SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH5 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2021, 08:09 PM   #13681
Alpheratz
Gunner
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Russia
Posts: 91
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0


Default

Thanks a lot to everyone who made the effort to update 2.2.23!

I must report the discovered bug that you can fix yourself if you need to. The Page layout.py file contains incorrect SEXTANTSUNDIAMETER = 1.83 and SEXTANTMOONDIAMETER = 1.83 values (must be SEXTANTSUNDIAMETER = 1.61555555555, SEXTANTMOONDIAMETER = 1.5125) in two cases:

C:\Ubisoft\Silent Hunter 5\TWoS_Parts\TWoS Campaign Advance Verifier_Testing\TWoS_Parts\TWoS Real Navigation\TWoS_Parts\TWoS Real Navigation_New Sextant\data\Scripts\Menu

C:\Ubisoft\Silent Hunter 5\TWoS_Parts\TWoS Real Navigation\TWoS_Parts\TWoS Real Navigation_New Sextant\TWoS_Parts\TWoS Campaign Advance Verifier_Testing\data\Scripts\Menu

This will lead to erroneous measurements of the Sun if TWoS Campaign Advance Verifier_Testing is activated both before activating TWoS Real Navigation_New Sextant and after activating this mod.

If you are not using TWoS Campaign Advance Verifier_Testing, then nothing needs to be fixed.

Last edited by Alpheratz; 03-03-2021 at 08:38 PM.
Alpheratz is online   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2021, 10:11 AM   #13682
vdr1981
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 6,059
Downloads: 571
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpheratz View Post
Thanks a lot to everyone who made the effort to update 2.2.23!

I must report the discovered bug that you can fix yourself if you need to. The Page layout.py file contains incorrect SEXTANTSUNDIAMETER = 1.83 and SEXTANTMOONDIAMETER = 1.83 values (must be SEXTANTSUNDIAMETER = 1.61555555555, SEXTANTMOONDIAMETER = 1.5125) in two cases:

C:\Ubisoft\Silent Hunter 5\TWoS_Parts\TWoS Campaign Advance Verifier_Testing\TWoS_Parts\TWoS Real Navigation\TWoS_Parts\TWoS Real Navigation_New Sextant\data\Scripts\Menu

C:\Ubisoft\Silent Hunter 5\TWoS_Parts\TWoS Real Navigation\TWoS_Parts\TWoS Real Navigation_New Sextant\TWoS_Parts\TWoS Campaign Advance Verifier_Testing\data\Scripts\Menu

This will lead to erroneous measurements of the Sun if TWoS Campaign Advance Verifier_Testing is activated both before activating TWoS Real Navigation_New Sextant and after activating this mod.

If you are not using TWoS Campaign Advance Verifier_Testing, then nothing needs to be fixed.
Yes, I've completely forgot about that, it'll be solved quite soon...Thank you Alpheratz!
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2021, 12:50 PM   #13683
Macgregor the Hammer
Chief
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 325
Downloads: 465
Uploads: 1
SHO

I'm going to install TWoS 2.2.23 and I chose to get wipe clean and start fresh. Something was wrong with the original install, which was done in Aug of last year. I'm not sure what happened, but there were some peculiar behaviors that didn't match any of the known bugs.

I have a question regarding installation. I have the Steam version of the game. The process needed to use for downloading and installation was getting the key from Steam and then going to Ubisoft to download it. I'm not clear if anyone else has to install in this fashion. I'm not sure if my game would be considered Steam, Ubi or both. This poses a question:

One of the bullet points says that if the game is a Ubi download, it needs to have the executive replaced. (I have the SH5.exe downloaded).

The rest of the installation document is pretty straight forward. If there any other caveats, let me know. I really wish that I bought the DVD instead of having Steam/Ubi keeping a tight leash on everything!

Thanks in advance,
MacGregor

OS: Win 7 64 bit SP1
Graphics: GTX 660 Ti
CPU: Intel Core Duo 1.66G
Generic Intel Mobo
8Gig DDR3 Ram
__________________
"It's impossible to make anything fool proof....Fools are too ingenious!"
Macgregor the Hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2021, 01:35 PM   #13684
kapuhy
Mechanic
 
kapuhy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 554
Downloads: 54
Uploads: 2


Default

@vdr1981,

Installed 2.2.23 and noticed two little things with Quarterdecker merchant:

- it still uses huge 4MB texture files I created initially in wrong .dds settings. Thanks to info from Rosomaha, I've since replaced them with four times smaller texture files with no quality loss. You'll find corrected textures here:

Quarterdecker texture files

- it's not in British roster? This might be my oversight when uploading my mod, but anyway, if any country should have this ship it's Britain - it is, after all, a British design and while other countries bought or copied these a lot, majority of them was still built in British yards.
kapuhy is online   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 05:21 AM   #13685
Propnut17
Seaman
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 36
Downloads: 48
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Macgregor the Hammer View Post
I have a question regarding installation. I have the Steam version of the game.
Thanks in advance,
MacGregor
I currently run the Steam/Ubisoft version. At my last full install I deleted all traces of SH5 and made sure using Ccleaner. Signed into Steam and downloaded their SH5 version. Ran SH5 after installation and noted the Ubisoft popup. After making sure all looked good, set Ubisoft to offline mode and proceeded to install ToWS. In the end all works just as intended. I made no changes to SH.EXE.
Propnut17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 07:06 AM   #13686
vdr1981
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 6,059
Downloads: 571
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kapuhy View Post

- it's not in British roster? This might be my oversight when uploading my mod, but anyway, if any country should have this ship it's Britain - it is, after all, a British design and while other countries bought or copied these a lot, majority of them was still built in British yards.
Since British 108 type ships are used in some large slow moving convoys I removed it intentionally. It would be quite strange to see this fragile ships in the middle of the Atlantic IMO...
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 07:12 AM   #13687
kapuhy
Mechanic
 
kapuhy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 554
Downloads: 54
Uploads: 2


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vdr1981 View Post
Since British 108 type ships are used in some large slow moving convoys I removed it intentionally. It would be quite strange to see this fragile ships in the middle of the Atlantic IMO...
That's a bummer... how about manually placing it in british coastal shipping groups, would this cause any problems? (I could do it if you don't have time and send you files).
kapuhy is online   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 07:15 AM   #13688
vdr1981
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 6,059
Downloads: 571
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kapuhy View Post
That's a bummer... how about manually placing it in british coastal shipping groups, would this cause any problems? (I could do it if you don't have time and send you files).
I could create type 104 clone and add it to the British roster, yes that would work...
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 08:31 AM   #13689
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 8,029
Downloads: 781
Uploads: 10


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vdr1981 View Post
Since British 108 type ships are used in some large slow moving convoys I removed it intentionally. It would be quite strange to see this fragile ships in the middle of the Atlantic IMO...
Hi Vecko, just a thought, but wouldn't it be better if "rare" and "elite" unit types were removed from generic traffic and only used for special purposes in scripted traffic? If need be, they could be used in convoys too, but by calling them by class
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 09:02 AM   #13690
kapuhy
Mechanic
 
kapuhy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 554
Downloads: 54
Uploads: 2


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
Hi Vecko, just a thought, but wouldn't it be better if "rare" and "elite" unit types were removed from generic traffic and only used for special purposes in scripted traffic? If need be, they could be used in convoys too, but by calling them by class
This came up earlier in discussion about coastal vessels - iirc, in TWoS "rare" and "elite" ships are already used for other types of traffic (108, "rare cargo" is for smaller/slower cargo vessels sailing in small convoys or alone, where big freighters would be out of place).

Still, withdrawing one type (preferably least used one) from any generic traffic whatsoever and only using it for manually calling it by class for "special purposes" might be a good idea, though probably lot of work to implement (because it would first require rewriting composition of each group that currently uses the type...)
kapuhy is online   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 09:10 AM   #13691
Demon777
Machinist's Mate
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Russia
Posts: 129
Downloads: 72
Uploads: 0
Default

I've noticed that in v2.2.23 I still have a few US destroyers escorting British convoys (Mare Nostrum chapter).
As far as I remember, it was in the changelog that those were removed in early-1941 from British convoys?
Demon777 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 09:27 AM   #13692
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 8,029
Downloads: 781
Uploads: 10


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kapuhy View Post
This came up earlier in discussion about coastal vessels - iirc, in TWoS "rare" and "elite" ships are already used for other types of traffic (108, "rare cargo" is for smaller/slower cargo vessels sailing in small convoys or alone, where big freighters would be out of place).

Still, withdrawing one type (preferably least used one) from any generic traffic whatsoever and only using it for manually calling it by class for "special purposes" might be a good idea, though probably lot of work to implement (because it would first require rewriting composition of each group that currently uses the type...)
The sad truth is that we have not enough unit types. I am sure this is a question which has been asked many times, but who knows if we can add other types to the game?

Else, another possible workaround might be duplicating some nations. I already did it when I set up (for OHII) "free" nation duplicates whose ships can be legitimately sunk even though the relative "main" nation if friendly or neutral. I also plan to do it for Royal Fleet Auxiliary, whose vessels (oilers, tenders, lighters, landing ships, etc) sailed under the Blue Ensign defaced with an anchor.

The one problems I see with this trick, is that we would see the "fake" nations in museum, and that - in SOAN - ship classes which are assigned to the roster of two copies of the same nation, would have the flag of that nation repeated two or more times.
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/

Last edited by gap; 03-08-2021 at 09:45 AM.
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 10:08 AM   #13693
Macgregor the Hammer
Chief
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 325
Downloads: 465
Uploads: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Propnut17 View Post
I currently run the Steam/Ubisoft version. At my last full install I deleted all traces of SH5 and made sure using Ccleaner. Signed into Steam and downloaded their SH5 version. Ran SH5 after installation and noted the Ubisoft popup. After making sure all looked good, set Ubisoft to offline mode and proceeded to install ToWS. In the end all works just as intended. I made no changes to SH.EXE.
Thanks for the input. I followed the your installation technique and I am running the game without overwriting SH5.exe. I still have Ubisoft popping up when it's looking for save games. I've been playing historical mission without any strange hiccups. I'm confident enough with the install that I'm going to start loading mods and start a career.
__________________
"It's impossible to make anything fool proof....Fools are too ingenious!"
Macgregor the Hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 02:14 PM   #13694
Mad Mardigan
Seasoned Skipper
 
Mad Mardigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Grand Rapids, Mi.
Posts: 731
Downloads: 264
Uploads: 0


SHO

Quote:
Originally Posted by Macgregor the Hammer View Post
Thanks for the input. I followed the your installation technique and I am running the game without overwriting SH5.exe. I still have Ubisoft popping up when it's looking for save games. I've been playing historical mission without any strange hiccups. I'm confident enough with the install that I'm going to start loading mods and start a career.
Ahoy, Mac...

Yeah, about that...

The Ubi pop up, I believe.. is hard coded into SH5 flat out. Going into the Uplay.. erhm.. correction, now called Ubi Connect... & setting things to off as it relates to updating & setting it into offline, short circuits its raging need to phone home to mama... In game, it'll still run the looking for history saves, but not finding any, will then move along & allow you to continue.

Am sure either VDR or Gap... or 1 of the other old hats, can confirm or correct on that... am fairly confident, I have that understood right, as I outlined it...

M. M.

__________________
Mad Mardigan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2021, 12:08 PM   #13695
LCQ_SH
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 268
Downloads: 172
Uploads: 0
radar Digital recognition manual

Hi everyone

Would there be a digital (PDF) version of TWOS's recognition manual? Or any ideas how could it be possible to make one (somehow easy way).

Tnx!
LCQ_SH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2021 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.