SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2010, 09:58 AM   #121
iambecomelife
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4,066
Downloads: 249
Uploads: 0


Default

I'm glad to see some people have it working; I will continue testing the rest of this weekend to improve compatibility - especially with GWX 3.0. Sorry that some people have been disappointed.

I will have illustrations of all ships available in an improved PDF recognition manual (I released one about 2 years ago, but there have been many changes since then).

Quote:
Originally Posted by denis_469 View Post
What about soviet ships?
There are several soviet ships included, mostly freighters. You will encounter them at random, based on spawn rates of generic cargo ships.
__________________
iambecomelife is online   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 09:59 AM   #122
pickinthebanjo
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 651
Downloads: 281
Uploads: 0
Default

I'm running an old POS laptop with an AMD Sempron (2.1G) 4GB Ram Vista 32B and an Integrated Video card
pickinthebanjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 10:03 AM   #123
Fubar2Niner
Silent Hunter
 
Fubar2Niner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London. UK
Posts: 4,399
Downloads: 260
Uploads: 0


Default

@IABL

Great news on the recognition manual, loving your magnificent work. Just popped the skins into SH3Commander, going to check the results after the England game tonight. Kudos and salute

Best regards.

Fubar2Niner
Fubar2Niner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 10:03 AM   #124
pickinthebanjo
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 651
Downloads: 281
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fubar2Niner View Post
@pickinthebanjo

At which point do you get a CTD? And how much ram do you have? I'm running 6 gig here and installed 3.0 at the end of my mods list as I posted here:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...9&postcount=81

Also I'm using the 4 GB patch, don't know if you've tried that ? Are you running 32 or 64 bit OS? It can be found here:

http://www.ntcore.com/4gb_patch.php

Just follow the instructions. Good luck and hope this helps mate.

Best regards.

Fubar2Niner
Well I like that mod list you posted so I will probably use it, do you know where I can find "Urfischs_ModStrike_Beta1"?
pickinthebanjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 10:14 AM   #125
Fubar2Niner
Silent Hunter
 
Fubar2Niner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London. UK
Posts: 4,399
Downloads: 260
Uploads: 0


Default

@pickinthebanjo

Here:

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=157581

or here:

ftp://maikhaas.dyndns.org/Volume_1/S...TYMODS/URFISH/

BTW at which point do you CTD mate?


Best regards.

Fubar2Niner
Fubar2Niner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 10:20 AM   #126
pickinthebanjo
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 651
Downloads: 281
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fubar2Niner View Post
@pickinthebanjo

Here:

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=157581

or here:

ftp://maikhaas.dyndns.org/Volume_1/S...TYMODS/URFISH/

BTW at which point do you CTD mate?


Best regards.

Fubar2Niner
Oh yeah, Right after career loads. I was out of the room at that moment but all the other times (Except one) it crashed right after loading a new career
pickinthebanjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 10:37 AM   #127
Fubar2Niner
Silent Hunter
 
Fubar2Niner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London. UK
Posts: 4,399
Downloads: 260
Uploads: 0


Default

@pickinthebanjo

Try the 4gb patch then mate, not 100% it will work but then again it won't hurt. I used to have the same prob running with BBW's Wilhelms' mod till I used the patch, never looked back since. Good luck mate.

Best regards.

Fubar2Niner
Fubar2Niner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 12:37 PM   #128
pickinthebanjo
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 651
Downloads: 281
Uploads: 0
Default

Got another CTD, I think I'm going to try a Manual install Ship by Ship and see what exactly is causing the crash
pickinthebanjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 02:17 PM   #129
denis_469
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Russia
Posts: 660
Downloads: 47
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iambecomelife View Post
I'm glad to see some people have it working; I will continue testing the rest of this weekend to improve compatibility - especially with GWX 3.0. Sorry that some people have been disappointed.

I will have illustrations of all ships available in an improved PDF recognition manual (I released one about 2 years ago, but there have been many changes since then).



There are several soviet ships included, mostly freighters. You will encounter them at random, based on spawn rates of generic cargo ships.
Thank. I'm d/l you another excellent work.
denis_469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 04:07 PM   #130
Sailor Steve
Too old for his own good.
 
Sailor Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: High in the mountains of Utah
Posts: 51,498
Downloads: 745
Uploads: 250


Default

I've been testing all day today. As I said, I did a complete reinstall of SH3 and GWX.

I installed MFM and some other mods that add ships, and had crashes, so I carefully tested each combination.

So far MFM works fine with GWX Community Units, but I get a conflict between MFM and GWX 3 Naz and Schleuse and Other Units. Either one of those loads fine by itself, but together they cause a crash about 7/8 of the way through loading a campaign.

I'll keep experimenting, as the St Naz is just as important to me as MFM.
__________________
“Never do anything you can't take back.”
—Rocky Russo
Sailor Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 05:11 PM   #131
melnibonian
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Reading UK
Posts: 3,473
Downloads: 90
Uploads: 0
Default

I have no problems using MFM and BBW/WB St. Nazaire (plus ships etc) mods. Career and Museum are loading fine without any issues. It takes too long to load but it does load.

What I have noticed is that my game became quite unstable using the MFM, as I experience CTDs during play (while at sea) much more often than before.
melnibonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 07:21 PM   #132
iambecomelife
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4,066
Downloads: 249
Uploads: 0


Default

I am uploading a beta "light" version that is stable with GWX 3.0. If you are having problems, try using this version for now.

It does not contain the neutral merchants, so do not use the neutral skin packs with it. It also contains a different version of Merchant M01B, so to keep this particular ship from having strange textures you may want to delete the skin pack's replacement skins for this ship (entirely optional).
__________________
iambecomelife is online   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 07:33 PM   #133
Reece
CINC Pacific Fleet
 
Reece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Down Under
Posts: 25,404
Downloads: 171
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iambecomelife View Post
I found one ship that is a probable source of CTD's due to ID conflicts (the Liberty Ship). My theory is that supermods and/or other mods have different hex ID's due to their being designed for the original Liberty, and not my improved version. When the game "notices" that the improved Liberty's DAT file has different ID's it crashes.

I will remove the Liberty and make a few other changes, reupload, and test. I'm currently installing a fresh GWX install to do more MFM testing on.
What is the ships name (L01B etc), will remove this from sea and roster folder, since I have download problems might be easier.
__________________

Sub captains go down with their ship!
Reece is online   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 08:22 PM   #134
iambecomelife
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4,066
Downloads: 249
Uploads: 0


Default

Get the light version here, if you are experiencing problems with the full version:

http://www.filefront.com/16730755/MFM-Interim-Beta.7z


Quote:
Originally Posted by Reece View Post
What is the ships name (L01B etc), will remove this from sea and roster folder, since I have download problems might be easier.
Never mind; I just got the Liberty to appear in Museum with a GWX 3.0 install, so this is probably not the issue. My mistake.
__________________
iambecomelife is online   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 11:59 PM   #135
pickinthebanjo
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 651
Downloads: 281
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iambecomelife View Post
Get the light version here, if you are experiencing problems with the full version.
Seem's to work, I hardly tested it but in that time I noticed no problems (Except one ship in the Recognition manual has no picture)
Good work, and I was unable to find the readme for using Commander to add the skins so If someone either wants to post it or PM me that would be great.

Last edited by pickinthebanjo; 06-13-2010 at 01:26 AM.
pickinthebanjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2020 Subsim