SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2009, 04:48 PM   #1
Ping Panther
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: the armpit of the Mid-Atlantic / Quadrant CA42
Posts: 262
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default Shut off the searchlights

GWX3 is the best, I just get sort of tired of the overdone searchlights.

Once I am under contact from a convoy, it's like a broadway show. I can figure escorts would pounce on me, and search me out in the dark, with some available search lights, yet having every merchant in a given radius switch on one or two each many times over on all other escorts and merchants? Whoa!

Is there any GWX3 compatible mod to tame the lights?
__________________
the Ping Panther

Ping Panther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 06:24 PM   #2
irish1958
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Carmel, Indiana
Posts: 3,254
Downloads: 320
Uploads: 11
Default

Yes. http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...=Search+lights
__________________
Irish1958
irish1958 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 01:21 PM   #3
Ping Panther
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: the armpit of the Mid-Atlantic / Quadrant CA42
Posts: 262
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks for the link, Irish.

So, this one will indeed "tame" the lights, yet the only sure way to shut the lights off on all these crazy merchants is to go ahead and shoot 'em out?!?

I just feel that this, "lets have everyone lighting up" on a contact thing is just so not quite historically correct anymore. Merchants ordered to black-out in transit, should remain at black-out. A dim blue & shielded stern light perhaps may be shown, or the flames of my destruction, yes.
1 or 2 blazing lights pointing from bow to stern of each freighter, tanker, etc.?
__________________
the Ping Panther

Ping Panther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 01:37 PM   #4
Draka
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 256
Downloads: 322
Uploads: 0
Default

Kinda of two minds on this - the actual taming of the lights is very good - I use it. However, the doctrine of being blacked out was to AVOID detection - once they were among you it immediately becomes useless. In addition, as anyone in any military can attest, trying to get any random set of civvies to do ANYTHING in concert and according to doctrine is the proverbial "herding cats" - damn near impossible. So having the entire convoy light up, wildly start slewing off in all directions and generally acting like the clown act at the circus is pretty much how it was - at least for approx the first couple years as each belligerent entered the war (Brits till '41, Americans untill late '43 or so)
Draka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 02:42 PM   #5
Hartmann
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Grid CH 26, Spain ,Barcelona
Posts: 1,858
Downloads: 203
Uploads: 0
Default

In my computer, searchlights cause a severe slown down since i change my graphic card, it´s a driver problem, but i´m unable to play at night with convoys.

I´m doing a "no search lights mod" but it will take some time because i have to delete all light references in every EQP file ..for example ..LinkName=REF_small to LinkName=null.

Also i think that is more realistic, because a search light makes very easy track or spot the convoy miles away. And the same with battleships and cruisers without asw weapons.A good submarine captain can use the lights to detect and track ships better than in the darkness .

It´s different in the case of starshells not fixed to the boat and only last some time.
__________________
But this ship can't sink!...

She is made of iron, sir. I assure you, she can. and she will. It is a mathematical certainty.

Strength and honor
Hartmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 11:21 PM   #6
Ping Panther
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: the armpit of the Mid-Atlantic / Quadrant CA42
Posts: 262
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default

I just got myself into a night battle in the Black Sea. I really like this searchlight mod that Irish1958 listed for me a while ago! It has a nice light effect to the beams. It's worth a try.

Once again, thanks again to my fellow Subsimmers.
Good hunting to all and to all a good night!

PP
__________________
the Ping Panther

Ping Panther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 05:31 PM   #7
Yoda1976
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
Downloads: 73
Uploads: 0
Default

You have an ATI Card right?? I have the same Problem. The only thing you can do, change your system to vista! On vista you dont have the problems. Its a windows xp driver problem that ati dont have managed after more than two years!

I have change my grafic card to an nvidia card and have no problem since then.
__________________
Yoda1976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 05:41 PM   #8
h.sie
Admiral
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,192
Downloads: 131
Uploads: 0


Default

same for me. doesn't work on Xp, so I installed Vista64 only for Sh3 and it works, no frame rate stuttering with searchligts and starshells......
__________________
My Mediafire page: http://www.mediafire.com/hsie
h.sie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 05:27 AM   #9
java`s revenge
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: at periscope depth
Posts: 1,204
Downloads: 97
Uploads: 0
Default

Olc has made a searchlight mod !!
__________________
java`s revenge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 01:42 PM   #10
Hartmann
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Grid CH 26, Spain ,Barcelona
Posts: 1,858
Downloads: 203
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoda1976 View Post
You have an ATI Card right?? I have the same Problem. The only thing you can do, change your system to vista! On vista you dont have the problems. Its a windows xp driver problem that ati dont have managed after more than two years!

I have change my grafic card to an nvidia card and have no problem since then.

Yes , true , it´s a Ati card.

it´s difficult for me change the windows version because is a "old" computer and vista need more hardware power ( i have a 2400 single core with 2 gb of ram)
__________________
But this ship can't sink!...

She is made of iron, sir. I assure you, she can. and she will. It is a mathematical certainty.

Strength and honor
Hartmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim