SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Sub/Naval + Other Games > Classic Subsims
Forget password? Reset here

Get ready for a whole new level of realism!
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-24-17, 09:29 AM   #1
swellfella
Seaman
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: East US
Posts: 31
Downloads: 465
Uploads: 0
Default Enigma Rising Tide Gold vs Windows 10 64bit

Ahoy-

Dickens of time running this gem on Win 10. Get splash screen, menu options, hit patrol, then: Enigma has stopped working "..we'll read tea leaves and git right back to ya." Yeah. Thing is, non-Gold loads and behaves just fine. But, IMHO, Gold is the only way to go...far more immersive, pretty, etc. (The patch on the non-Gold? Some things are better left not having been done).

Tried the VM route. Worse. Cant even boot the splash screen. Thing just lays there flat as dead flounder. Did the compatability thing in both instances. No joy, nowhere.

Now I know some of sea dawgs are playing the thing. Just like to know if its Gold or not and under what operation configs, etc. Sure would like to get this old tub up and runnin.
__________________
This shark, swallow you whole; No shakin', no tenderisin', down you go. -Quint
swellfella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-19, 11:37 AM   #2
Ferrit1981
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 5
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

Hey,


Replying to your old post but did you ever get Enigma to work on WIN 10 64 bit?
Im having the same ol trouble.
Ferrit1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-19, 09:20 PM   #3
Polak2
Watch Officer
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 344
Downloads: 55
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
did you ever get Enigma to work on WIN 10 64 bit?
I did! and found quite a lot of fun and enjoyment in this old and nearly forgotten game. On the current fast computer, it runs like a charm. Graphics are little dated, however quite tolerable considering how old this title is. Ship models are nice and wish only that they could be moded. Same with ocean and sky, but one should not complain considering it is free here. Highly recommended.
Polak2 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-19, 06:18 PM   #4
Ferrit1981
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 5
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

awesome news, do you remember how,

Please enlighten me!
Ferrit1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-19, 06:39 PM   #5
Polak2
Watch Officer
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 344
Downloads: 55
Uploads: 0


Default

Actually, I did nothing but run setup file contained in available here ERTGold. The program installed and configured flawlessly. However, I must admit that at some point it crashed during scenario so currently, I changed compatibility to XP SP3 and tried again this time without any problem. I installed it also to run as an administrator.
Polak2 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-19, 04:11 AM   #6
Ferrit1981
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 5
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

unfortunately i cant get ERTGold to install under any compatibility or setting.
setuplancherx32 bit just sits idle on task manager.


Ill just have to settle for Silent Hunter 5.
Ferrit1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-19, 07:25 AM   #7
Polak2
Watch Officer
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 344
Downloads: 55
Uploads: 0


Default

Hard for me to guess what could be wrong...
Just to give you more info here is the link to archive forum posts about ERT , perhaps you would be able to find some hints there. However, it is old and now defunct forum and I am afraid that much pre Win 10...

https://www.tidesofwar.net/forums/fo...-tide-archive/
Polak2 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-19, 01:14 PM   #8
Ferrit1981
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 5
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

Many thanks for your input.
I will have a nosey.
Ferrit1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-19, 07:23 AM   #9
swellfella
Seaman
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: East US
Posts: 31
Downloads: 465
Uploads: 0
Default

Dated, perhaps, but with hope this will be of some value to those who try as they will, can not get the the old puppy to kick on Win 10 64b. But, of course---it does.

Seems once I had decided to fire it up from the setup files which I had stored on an external drive, it wouldn't run. Now this was the same file from which I had installed it initially those many years ago. But no matter what I did, it would just sit after clicking autorun. Then I noticed there was no setup file! Duh! Now how that happened I haven't the slightest -- tho I distinctly remember copy-and-paste from the original media.

