SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH4 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Old 05-31-20, 08:15 PM   #1
Fritz Klum
Mate

Downloads: 710
Uploads: 4
Default Need advice on where to begin for custom mini-mod

Hello,

I am thinking of making a mod for SH4 that edits the German captain's room (the one at the base.) Rather than just a simple texture change however, I am wondering how difficult it would be to change the size of the Picture in the German captain's office to be the same size as the one in the US captain's office. I saw somebody made a mod that removes the German captain's office fan from the ceiling, so I know editing the actual image itself is possible.

However, I have never done anything like that before, and have no where to begin or what tool I should use to edit the file (though I suspect that the file is either "captainroom.dat," or "Captainroom.sim."

EDIT: It doesn't seem that either of those files would resize the picture

any help is appreciated. If I figure out how to do it, I will try to upload my mod to subsim for others to enjoy as well.

Last edited by Fritz Klum; 05-31-20 at 08:33 PM. Reason: Correction
Fritz Klum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-20, 04:25 AM   #2
XenonSurf
Sea Lord

Downloads: 107

The German Captain's Room, I don't know, but I know that the radio room for american subs was probably taken from it (radio room + captain's room), it's called 'Radio Room' in the game files, and is not part of the stock game except for the German subs. This room has been re-created for the american subs and it's part of the OTC mod for TMO 2.5 or OTC for RSRDC as far as I know. Other mods have then used and implemented it. Download this OTF mod and look at the files so to have an idea of which files are involved. Especially the 'Interiors' folder are relevant.

Or take a look here: