SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific > SH4 ATO Mods
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2010, 06:05 PM   #31
lurker_hlb3
Admiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Diego Calif
Posts: 2,290
Downloads: 185
Uploads: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtyACE View Post
Thanks again lurker

Have a couple more questions if you don't mind:

1. I noticed there are torpedoes on board. Can they actually be fired? I know the real Admiral Scheer did have these as well.

2. Is there any way to make the main 11 inch guns fire at a different target than what the rest of the guns are engaging? Or any way to make them not engage certain targets? I ask because I don't really want to waste the main ammunition on smaller ships like DDs and instead save it for fighting against other cruisers, BBs, or big merchants.

Quote:
1. I noticed there are torpedoes on board. Can they actually be fired? I know the real Admiral Scheer did have these as well.
Yes


Quote:
2. Is there any way to make the main 11 inch guns fire at a different target than what the rest of the guns are engaging? Or any way to make them not engage certain targets? I ask because I don't really want to waste the main ammunition on smaller ships like DDs and instead save it for fighting against other cruisers, BBs, or big merchants.

Using the binocular, sight the ship you want to engage , hit the "space bar" at the bottom of the keyboard, when the yellow triangle displays under the target the guns will then engage that target.
lurker_hlb3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 10:15 PM   #32
609_Avatar
Watch Officer
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: 3rd Planet From The Sun
Posts: 345
Downloads: 35
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lurker_hlb3 View Post
Not compatible with RFB
Thanks for the quick reply and for the work you've done!
__________________
Avatar
609_Avatar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 03:08 PM   #33
DirtyACE
Engineer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 213
Downloads: 28
Uploads: 0
Default

Lurker, I've also been meaning to ask you this. When I began my first patrol (Group West, September 1940), I was given two options regarding where on the map I would start out. One option was to start in port, in Gotenhafen, and the second option would start me off outside the port. I chose the first option, because I wanted to take a look at the port while sailing out. However, for some reason I started out outside Gotenhafen. Is this a bug or did I do something wrong when activating the mods in JGSME?
DirtyACE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 06:45 AM   #34
lurker_hlb3
Admiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Diego Calif
Posts: 2,290
Downloads: 185
Uploads: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtyACE View Post
Lurker, I've also been meaning to ask you this. When I began my first patrol (Group West, September 1940), I was given two options regarding where on the map I would start out. One option was to start in port, in Gotenhafen, and the second option would start me off outside the port. I chose the first option, because I wanted to take a look at the port while sailing out. However, for some reason I started out outside Gotenhafen. Is this a bug or did I do something wrong when activating the mods in JGSME?

This is as designed
lurker_hlb3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 11:52 AM   #35
609_Avatar
Watch Officer
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: 3rd Planet From The Sun
Posts: 345
Downloads: 35
Uploads: 0
Default

Just got to spend a little bit of time with this mod and what a refreshing change and blast to play! Thanks for your work again.

I have noticed one very minor issue though in the short time I've played it. If you happen to click on the batteries, O2, or CO2 buttons to see if there is anything there (don't ask me why I did, I guess out of habit from playing with subs exclusively ) and then go back to the fuel stat the red bar will not reappear. You have to keep you mouse over it to get any idea of how much fuel you have remaining.

I had missed the post about there being a patch that fixed the annoying alarm that will never shut off but have now seen that so the next time I play I won't want to stuff bananas in my ears to muffle it out.

Thanks again, fun little mod!

Oh yeah, mods installed are:

OpsMonsun_V705
OMv705_to_V720
OMv720_Patch1
OMEGU_v300_pkg
OMEGU_V300_Patch4_pkg
Csengoi's EnemiesOfGermany
AS_for_OMv102

Patch soon to follow.

Sept.1940 playing with Admiral Scheer career.
__________________
Avatar
609_Avatar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 08:44 PM   #36
DirtyACE
Engineer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 213
Downloads: 28
Uploads: 0
Default

At what point do you get transferred to France? Or does Gotenhafen remain your home port the entire war?
DirtyACE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 09:04 PM   #37
lurker_hlb3
Admiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Diego Calif
Posts: 2,290
Downloads: 185
Uploads: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtyACE View Post
At what point do you get transferred to France? Or does Gotenhafen remain your home port the entire war?

You need to read the first post again for your answer
lurker_hlb3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 10:22 PM   #38
DirtyACE
Engineer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 213
Downloads: 28
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lurker_hlb3 View Post
You need to read the first post again for your answer
Thanks lurker. Can't believe I missed that
DirtyACE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 08:47 AM   #39
609_Avatar
Watch Officer
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: 3rd Planet From The Sun
Posts: 345
Downloads: 35
Uploads: 0
Default

Okay, I've got a question that's probably stupid and obvious to everyone else that's using this mod but I'll ask anyway.

I'm on my 2nd patrol, about to leave the port area again, and after reading DirtyACE's post about his patrol it made me wonder what I've done wrong or am not doing. I've reread the first post and the readme in the support folder but am still clueless. How do you get other ships to travel with? My first patrol it was just me going around wrecking havoc all by myself. I'm not escorting anyone nor am I escorted. I've pressed F1 and see some keys for Convoy Command but the key assignments are already in use by the game.

OpsMonsun_V705
OMv705_to_V720
OMv720_Patch1
OMEGU_v300_pkg
OMEGU_V300_Patch4_pkg
AS_for_OMv102
AS_for_OMv102_Patch1
Csengoi's EnemiesOfGermany

I'm at port, Gotenhafen, it's Nov. 11th, 1940, using the AS.

Have I messed up anything with my install? Am I missing something really obvious and should feel dumber than usual? I know I shouldn't be going it alone because if I run into a task force I'll be history. Any tips would be greatly appreciated! Thanks.
__________________
Avatar
609_Avatar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 10:15 AM   #40
lurker_hlb3
Admiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Diego Calif
Posts: 2,290
Downloads: 185
Uploads: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 609_Avatar View Post
How do you get other ships to travel with?
You can't.

If you read up on the history of the Admiral Scheer you will find that in most case she traveled alone.
lurker_hlb3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 10:52 AM   #41
609_Avatar
Watch Officer
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: 3rd Planet From The Sun
Posts: 345
Downloads: 35
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lurker_hlb3 View Post
You can't.

If you read up on the history of the Admiral Scheer you will find that in most case she traveled alone.
Thanks for the reply. I was under the impression you could based on DirtyACE's post, thus the question. As far as reading is concerned, I would if I had more time... hell, I'd read up on a ton of things if I had the time (got a stack of books that haven't been touched in months- Real Life can be a pain at times...), I'm just happy that I have a bit of time to even play games like this! Thus the reason for posting here picking the brains of those in the know. Thanks again.
__________________
Avatar
609_Avatar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 05:03 AM   #42
kotlin
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Downloads: 9
Uploads: 0
Default

Sorry for noob question, but is it possible to play with that ship (and other surface ship mods) via LAN?? I mean that on one computer, player plays as a surface ship, and on the other the second player plays as a sub.

Last edited by kotlin; 03-10-2010 at 06:06 AM.
kotlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 06:42 AM   #43
lurker_hlb3
Admiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Diego Calif
Posts: 2,290
Downloads: 185
Uploads: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kotlin View Post
Sorry for noob question, but is it possible to play with that ship (and other surface ship mods) via LAN?? I mean that on one computer, player plays as a surface ship, and on the other the second player plays as a sub.
I have no idea. I never designed my mods to be played over a LAN
lurker_hlb3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 06:49 AM   #44
kotlin
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Downloads: 9
Uploads: 0
Default

So I just need to try but it would be great if something like this would be possible - much better then SHII and DC
kotlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 10:56 AM   #45
HerrKaleun
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: U.K
Posts: 7
Downloads: 33
Uploads: 0
Default

Does this work with campaign.
HerrKaleun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim