SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter III
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-30-2021, 06:33 PM   #1
Ph4nT0mE4G1e
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 5
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Game crashes when loading a career from 1942 onward

The title is pretty self-explanatory... as it says, whenever I try starting a career from 1942 onward, the game loads like normal, then crashes to the desktop when the bar reaches 90%, I have no idea why it does this, I got it to load once before, and now it won't load. Any ideas or hints to what is causing this? I've tried 1942, 1943, 1944, and 1945, and the game crashes every time I try to start a career in one of those years, it only loads in the years 1939, 1940, and 1941. I have the GWX 3.0 Gold installed if that helps.
Ph4nT0mE4G1e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2021, 05:30 PM   #2
John Pancoast
Admiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Minnysoda
Posts: 2,390
Downloads: 408
Uploads: 2


Default

Post your mod list.
__________________
".....contrary to the accepted wisdom - and mythology - at no time did the German U-boat force ever come close to winning the "Battle of the Atlantic...."

- Clay Blair
John Pancoast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2021, 06:13 PM   #3
Ph4nT0mE4G1e
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 5
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

GWX 3.0 Gold is the only mod I have installed in Silent Hunter 3, nothing else, aside from the GWX mod, the game is pretty much vanilla.
Ph4nT0mE4G1e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2021, 06:56 PM   #4
John Pancoast
Admiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Minnysoda
Posts: 2,390
Downloads: 408
Uploads: 2


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph4nT0mE4G1e View Post
GWX 3.0 Gold is the only mod I have installed in Silent Hunter 3, nothing else, aside from the GWX mod, the game is pretty much vanilla.
No other GWX mods either ? Just the main GWX ?
Also, always good to have the 4gb patch for any install.
__________________
".....contrary to the accepted wisdom - and mythology - at no time did the German U-boat force ever come close to winning the "Battle of the Atlantic...."

- Clay Blair
John Pancoast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2021, 10:07 PM   #5
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 22,007
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0


Default Welcome aboard!

Ph4nT0mE4G1e!
__________________
"Only two things are infinite; The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe"
Aktungbby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2021, 10:15 PM   #6
Ph4nT0mE4G1e
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 5
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Pancoast View Post
No other GWX mods either ? Just the main GWX ?
Also, always good to have the 4gb patch for any install.
Yep, all I have is the GWX expansion mod, nothing else. As for the 4gb patch, I dunno, I don't think I have that. Any good links for it?
Ph4nT0mE4G1e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2021, 11:09 PM   #7
Mad Mardigan
Ace of the Deep
 
Mad Mardigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Grand Rapids, Mi.
Posts: 1,096
Downloads: 309
Uploads: 0


radar

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph4nT0mE4G1e View Post
Yep, all I have is the GWX expansion mod, nothing else. As for the 4gb patch, I dunno, I don't think I have that. Any good links for it?
Can google search it.. or look for & use large address aware, which is a simple 3 step process to tell your computer to assign to your SH3.exe to use 4 GB's of RAM, instead of the 2 GB's it would normally assign it.

Hope this info helps...

M. M.

__________________
Mad Mardigan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2021, 04:24 AM   #8
Pisces
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: AN9771
Posts: 4,813
Downloads: 285
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph4nT0mE4G1e View Post
GWX 3.0 Gold is the only mod I have installed in Silent Hunter 3, nothing else, aside from the GWX mod, the game is pretty much vanilla.
There are some small mods for GWX that come with it in the JSGME MODS folder. They are needed in specific timeframes or situations. Consult the GWX manual for details. I wouldn't be surprised if you need late-war sensors or something like that.
Pisces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2021, 10:04 PM   #9
Ph4nT0mE4G1e
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 5
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Does anyone know where I can get these mods I might need? And how to install them? Any tips and help would be great, thanks.
Ph4nT0mE4G1e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2021, 10:53 PM   #10
Mad Mardigan
Ace of the Deep
 
Mad Mardigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Grand Rapids, Mi.
Posts: 1,096
Downloads: 309
Uploads: 0


radar

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph4nT0mE4G1e View Post
Does anyone know where I can get these mods I might need? And how to install them? Any tips and help would be great, thanks.
If memory serves Me rightly... those come prepackaged in with the GWX3 installer... just run that on a freshly installed copy of SH3.

Ensure that you do NOT have that copy of SH3 installed in either of Windows "program" folders... Before running the installer.. right click, go to properties, In the main tab when that menu pops up... make sure that write only, is uncheck marked, click apply, then go into compatibility tab, & select "run as Admin & click "Apply". Then run the GWX3 installer, after running the GWX3 installer & allowing it to finish doing what it needs to, open the main folder of SH3 that you pointed the installer to, & check the "MODS" folder... they should all be there, that you need for it.

If you use SH3 Commander with it... think I recall there being an additional file needed for it to work properly, when you use it to start with it.

If you have more than 1 copy of SH3 installed... & modded out, make sure to use MultiSH3, to keep the game save folders, separate.

Patch the SH3.exe with either 4GB patch kit... or use Large Address Aware (which can be googled for & I recommend its use, as it is a simple 3 step process to assign the .exe 4GB's of RAM to be used by your computer with SH3...)

After all that, should then activate the mods you want/need to use... which with a late war career start, am thinking you'll need to use the late war sensors & the other late war mod along with that... snorkel mod...

Any way, if I missed anything am sure 1 of the others can fill in where I did... but, I think that's about it...

Hope this info helps...

M. M.

__________________

Last edited by Mad Mardigan; 09-13-2021 at 01:25 AM.
Mad Mardigan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2021, 11:51 PM   #11
blackswan40
LSH2020 Mission Writer
 
blackswan40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: IN THE STEEL SHARKS VIRTUAL OCEAN
Posts: 1,109
Downloads: 517
Uploads: 29


Default

Hi Ph4nT0mE4G1e the files Below are what you need

Commander Mod Download Link

https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/dow...o=file&id=4789

GWX Commander mod Config File Download Link

http://www.thegreywolves.com/downloads/

4Gig Patch Download Link

https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/dow...o=file&id=5737


if you need any more help Mad Mardigan or me will be around to help please let us know if you got SH3 squared away regards blackswan40

Last edited by blackswan40; 09-13-2021 at 12:12 AM.
blackswan40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2021, 07:50 AM   #12
Pisces
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: AN9771
Posts: 4,813
Downloads: 285
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph4nT0mE4G1e View Post
.... I have the GWX 3.0 Gold installed if that helps.
You already have the supplementary little mods for fixes. Start up JSGME, they should be visible. Or look in the MODS folder inside the SH3 install folder. Again, depends on your position in the war and type of uboat whether you need one of them. GWX manual is in the documentation folder.
Pisces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2021, 04:42 AM   #13
Ph4nT0mE4G1e
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 5
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Used the 4gb patch on my sh3.exe and that solved the crashing issue, thanks for the help everyone!
Ph4nT0mE4G1e is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2021 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.