SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2019, 01:12 AM   #16
MrNishino
Watch
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 15
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default

Just tried the terminal and got the message "cannot execute binary file". And my OS is 10.14.6. Thanks!
MrNishino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 02:26 AM   #17
BarracudaUAK
Captain
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 517
Downloads: 30
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrNishino View Post
Just tried the terminal and got the message "cannot execute binary file". And my OS is 10.14.6. Thanks!

Ok, a quick search on this shows that the file is either,


A: not compiled (unlikely)
or
B: A Linux executable (that would be WINE).

So, since WINE is compiled and running, and we know it is because you could play SH4...

That leaves me with a few questions:

1: Where you in the SH4 folder in the terminal?

2: Is the 4gb_patch.exe in the SH4 folder?

and last and possibly most important:

3: Where is WINE installed???


I'm thinking 1 and 2 are "yes", given the error message, but just to confirm.
I'll investigate the last question.


EDIT: Quick test, can you open a terminal and type:
wine --version


It should print out the version that you have, this will let me confirm it is talking about WINE.
On my system I get this:

wine-4.12.1 (Staging)

Yours should be similar.
END EDIT.



Barracuda
BarracudaUAK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 09:17 AM   #18
MrNishino
Watch
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 15
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default

Yes to 1 & 2. This is running on a Wineskin Wrapper. As far as location, I have a directory I named Silent Hunter Fall of the Rising Sun, which contains three folders: Contents, drive_c, and Wineskin.

The folder "drive_c" contains the Ubisoft SH4 files, buried under a couple layers.

The "Contents" folder contains some Wine files, including a Wineskin launcher and Unix executable called winetricks.

In the "Wineskin" folder, where I ran Terminal, this is what I could find so far: Wineskin 2.9.0.2, Engine: WS10WineCX64Bit18.5.0.
MrNishino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 07:37 PM   #19
BarracudaUAK
Captain
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 517
Downloads: 30
Uploads: 0


Default

I saw you post earlier, but just got a chance to reply...


I'm digging, but just wanted to let you know I'm still looking...






Barracuda
BarracudaUAK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 08:11 PM   #20
BarracudaUAK
Captain
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 517
Downloads: 30
Uploads: 0


Default

BTW, if you haven't already guessed,
I haven't used a Apple/Mac in years. So I'm trying to figure out where it all goes.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

OK, I *THINK* I know why it gave an error last time... It might not know where the WINE executable file is.


Or maybe I'm barking up the wrong tree...

However this site gives the rundown on how to setup several things...

I'm NOT suggesting you do all of this, I'm just referencing it so you know where I'm getting all my Mac info...

http://www.speedofmac.com/tutorials/...-use-wine.html

The top box under "Before", gives me a clue as to where WINE itself is located.

Quote:
~/./wine/bin/wine
But a few lines later it listed as:

Quote:
/wine/bin/wine
Try those in a terminal, and see what it spits out.

If it's not there, then it should give an error, otherwise -IF IT WORKS- you should get WINE giving you something like this:


Quote:
Usage: wine PROGRAM [ARGUMENTS...] Run the specified program
wine --help Display this help and exit
wine --version Output version information and exit
wine --patches Output patch information and exit
wine --check-libs Checks if shared libs are installed
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


When you get a chance to check it and post back, then we'll have a better idea what to do next.

Barracuda
BarracudaUAK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 10:20 PM   #21
MrNishino
Watch
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 15
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks again for all your help. Haven’t had a chance yet to try it, will do later this evening. To clarify: since we’re looking for the Wine executable, that means that the patch modifies the Wine executable, not the SH4 executable?
MrNishino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 10:50 PM   #22
BarracudaUAK
Captain
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 517
Downloads: 30
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrNishino View Post
To clarify: since we’re looking for the Wine executable, that means that the patch modifies the Wine executable, not the SH4 executable?
No, the patch does modify sh4.exe...

We just need to find WINE to make sure that we are telling MacOS to run 'wine'.

Best DOS example I can think of (since DOS is very simple, and it's all command line):
Let's say you want to edit a file named "textfile.txt", but it is on D:\.

All system files (including the program "edit") are on "C:\".
You must either:

1: Be at:

Quote:
C:\
and type:
Quote:
edit d:\textfile.txt
OR

2: Be at:
Quote:
D:\
and type:
Quote:
C:\edit textfile.txt
OR

3: From ANYWHERE ELSE, such as:
Quote:
E:\games\too\many\folders\and\even\more\folders
You must type:
Quote:
C:\edit D:\textfile.txt
We are specificaly calling each program and file by their location.





Now UNIX/BSD(UNIX)/MacOS/Linux:
IF a directory is in the "PATH", then the OS will look for the executable (such as wine) there.
IF the executable is not in any of those directories it will give an error.


So all we are doing is looking for "wine" so we can tell the OS to /run/this/file/located/right/here.


It's like asking someone "Can you go get some milk from [store name here]?"
And *NOT* leaving them to their own devices.


Hopefully I didn't lose you with my rambling...



Barracuda
BarracudaUAK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 11:03 PM   #23
MrNishino
Watch
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 15
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default

"No such file or directory". The closest thing I could find is a Wineskin executable. I also tried running the patch in a few of the folders, no luck.
MrNishino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 11:19 PM   #24
BarracudaUAK
Captain
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 517
Downloads: 30
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrNishino View Post
"No such file or directory". The closest thing I could find is a Wineskin executable. I also tried running the patch in a few of the folders, no luck.

OK...


This would have been helpful to find a bit sooner...

Try throwing this in a terminal:
Quote:
find / -name wine
You may get a bunch of directories...


On Linux it's usually in
/bin
or
/usr/bin


I'm not sure how close MacOS still is to UNIX's system structure.
Still digging...


EDIT: BTW, what is the extension for a Mac executable file?
EDIT EDIT: All the sites I find tell me HOW to install it, but not WHERE it's installed!

Barracuda

Last edited by BarracudaUAK; 08-08-2019 at 12:17 AM.
BarracudaUAK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 12:42 AM   #25
MrNishino
Watch
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 15
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default

Got lots of folders and all said Access or Permission Denied. I'm going to try reinstalling SH4 with Wineskin Winery instead of that porting kit I used, maybe this will be different. I really don't know anything about any of this stuff, but now that we're under the hood, I'll try this (just started it and not looking encouraging). And as far as Mac executable extensions, DMG and APP.

I'm beginning to wonder if I should just install Windows 10 via Bootcamp instead, as MS permits unregistered use of it. Mac OS is going to stop supporting 32 bit applications soon, they announced Mojave is the last OS to support 32 bit, so I'll have to deal with that in a few months as well. What do you think?
MrNishino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 01:44 PM   #26
BarracudaUAK
Captain
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 517
Downloads: 30
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrNishino View Post
Got lots of folders and all said Access or Permission Denied. I'm going to try reinstalling SH4 with Wineskin Winery instead of that porting kit I used, maybe this will be different.
...
Going the direct route does help cut down on the variables.
Might get a better result.


Quote:
Originally Posted by MrNishino View Post
I really don't know anything about any of this stuff,
...
I don't really know anything about Mac, other than it's based on UNIX.
So that's the direction I've been working from.
So we're kinda in this together!


Quote:
Originally Posted by MrNishino View Post
...
but now that we're under the hood, I'll try this (just started it and not looking encouraging).
...
In my experience with Linux, it never does.
Until it works.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrNishino View Post
...
I'm beginning to wonder if I should just install Windows 10 via Bootcamp instead, as MS permits unregistered use of it. Mac OS is going to stop supporting 32 bit applications soon, they announced Mojave is the last OS to support 32 bit, so I'll have to deal with that in a few months as well. What do you think?
This is the same as a "dual-boot" on Linux.
You could, but that's a whole seperate can of worms.
I've definately got 0 experience doing that on a Mac, so I would be of no help there.

As far as the 32bit, many Linux Distrobutions are dropping 32bit versions of the OS.
But, so far, most are keeping 'multi-lib' (I think thats the name) which allows 32bit programs on a 64bit OS.

So it depends how Wine handles it. If the Windows exe(SH4) can have all 32bit requirements satisfied by 64bit WINE, then it should be ok in the long run.


Quote:
Originally Posted by MrNishino View Post
...
And as far as Mac executable extensions, DMG and APP.
...
Ok,I read something about it on one of the sites, but they didn't go into details.
I'm wondering if the...
Re-reading some of your earlier post I think I may have missed something...


Quote:
Originally Posted by MrNishino View Post
...
This is running on a Wineskin Wrapper. As far as location, I have a directory I named Silent Hunter Fall of the Rising Sun, which contains three folders: Contents, drive_c, and Wineskin.

The folder "drive_c" contains the Ubisoft SH4 files, buried under a couple layers.

The "Contents" folder contains some Wine files, including a Wineskin launcher and Unix executable called winetricks.

In the "Wineskin" folder, where I ran Terminal, this is what I could find so far: Wineskin 2.9.0.2, Engine: WS10WineCX64Bit18.5.0.
Is that files full name
"Wineskin.app"?
If so can you open the "Wineskin" folder again, and in a terminal type:

Quote:
Wineskin
And see what it does?

They may have re-named the executable file for MacOS...
Or I'm totally wrong.



Barracuda
BarracudaUAK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 05:51 PM   #27
MrNishino
Watch
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 15
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default

I will give all this stuff a try this weekend when I get a chance and report back. And thanks once again!
MrNishino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 08:40 PM   #28
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,126
Downloads: 277
Uploads: 1


Default

Is your current Mac OS a 32-bit version? I'm not familiar with them at all anymore. If it is, I'm wondering if it can even address the require memory. I know the Mac addressing scheme is different from the Windows XP version, of which you can only use 3.25gig maximum anyway, no matter the addressing scheme, since the OS uses all of the rest.

All you need to do though is set the bits on the SH4.exe file... do you have a PC available that you could copy the SH4.exe to, even by sneaker-net, and set the bits on the PC with NTCore, copy it back to the Mac and see what happens?...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 09:26 PM   #29
MrNishino
Watch
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 15
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default

My Mac OS is 64 bit and allows 32 bit software to run, but when the next big OS version comes out that will end (per Apple’s announcement). I don’t have a PC, but that’s an interesting idea and I could give it a try. I’ll try that as well this weekend. Thanks!
MrNishino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 09:32 PM   #30
MrNishino
Watch
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 15
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default

Since I am planning on trying the Windows via Bootcamp method, I could try this once I have Windows running. I have an older retired Mac laying around where I was going to try Windows first (so I don’t have to have it on my newer one if I don’t like Windows).
MrNishino is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim