SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2010, 10:13 PM   #1
timmyg00
中国水兵
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: The People's Republic of Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 286
Downloads: 42
Uploads: 0
Default Sonar station problem

Hi,

Stop me if you've heard this one before. Well... help me first, then stop me.

I just got a shiny new Gato class boat and am starting a patrol out of Pearl. When i go to PD to check my sonar station for contacts, i find that i am unable to click inside the bearing dial to train the sonar head, like i could on my previous boat. Instead, when i click there, i lose the cursor, and it pans around the compartment as i move the mouse. So now i can't do my own sonar searches.

I'm running SH4 1.5 w/RSRDC, no other mods, 88% realism. Everything has been great until now.

Has anyone seen this before? Any suggestions?

Thanks!

TG
__________________
ET1/SS, SSN-760
USSVI Marblehead Base (MA)

Naval Historical Sites - Photo Galleries
timmyg00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 12:38 AM   #2
thor headsplitter
Watch
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 18
Downloads: 65
Uploads: 0
Default sonar

This happens to me sometimes also. I just turn to face the sonar and left click to get the cursor back and try again. the Home and End keys will also turn the sonar.





ET1/SS SS 576 SSN 677 SSN 688
thor headsplitter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 01:08 AM   #3
WernherVonTrapp
Admiral
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Now, alot farther from NYC.
Posts: 2,254
Downloads: 105
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timmyg00 View Post
Hi,

Stop me if you've heard this one before. Well... help me first, then stop me.

I just got a shiny new Gato class boat and am starting a patrol out of Pearl. When i go to PD to check my sonar station for contacts, i find that i am unable to click inside the bearing dial to train the sonar head, like i could on my previous boat. Instead, when i click there, i lose the cursor, and it pans around the compartment as i move the mouse. So now i can't do my own sonar searches.

I'm running SH4 1.5 w/RSRDC, no other mods, 88% realism. Everything has been great until now.

Has anyone seen this before? Any suggestions?

Thanks!

TG
When you lose the cursor, just click the screen again, the cursor will reappear, then you should be able to scroll the mousewheel and regain your sonar ability. There is a small dead spot on the left top portion of the screen, right around the bearing pad, where you can't scroll the sonar dial with the mousewheel. At least, that has been my experience with all versions so far.
__________________
"The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step."
-Miyamoto Musashi
-------------------------------------------------------
"What is truth?"
-Pontius Pilate
WernherVonTrapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 08:04 AM   #4
timmyg00
中国水兵
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: The People's Republic of Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 286
Downloads: 42
Uploads: 0
Default

thanks guys, that was helpful!!

TG
__________________
ET1/SS, SSN-760
USSVI Marblehead Base (MA)

Naval Historical Sites - Photo Galleries
timmyg00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 10:06 PM   #5
TwinStackPete379
Gunner
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: In my chair playing SHIV
Posts: 99
Downloads: 32
Uploads: 0
Default

i have had this problem too. I end up using the home end keys and the mouse scroll wheel for fine tuning bearing. I find the scroll wheel is much better than the originally intended UI. I can't remember how i found the scroll wheel option, 'cause i remember going mad trying to get correct bearing with the home/end keys.
__________________
TwinStackPete379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 12:05 PM   #6
mrmsje
Nub
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Fremont, California
Posts: 2
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Icon7 I keep getting "Current depth 20 ft" but not sure why.

Is anyone else getting this message/voice in SH4?
How do I stop getting this message?
Thanks.

Not sure if this is the right place to ask...very new to this board.
mrmsje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 12:57 PM   #7
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,126
Downloads: 277
Uploads: 1


Default

You would be better off starting your own thread, due to the difference in topic especially. However, we can work with this... First of all, where do you have the game installed - in other words, which folder? Do you have any mods activated? Do you happen to know which version of the game you are using (ie: v1.3, v1.4, v1.5 etc)? Are the sea conditions really rough, like 15ms winds, and sea breaking over the fairweather? The constant reporting of depth happens when the boat is unstable, and I do remember and earlier version of the game having that issue, but I do not recall which one it was... been too long. But a mod issue can also do similar, especially if you activated a mod that is not compatible with your current game version, or if the Save folder is messed-up from some other issue...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 01:01 PM   #8
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 15,269
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0


Default Welcome aboard!

mrmsje! belatedly. We missed U on 7/30.
__________________
"Only two things are infinite: The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe..." Philip K. Dick
Aktungbby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 02:33 PM   #9
von Zelda
Samurai Navy
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 563
Downloads: 160
Uploads: 0
Default Sonar Fix for GATO

TimmyG00

For a stock only Silent Hunter 4 game patched to v1.5, the fix is Gato Sonar Bearing Fix_Stock (http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=4099)

The link for OTC_Gato Sonar Bearing Fix (http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=4098)

This should fix your problem; both cursor & home & end keys will work.
von Zelda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim