SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > General > General Topics > PC Hardware/Software forum
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2009, 03:23 PM   #46
Arclight
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Land of windmills, tulips, wooden shoes and cheese. Lots of cheese.
Posts: 8,467
Downloads: 48
Uploads: 10
Default

Or taking that mainboard out of the box and holding it in your hands for the first time.

And then installing your graphics card that is as long as the mboard is wide... good stuff.
__________________

Contritium praecedit superbia.
Arclight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 03:29 PM   #47
Letum
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: York - UK
Posts: 6,079
Downloads: 43
Uploads: 0
Default

You guys are nuts.
It was stressful.

First time I powered on it gave a loud long beep, revved the fans and died.
I was sure the CPU had blown for some reason, but thankfully it powered up
fine the next time I tried.

Now I am transferring some 200GB of infor from my old PC. It will take some
time....(I ended up getting a 500GB HDD).

After that I will fire up SHIII or FSX and enjoy.

ed: You are right about the smell tho.
__________________
Letum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 04:31 PM   #48
Letum
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: York - UK
Posts: 6,079
Downloads: 43
Uploads: 0
Default

I thought it wise to monitor my CPU temp for a while.
It's staying at a healthy 35 Degrees with no stress, but it just had a one
second spike to 300 degrees!
I'm hoping that was a reading error.
__________________
Letum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 04:40 PM   #49
Peto
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The details of my life are quite inconsequential
Posts: 1,049
Downloads: 4
Uploads: 0
Default

Congrats!!! I remember my 1st system build and it was very nerve wracking! I admire your will-power--transferring data before installing games. I always have to spin a couple games for a while. I go retrieve data after a couple quick campaigns of SH or something .

__________________
If your target has a 30 degree AOB, the range from his base course line equals the current range divided by 2.
Peto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 07:04 PM   #50
Letum
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: York - UK
Posts: 6,079
Downloads: 43
Uploads: 0
Default

Problem No.1 Encountered!

My four cores are all running at 1.6Ghz due to a bug in the motherboard's
BIOS. Fortunately there is a patch, so I should be able to sort this.

At least my first hurdle is not too big.
__________________
Letum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 07:50 PM   #51
AVGWarhawk
Lucky Jack
 
AVGWarhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: In a 1954 Buick.
Posts: 26,495
Downloads: 90
Uploads: 0


Default

Yes, your BIOS should let those ponies free to run like mad. What I do is one change at a time and see how it runs. If it is not right I only have to look at the one thing I did to correct it. If you start changing many things at once in the BIOS and it does not seem right then you have to remember what you did so to correct it. Pain in the nards. I'm sure you will get it sorted. Did you download CPUID? Great tool to see what your hardware is up to!
__________________
“You're painfully alive in a drugged and dying culture.”
― Richard Yates, Revolutionary Road
AVGWarhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 07:58 PM   #52
Arclight
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Land of windmills, tulips, wooden shoes and cheese. Lots of cheese.
Posts: 8,467
Downloads: 48
Uploads: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Letum View Post
Problem No.1 Encountered!

My four cores are all running at 1.6Ghz due to a bug in the motherboard's
BIOS. Fortunately there is a patch, so I should be able to sort this.

At least my first hurdle is not too big.
Updating BIOS on that board should be piece of cake too; my board has dual-bios, so I'm sure yours does too. Even if something goes wrong during update, it will just load the default from the back-up. No excuses not to have the latest BIOS anymore.

First thing I did after building it was stress-test the **** out of it.
__________________

Contritium praecedit superbia.
Arclight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 08:01 PM   #53
Peto
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The details of my life are quite inconsequential
Posts: 1,049
Downloads: 4
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Letum View Post
Problem No.1 Encountered!

My four cores are all running at 1.6Ghz due to a bug in the motherboard's
BIOS. Fortunately there is a patch, so I should be able to sort this.

At least my first hurdle is not too big.
You must have an Gigabyte AM3 socket with a 955 CPU . I think you need to flash the BIOS to F3 (I think). I've been reading about that one lately.
__________________
If your target has a 30 degree AOB, the range from his base course line equals the current range divided by 2.
Peto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 08:03 PM   #54
Peto
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The details of my life are quite inconsequential
Posts: 1,049
Downloads: 4
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arclight View Post
Updating BIOS on that board should be piece of cake too; my board has dual-bios, so I'm sure yours does too. Even if something goes wrong during update, it will just load the default from the back-up. No excuses not to have the latest BIOS anymore.
Much better than the old days where a failed BIOS phlash often meant a new motherboard . Or at least a new chip.
__________________
If your target has a 30 degree AOB, the range from his base course line equals the current range divided by 2.
Peto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 08:11 PM   #55
Arclight
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Land of windmills, tulips, wooden shoes and cheese. Lots of cheese.
Posts: 8,467
Downloads: 48
Uploads: 10
Default

Exactly, I remember those days... those where the most exiting days of my life.
__________________

Contritium praecedit superbia.
Arclight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 08:25 PM   #56
Peto
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The details of my life are quite inconsequential
Posts: 1,049
Downloads: 4
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arclight View Post
Exactly, I remember those days... those where the most exiting days of my life.
You're a sick and twisted man . Beer is on me!

__________________
If your target has a 30 degree AOB, the range from his base course line equals the current range divided by 2.
Peto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 09:12 PM   #57
Letum
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: York - UK
Posts: 6,079
Downloads: 43
Uploads: 0
Default

I owe everyone who has posted here more than a few beers.
Thanks guys!
__________________
Letum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 10:06 PM   #58
Peto
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The details of my life are quite inconsequential
Posts: 1,049
Downloads: 4
Uploads: 0
Default

Happy Gaming! I'm pretty sure your frame rates have improved considerably !
__________________
If your target has a 30 degree AOB, the range from his base course line equals the current range divided by 2.
Peto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 02:05 AM   #59
Letum
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: York - UK
Posts: 6,079
Downloads: 43
Uploads: 0
Default

I used to struggle to play IL2 at 25fps on low/medium settings.

Now I am at full resolution with all settings maxed and frame rate just isn't an
issue. Happy days.
__________________
Letum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 04:32 AM   #60
Arclight
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Land of windmills, tulips, wooden shoes and cheese. Lots of cheese.
Posts: 8,467
Downloads: 48
Uploads: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peto View Post
You're a sick and twisted man . Beer is on me!

:rotfl: More like sick and twisted geek.



Letum, I'm happy to hear it is to your liking. Happy hunting!
__________________

Contritium praecedit superbia.
Arclight is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2020 Subsim