SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > General > Comments to SUBSIM Review
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-26-2020, 01:06 PM   #31
Mad Mardigan
Captain
 
Mad Mardigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Grand Rapids, Mi.
Posts: 500
Downloads: 253
Uploads: 0


Default Re: Following a link in a forum post, showing up as NOT being signed in... part deux

Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkel Neal View Post
Ok, so like this?




Yeah, just as the vid shows.

Know that I signed in, got confirm that I was logged in, went to the forum post, clicked on the link to the item in the downloads section, when that page finally loaded up... it said in order to do anything (view the download, much less to download) said I had to sign in... even though I had done so.

Like I mentioned... no idea if that is occurring with any other links that direct you to the downloads section or not... I noticed that it occurred with that 1, in particular...

You did ask to point out any issues that occur & that is what I did...

Letting it be known of, so that it can be looked at to correct so that it doesn't occur.

M. M.

__________________
Mad Mardigan is online   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 02:08 PM   #32
Gray Lensman
Frogman
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 293
Downloads: 90
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkel Neal View Post
What browser are you using? Mobile device or PC? Apple or Windows?


<snip>

I use Mozilla's FireFox with DuckDuckGo as a search engine. I temporarily tried subsim.com using Windows 10 Edge and it does comes up, so for some reason your new location does not like FireFox which works with every other site I use it for including your old site. That's a shame though. I won't be switching because FireFox add-ons allow me to block the constant bombardment of ads and associated malware on YouTube and elsewhere.
__________________
.

Member since February 2007

Wargaming since 1971 (1st game Avalon Hill's Stalingrad)

Hobby/Gaming Computng since 1977 (TRS-80) (adhoc programming & game modding ever since)
Gray Lensman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 03:14 PM   #33
stoppro
Weps
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: hollywood FL
Posts: 350
Downloads: 470
Uploads: 0


Default

I have no problems with firefox and subsim. works perfect with all the add on enabled.
__________________
win 10 64-asusm4a89tdpro-8gigcorsiar ddr3-amd X6-1090T6CORE-evgagtx1070-corsair850watt-2-ssd 500 gig drives
stoppro is online   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 03:26 PM   #34
Gray Lensman
Frogman
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 293
Downloads: 90
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoppro View Post
I have no problems with firefox and subsim. works perfect with all the add on enabled.

Interesting... So I switched the search engine to google instead of duckduckgo and the problem persists.


edit> I even temporarily disabled my addon Adblocks and it still persists.


Not a real issue since I hardly ever visit the home page of subsim.com. I was mainly using it as my entry into the forums to reduce shortcuts.
__________________
.

Member since February 2007

Wargaming since 1971 (1st game Avalon Hill's Stalingrad)

Hobby/Gaming Computng since 1977 (TRS-80) (adhoc programming & game modding ever since)
Gray Lensman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 03:37 PM   #35
Onkel Neal
Born to Run Silent
 
Onkel Neal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Cougar Trap, Texas
Posts: 19,687
Downloads: 454
Uploads: 210


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gray Lensman View Post
I use Mozilla's FireFox with DuckDuckGo as a search engine. I temporarily tried subsim.com using Windows 10 Edge and it does comes up, so for some reason your new location does not like FireFox which works with every other site I use it for including your old site. That's a shame though. I won't be switching because FireFox add-ons allow me to block the constant bombardment of ads and associated malware on YouTube and elsewhere.
Ok, I am trying to recreate your situation but still not having any luck. What am I overlooking? What FF add ons are you using?

Firefox can't load websites but other browsers can



Onkel Neal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 03:43 PM   #36
Onkel Neal
Born to Run Silent
 
Onkel Neal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Cougar Trap, Texas
Posts: 19,687
Downloads: 454
Uploads: 210


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Mardigan View Post
Despite knowing that I was logged in, I followed up on a link to the download section, BUT.. when the page finished loading up, the site swore that I was NOT logged in.


Here is the post & the link in it, that this occurred:

https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/sho...postcount=2058

Should be fixed now, thanks.
Onkel Neal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 03:44 PM   #37
Onkel Neal
Born to Run Silent
 
Onkel Neal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Cougar Trap, Texas
Posts: 19,687
Downloads: 454
Uploads: 210


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gray Lensman View Post
Interesting... So I switched the search engine to google instead of duckduckgo and the problem persists.


edit> I even temporarily disabled my addon Adblocks and it still persists.


Not a real issue since I hardly ever visit the home page of subsim.com. I was mainly using it as my entry into the forums to reduce shortcuts.
If it something I can fix, I want to fix it.
Onkel Neal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 03:52 PM   #38
Gray Lensman
Frogman
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 293
Downloads: 90
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkel Neal View Post
If it something I can fix, I want to fix it.

Whatever it is, it only affects your front end page. subsim.com.


edit> the FireFox addons that I'm using are Adblock for YouTube and Adblock Plus, BUT I disabled them and the problem persisted as stated above, so I don't think it's the addons.



I can use the search engine to bring up your listing "subsim" via the search engine and click on any one of the separate links for Downloads, Forum, Game Store, Classic Subsims, Reviews, and Links and they all work just fine, other than your subsim.com/index.php link which subsim.com defaults to when entered in the browser http entry area.
__________________
.

Member since February 2007

Wargaming since 1971 (1st game Avalon Hill's Stalingrad)

Hobby/Gaming Computng since 1977 (TRS-80) (adhoc programming & game modding ever since)

Last edited by Gray Lensman; 10-26-2020 at 04:01 PM.
Gray Lensman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 04:01 PM   #39
stoppro
Weps
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: hollywood FL
Posts: 350
Downloads: 470
Uploads: 0


Default

try clearing the cauche. there no reason that should be happening
__________________
win 10 64-asusm4a89tdpro-8gigcorsiar ddr3-amd X6-1090T6CORE-evgagtx1070-corsair850watt-2-ssd 500 gig drives
stoppro is online   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 04:06 PM   #40
Gray Lensman
Frogman
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 293
Downloads: 90
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoppro View Post
try clearing the cauche. there no reason that should be happening

Bingo. That did the trick. We're set to go now'


Thanks and Regards
__________________
.

Member since February 2007

Wargaming since 1971 (1st game Avalon Hill's Stalingrad)

Hobby/Gaming Computng since 1977 (TRS-80) (adhoc programming & game modding ever since)
Gray Lensman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 04:12 PM   #41
Onkel Neal
Born to Run Silent
 
Onkel Neal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Cougar Trap, Texas
Posts: 19,687
Downloads: 454
Uploads: 210


Default

Problem solved. Thanks stoppro. There's a reason why you are so highly regarded.
Onkel Neal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 05:11 PM   #42
stoppro
Weps
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: hollywood FL
Posts: 350
Downloads: 470
Uploads: 0


Default

glad to help- i know rebooting a site is a pia
__________________
win 10 64-asusm4a89tdpro-8gigcorsiar ddr3-amd X6-1090T6CORE-evgagtx1070-corsair850watt-2-ssd 500 gig drives
stoppro is online   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 06:12 PM   #43
Gerald
SUBSIM Newsman
 
Gerald's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Long way from peace.
Posts: 24,058
Downloads: 538
Uploads: 0


Icon14

Neal! I got the picture now on a another positive view, thanks!
__________________
Nothing in life is to be feard,it is only to be understood.

Marie Curie





Gerald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 06:22 PM   #44
skidman
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Near the Dutch mountains
Posts: 1,055
Downloads: 85
Uploads: 0
Default

When editing a post and clicking the small thingies for adding picts, urls, smilies etc. nothing is inserted. Typing the corresponding code () gives the proper result.

Tested on macOS (Safari / Firefox) and Win10 (Firefox). Browser cache was emptied to no avail.

Cheers
skid
__________________

"In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move.” (Douglas Adams)
skidman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2020, 10:29 AM   #45
Onkel Neal
Born to Run Silent
 
Onkel Neal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Cougar Trap, Texas
Posts: 19,687
Downloads: 454
Uploads: 210


Default

Testing


Quote:
When editing a post and clicking the small thingies for adding picts, urls, smilies etc. nothing is inserted. Typing the corresponding code () gives the proper result.




google.com

Link to google

Testing

more tests of font size


Editing here, adding smilies, images










linked image
Onkel Neal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2021 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.