Be that as it may, once I used the media provided here at Subsim it installed beautifully and played flawlessly. I don't know what's at the bottom of others who found difficulty installing, but I suggest you search and use the media provided thankfully without cost here at Subsim.
__________________
This shark, swallow you whole; No shakin', no tenderisin', down you go. -Quint
swellfella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-20, 03:13 PM   #10
nesop276
Nub
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0
Default Enigma Rising Tide Windows 10

Enigma will run, I believe it has the same issue as Dangerous Waters. A download of the dll fix for DW fixes Enigma
nesop276 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-20, 05:22 PM   #11
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 23,994
Downloads: 22
Uploads: 0


Default Welcome back!

nesop276! after a long silent run!
__________________
"Only two things are infinite; The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe"
Aktungbby is online   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-20, 09:46 AM   #12
aks2161989
Nub
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 4
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Default This is how you can run Enigma Rising Tide (Gold Edition) on Windows 10

1. If you don't have Enigma Rising Tide download it from the "downloads" section of this site. If you have it, ignore this point.

2. Double-click the .iso file. Windows will automatically mount it.

3. Run the "autorun" file. Select install.

4. Google for "DgVodoo". It is a free, compressed archive with many .dll files.

5. Download DgVodoo and unzip/extract the file. You will get a number of folders.

6. Go to every folder, copy all the .dll files in it and paste these in the installation folder of Enigma (the folder with the enigma.exe)

7. Right-click the Enigma shortcut on the desktop, go to compatibility and select "windows XP".
aks2161989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-21, 04:12 AM   #13
agrigor1
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 1
Downloads: 3
Uploads: 0
Default Solution to not starting setup in windows 7 64bit

I tried to install from the ISO file in windows 7 64 bit and the setup was not even starting. I could see the setup program running in Task manager but it was doing nothing. The problem is common with older games in Windows 7 that by default run Microsoft Game Explorer. Microsoft has stopped the operation of the servers of game explorer and this causes the problems.
A simple but not permanent solution for the setup to work by following these steps :
1) close setup in Task manager if it is already running ("End process" button)
2) close rundll32 in task manager (same button)
3) run setup again (to make sure it would succeed I chose compatibility with Windows XP and gave Administration rights, but I don't believe it is necessary in windows 7 - maybe it is in windows 10)

After these steps the installation proceeded normally and I installed the game in a different folder (not under Program Files (x86)). If the game doesn't start try to rename Enigma.exe file to something else, e.g. Enigma1.exe and use this to start the game. This worked for me and I hope it will for those who still want to play this game (I personally don't play it but I tried to install it for an old friend).

For a more effective method (but requires changes in windows registry changes) see https://www.gog.com/forum/general/ol...indows_7/page1

Last edited by agrigor1; 01-09-21 at 04:33 AM.
agrigor1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-21, 12:14 PM   #14
IWantedEnigma
Nub
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 2
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

Thought I should put in my two cents in case anyone was having issues even just installing the game from the (generously provided) ISO from this forum.

I'd run into an issue on Windows 10 (64 bit, running on a Lenovo Thinkpad) whereby the setup exe wouldn't do anything after being launched, or even give an indicator that it was running.
Going into task manager, I could see a program running (32-bit installer or something of that ilk) - right clicking and choosing 'go to details' brought up the list of processes themselves. Right-clicking on the highlighted process, and clicking 'Analyse Wait Chain' brought up a menu that showed what processes the setup file was waiting for in order to run.
In my case, it was Lenovo's built-in power management software (PowerMgr.exe) that was stopping the installer from initiating; ending that process allowed the installer to work. (Obviously, not all processes are safe to end in this way; google it if you're unsure)

Then it was just a case of using the dgVoodoo wrapper someone helpfully linked to in the comments of the download itself (which I link also, here) and putting the contents into the Enigma folder after it was installed, and it seems to run fine.

Current issues:
-no widescreen; this is a 'would like' rather than must-have, but it would be nice to have a wider field of view. Also, the interface itself is a bit on the small side on a modern resolution.
-buggy scenarios? I've not played enough to detect a pattern yet, but I've noticed in the training scenario ('Getting your feet wet') at least, that the enemies that are meant to be at certain waypoints during the mission.. aren't. The submarine at waypoint 2, for example, is a few miles away; the bombers that I assume are scripted to appear when you reach waypoint 3, spawn at the very start of the mission and will haze you relentlessly.
This could just be a quirk of the game itself, but I wouldn't be surprised if there's something about the unlocked framerate or OS which might cause issues.

Other than that, though, good game.
IWantedEnigma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2022 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.