SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH5 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Get ready for a whole new level of realism!
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-16, 12:05 PM   #1
vdr1981
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 6,078
Downloads: 581
Uploads: 13


Default Playable U-FlaK for SH5



For the first time in SH5, this mod will add new playable submarine type (U-FlaK). If you want to have a blast in campaign with this sub, start "Turnign Point" using "sillentotto" cheat. There is also appropriate and fun historical mission (U-FlaK: Atlantic Escort Duty).

U-flak was possible because I managed to knock together developer team's unused parts, already present in the game (in this case VIIC41 hull + U-flak conning tower) and to organise them as a new playable submarine with it's own set of advantages and disadvantages...

Keep in mind that this mod is extracted form TWoS megamod so compatibility with stock game or some other modlists may be questionable...

Current issues:
Front gun - no visible crew
Front gun not operational for player (shielded, 37mm) until it's replaced with quad 20mm trough bunker upgrade. (All other flak stations are OK)


Have a fun!

Download: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=4883


Last edited by vdr1981; 03-01-16 at 03:31 PM.
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-16, 12:21 PM   #2
vdr1981
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 6,078
Downloads: 581
Uploads: 13


Default

There are still few issues for which I hope that can be resolved with community's help...

PLayer can't operate front heavy FlaK:
It seems that this would require few tweaks in cameras.cam file/s, I'm still not sure where should I exactly look for this entries...

Individual front Flak upgrade pack (in bunker):
No mater what I tried I just couldn't achieve this...It seems that the game is "hardcoded" not to give us this possibility. Only upgrades for one or both heavy flaks are possible, not two individual upgrades. Right now , player can only upgrade stern flak. Front AA gun will permanently be improved 37mm flak. I chose this solution because sub equiped with 2x quad 2cm Flak 38 Vierling AA guns would have just too much firepower...

Front heavy Flak dont have visible crew:
This issue doesn't bother me so much, that's why it's last...


To sumarise, the first issue I would like to solve is giving the player possibility to operate front heavy Flak. Any help is appreciated...

Last edited by vdr1981; 02-23-16 at 12:35 PM.
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-16, 01:29 PM   #3
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 8,210
Downloads: 792
Uploads: 10
Default



Quote:
Originally Posted by vdr1981 View Post
There are still few issues for which I hope that can be resolved with community's help...

the first issue I would like to solve is giving the player possibility to operate front heavy Flak. Any help is appreciated...
Okay, I will start diggingg in NSS_Uboat7c41F.upcge and UnitParts5VIIC41F.upc for possible solutions
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-16, 01:45 PM   #4
urfisch
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Deep down in Germany
Posts: 1,969
Downloads: 42
Uploads: 0
Default

__________________


urfisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-16, 01:47 PM   #5
vdr1981
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 6,078
Downloads: 581
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post




Okay, I will start diggingg in NSS_Uboat7c41F.upcge and UnitParts5VIIC41F.upc for possible solutions

Thanks!
If you test it in the game you'll noticed that you can click on front flak, but then camera will go crazy, it's as though some camera settings are missing?
If you press "space" to shoot, one flak from back will actually shoot or say "cant shoot at the submarine"?!
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-16, 03:20 PM   #6
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 8,210
Downloads: 792
Uploads: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vdr1981 View Post
Thanks!
If you test it in the game you'll noticed that you can click on front flak, but then camera will go crazy, it's as though some camera settings are missing?
Is the front gun, by any chance, a twin 37 mm Flak?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vdr1981 View Post
If you press "space" to shoot, one flak from back will actually shoot or say "cant shoot at the submarine"?!
This is easy: at some training/elevation angle, some part of the U-boat (a wire, a railing, an antenna) on the way of the gun.
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-16, 03:47 PM   #7
vdr1981
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 6,078
Downloads: 581
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
Is the front gun, by any chance, a twin 37 mm Flak?
The one on the picture...

Quote:
This is easy: at some training/elevation angle, some part of the U-boat (a wire, a railing, an antenna) on the way of the gun.
No , that's not what I meant...When you click on front gun to operate it, if you press space, some flak from the stern will receive this command...
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-16, 05:15 PM   #8
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 8,210
Downloads: 792
Uploads: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vdr1981 View Post
The one on the picture...
From that picture it looks like the single mount of the same gun, but going by your description, the problem you are having with it is similar to what I experiences with the double one, except that the "freezed camera" was triggered whenever I walked near the gun (I couldn't even click on it).

IIRC, besides the camera getting stuck, water streaks appeared on the camera, and some sound was played

Quote:
Originally Posted by vdr1981 View Post
No , that's not what I meant...When you click on front gun to operate it, if you press space, some flak from the stern will receive this command...
Isn't space bar the key used for firing guns?
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-16, 05:33 PM   #9
vdr1981
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 6,078
Downloads: 581
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post


Isn't space bar the key used for firing guns?
Yes , it is... I dont think we understand each other, again...

EDIT
Does the U-Flak work at all in your game/modlist?
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-16, 06:01 PM   #10
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 8,210
Downloads: 792
Uploads: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vdr1981 View Post
Yes , it is... I dont think we understand each other, again...
I got you now. Does it happen every time you try firing that gun, or once in a while?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vdr1981 View Post
EDIT
Does the U-Flak work at all in your game/modlist?
I will answer this question in 5 minutes

EDIT

The usual UPlay crash after update.
Looks like my test will take a bit longer until I reinstall UPlay...

If only they updated their games every 100 updates of their DRM copy protection, they would be the more supportive software company ever
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/

Last edited by gap; 02-23-16 at 06:18 PM.
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-16, 06:15 PM   #11
vdr1981
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 6,078
Downloads: 581
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
I got you now. Does it happen every time you try firing that gun, or once in a while?
Every time...
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-16, 06:35 PM   #12
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 8,210
Downloads: 792
Uploads: 10
Default

Okay, it works... more or less: the two 20 mm Flak guns which are supposed to stand on conning tower's upper deck are missing, manning crew is missing, and XO/watch crew is freezed in the typical T position (missing animations). The two 37 mm guns work as supposed, but as noted by you, I couldn't fire the fron one.
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-16, 06:51 PM   #13
vdr1981
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 6,078
Downloads: 581
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
Okay, it works... more or less: the two 20 mm Flak guns which are supposed to stand on conning tower's upper deck are missing, manning crew is missing, and XO/watch crew is freezed in the typical T position (missing animations). The two 37 mm guns work as supposed, but as noted by you, I couldn't fire the fron one.
You're testing it in stock game?
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-16, 06:57 PM   #14
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 8,210
Downloads: 792
Uploads: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vdr1981 View Post
You're testing it in stock game?
yep: stock + New UIs 7.4.2 + IRAI 0.0.41 + your mod. No TDW patch enabled.

It is not a drama: being based on your megamod, I was expecting the U-Flak to run with some glitches over stock game...
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-16, 07:07 PM   #15
vdr1981
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 6,078
Downloads: 581
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
yep: stock + New UIs 7.4.2 + IRAI 0.0.41 + your mod. No TDW patch enabled.

It is not a drama: being based on your megamod, I was expecting the U-Flak to run with some glitches over stock game...
You should grab at least EUF...

Or enable TWoS?
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2023 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.