harbour traffic can be stipped down easily. I can show here if you want, so you can make a light version.

3.
Air atracks are controlled by airbase.cfg in Cfg folder.

4.
The radio traffic is mainly optimized in german. Please give specific information which date undetailed mission orders arrived.

5.
CTD at loading savegames has been an issue from the beginning but it increased with the amount of data in SH3. Remember.. this game is from 2005!

6.
Feel free to change the watch officer skin. There are many in maiks SH3 archive.

7.
Friendly radio reports are necessary to participate in german operations like 'Weserübung'. To get immersion and give the opportunity to meet the germam homefleet or support ships, watch battles of german warships.

8.
Starshells were created in that way by Kendras. Deel free to use the default ones.

2. Ship traffic or port traffic can be easily toppled. I can show here if you want, so you can make a light version.

As?

chipsranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 01:59 PM   #1392
HanSolo78
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Austria
Posts: 1,841
Downloads: 100
Uploads: 3


Default

Ok.. here a small manual how to decrease traffic in SH3:

1. Make a backup of all campaign files to some other destination

2. Execute the Mission Editor and open the file Campaign_RND.mis in /data/Campaigns/Campaign/

3. Have a look at the group tree marked in this picture: (of course each random campaign file has different group names)


Choose your desired group (single units or groups)

4. Take your chosen group and right mouse button, then open "Group Properties"


5. Here most important are 2 data sets (Repeat Interval & Group Spawn Propability):



6. Increase "Repeat Interval" to decrease traffic or decrease "Group Spawn Propability"

7.In the menu "Define Group Contents" there is also the possability to set the spawn propability in each group and you can add or delete units from a group:


8.Choose "Save RND Layer as..." in Mission Editor and overwrite old files or.. like I do... just make a small mod with the new campaign files and activate with JSGME
__________________
HanSolo78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 02:10 PM   #1393
ericlea
Weps
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Strasbourg F
Posts: 365
Downloads: 106
Uploads: 0
Default

ericlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 07:18 PM   #1394
Wolfcat
Officer
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 240
Downloads: 10
Uploads: 0
Default

@hans

So it sounds like you need start a campaign first and do the operations on that particular campaign? Did I get the idea right? Btw, can you tell which order (in the JSGME) I should install SH3 commander light for WAC? Or it doesn't matter where I put that mod? I can't proceed with my current campaign with this "death on patrol exit" issue.
Wolfcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2019, 05:53 AM   #1395
XenonSurf
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Germany, Italy
Posts: 1,386
Downloads: 66
Uploads: 1
Default

Does WAC have wolfpack AI subs that can support the player in combatting convoys?

Thanks,
XenonSurf is online   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2020 Subsim