SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2018, 01:57 AM   #451
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 8,887
Downloads: 1007
Uploads: 0


Default

Hi KL
Individual games can be customized from the Nvidia control panel
Manage 3D settings
Program Settings
Add
Select the game you want to customize.
Make your changes.
Apply and Save

Peter
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2018, 08:33 PM   #452
Kpt. Lehmann
GWX Project Manager
 
Kpt. Lehmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Republic of Texas
Posts: 6,651
Downloads: 69
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by THEBERBSTER View Post
Hi KL
Individual games can be customized from the Nvidia control panel
Manage 3D settings
Program Settings
Add
Select the game you want to customize.
Make your changes.
Apply and Save

Peter

Unfortunately, that did not work. Thank you though, Berbster. Will try some more things when I have more time.
__________________


TheGreyWolves.com
It is better to live a short and meaningful life... than a long and miserable one.
Kpt. Lehmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2018, 09:05 AM   #453
Fifi
Ocean Warrior
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France - South West
Posts: 3,075
Downloads: 385
Uploads: 0


Default

This was the only solution to me to get pretty good AA and keeping the nice sun glare!
More than x4 multisampling automaticaly desable the sun glare.
__________________
https://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/2019/28/7/1563131204-om.jpg
Fifi Compilation for OM+OMEGU / Update 8 / Warm Clothes Mod / Weather Change Mod
Fifi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2018, 11:07 PM   #454
Kpt. Lehmann
GWX Project Manager
 
Kpt. Lehmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Republic of Texas
Posts: 6,651
Downloads: 69
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fifi View Post
This was the only solution to me to get pretty good AA and keeping the nice sun glare!
More than x4 multisampling automaticaly desable the sun glare.

Thank you Fifi. I am aware of that matter.


What seems to be happening, is that I am stuck at 2x Anti Aliasing setting, no matter what I do. It appears that my GFX card is not communicating with my Silent Hunter 3 and/or Silent Hunter 4 games. (I did a proper uninstall of everything via the original DVD.... to include manually deleting any residual files to ensure a new installation was clean. I also rebooted the system before re-installation, and restored Nvidia Control panel settings to default before re-installation of SH3 / SH4.)


My other games react beautifully in relation to Nvidia Control Panel settings.


I will try to attack this problem again next week... and may write down everything I have tried so far in hope of narrowing the problem. I've always been happy with the 4xAA setting (at least in SH3) because of the flat sun matter.


Thanks again to those who have attempted to help me so far.
__________________


TheGreyWolves.com
It is better to live a short and meaningful life... than a long and miserable one.
Kpt. Lehmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2018, 12:13 AM   #455
mwclarksr
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mooresville,Indiana
Posts: 7
Downloads: 21
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kpt. Lehmann View Post
Thank you Fifi. I am aware of that matter.


What seems to be happening, is that I am stuck at 2x Anti Aliasing setting, no matter what I do. It appears that my GFX card is not communicating with my Silent Hunter 3 and/or Silent Hunter 4 games. (I did a proper uninstall of everything via the original DVD.... to include manually deleting any residual files to ensure a new installation was clean. I also rebooted the system before re-installation, and restored Nvidia Control panel settings to default before re-installation of SH3 / SH4.)


My other games react beautifully in relation to Nvidia Control Panel settings.


I will try to attack this problem again next week... and may write down everything I have tried so far in hope of narrowing the problem. I've always been happy with the 4xAA setting (at least in SH3) because of the flat sun matter.


Thanks again to those who have attempted to help me so far.

It's been close to 10 years since I have had a Silent Hunter game installed on any PC of mine, and watching an old WWII movie got me to get SH4: Gold Edition. I used to have SH 3 & 4 years ago (over 10 years), now I'm back again.


Anyway, is there an update on your findings?
mwclarksr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2018, 08:02 PM   #456
Kpt. Lehmann
GWX Project Manager
 
Kpt. Lehmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Republic of Texas
Posts: 6,651
Downloads: 69
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mwclarksr View Post
It's been close to 10 years since I have had a Silent Hunter game installed on any PC of mine, and watching an old WWII movie got me to get SH4: Gold Edition. I used to have SH 3 & 4 years ago (over 10 years), now I'm back again.

Anyway, is there an update on your findings?
Hi mwclarksr,
Unfortunately, I have no update to post yet. Regular life has kept me away from spending much time at my keyboard lately.

If/when I find the solution that works for me, I'll make sure to post it here for you and/or anyone else it might be useful to.

Sorry about the lateness of this reply.
__________________


TheGreyWolves.com
It is better to live a short and meaningful life... than a long and miserable one.
Kpt. Lehmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2018, 11:33 AM   #457
Front Runner
Chief
 
Front Runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: FOTRSUv.* beta testing
Posts: 328
Downloads: 158
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kpt. Lehmann View Post
Hi mwclarksr,
Unfortunately, I have no update to post yet. Regular life has kept me away from spending much time at my keyboard lately.

If/when I find the solution that works for me, I'll make sure to post it here for you and/or anyone else it might be useful to.

Sorry about the lateness of this reply.

Try nVidia Inspector (Formerly nVidia Profile Inspector)
Link here
https://www.guru3d.com/files-details...-download.html



and.....



How to use it here
https://forums.guru3d.com/threads/nv...-guide.403676/
__________________
"It is well war is so terrible, lest we should grow too fond of it" - C.S.A. General Robert E. Lee
"Only the dead have seen the end of war" - Plato

Gone but not forgotten, RIP Dave.
Front Runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2018, 02:46 AM   #458
Niume
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 1,162
Downloads: 348
Uploads: 0
Default

I made the tweaks with nvidia inspector according to post 423 and these are results i am quite pleased.













__________________

Last edited by Niume; 12-28-2018 at 03:57 AM.
Niume is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2018, 11:30 AM   #459
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,157
Downloads: 277
Uploads: 1


Default

__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is online   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2019, 05:12 AM   #460
ConteBlecio
Seaman
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 34
Downloads: 410
Uploads: 0
Default

Sorry guys but I'm back here ... there is a way to eliminate those visual defects when you rotate the view from right to left (and vice versa) ... like jitters ... I can not explain myself better unfortunately. And I apologize for this.


Thanks!
ConteBlecio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2019, 09:02 AM   #461
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,157
Downloads: 277
Uploads: 1


Default

"Jitter" can sometimes be from the card being unable to keep up. Trying dialing back some of the settings in the game and testing. The sad thing about making graphics changes in the game is that you have to exit the game, and then re-start if for the changes to take effect, which can make for a long day of testing... Just try to have the display monitor's "Native" resolution match Windows, which will list it as the "Recommended resolution", which should match the game's resolution in the Game Settings. That eliminates any conversions between settings.
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is online   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2019, 10:34 AM   #462
ConteBlecio
Seaman
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 34
Downloads: 410
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi propbeanie,
when I change graphic settings it does not let me out of the game and it sets them directly.
The resolution is the same 1920x1080 @ 60 ... same as the game.
And it is among those suggested.
I did not try to change the resolution, but for now, all the changes in the graphics settings did not produce any results.
The card is a Radeon RX460 4Gb ... and knowing that the graphics engine is not without flaws ... it seems to me absurd to require a more performing card.
The system a Win7 i3-4360 @ 3.70 ghz, 8 GB ram.
These "jitters" obviously appear in port ... but they are a constant within the sub.
From the view of the turret I rarely find the problem ... and in any case much more bland, almost imperceptible.

Thank you!
ConteBlecio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim