SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Sub/Naval + Other Games > Indie Subsims > Sub Commander
Forget password? Reset here

Get ready for a whole new level of realism!
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-19-15, 10:28 PM   #511
Tango589
Still crazy as ever!
 
Tango589's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: A little south of sanity
Posts: 3,355
Downloads: 180
Uploads: 1
Default

Yep, just raise the reactor rods back up to their previous position using the slider, then wait for the reactor to heat back up and start generating power.
__________________


Hanging on in quiet desperation is the English way...
Tango589 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-15, 09:27 AM   #512
jadervason
Bosun
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 69
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default

Well, in that case, consider flooding the reactor room and antechamber if you want to avoid surfacing. Use the bilge pump in the reactor antechamber afterwards to try to pump some of that radiation out of there. You're going to have to force that room to flood because the ventilation controller doesn't like to flood compartments.
jadervason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-15, 09:38 AM   #513
Tango589
Still crazy as ever!
 
Tango589's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: A little south of sanity
Posts: 3,355
Downloads: 180
Uploads: 1
Default

Unfortunately, pumping out the radioactive water doesn't reduce the radiation. I've asked this question before and it's something to do with the way the software treats radiation separately to water.
__________________


Hanging on in quiet desperation is the English way...
Tango589 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-15, 10:06 AM   #514
jadervason
Bosun
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 69
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default

Even after you mix it with seawater?
jadervason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-15, 04:28 AM   #515
Tango589
Still crazy as ever!
 
Tango589's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: A little south of sanity
Posts: 3,355
Downloads: 180
Uploads: 1
Default

Unfortunately so.
__________________


Hanging on in quiet desperation is the English way...
Tango589 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-15, 09:19 AM   #516
jadervason
Bosun
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 69
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default

What do I have to do to get my primary coolant loop pressure light to go out? Is it telling me high pressure, low pressure, or what because I can max out the pump or shut it off and the light doesn't respond.
jadervason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-15, 01:32 PM   #517
Dilqui
Watch
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 23
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jadervason View Post
What do I have to do to get my primary coolant loop pressure light to go out? Is it telling me high pressure, low pressure, or what because I can max out the pump or shut it off and the light doesn't respond.
It means low pressure. Increase the pump power, or refit: Refitting will give you a new fresh load of coolant.
Dilqui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-15, 01:37 PM   #518
Dilqui
Watch
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 23
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Default

I have 2 suggestions, after giving this game a try after a long time. They are:

1. Communication Panel
2. Escape trunches.

The comm menu is simple. You can, when at periscope depth, send and reciveve messages from central command. Before, it was one way. Now you can request updates on target location, form a wolfpack, etc. Even send out a distress signal! For that end, when the sub is sunk, you can have radio buoys, which when you deploy, send out a distress signal to your co-ordinates. Ships could then respond, and come out to help you.

The escape trunch, well, ocurred to me after playing a patrol, and me boat was sunk to 190 meters, but a lot of people are still waiting for the sub to die. The escape hatches could just enable people to leave the boat, and maybe call for help? Anyways, something to get people off the sub in case of emergencies.
Dilqui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-15, 12:11 PM   #519
jadervason
Bosun
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 69
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default

Weird. I never lost any coolant.
jadervason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-15, 06:10 AM   #520
Tango589
Still crazy as ever!
 
Tango589's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: A little south of sanity
Posts: 3,355
Downloads: 180
Uploads: 1
Default

You can tell if you've lost coolant pressure, because on the reactor control panel, the coolant pressure gauge will be well down, but the coolant pump speed will be steady. Also, there will be a load of water in the reactor room with no sign of damage to the hull.
__________________


Hanging on in quiet desperation is the English way...
Tango589 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-15, 06:04 AM   #521
Tango589
Still crazy as ever!
 
Tango589's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: A little south of sanity
Posts: 3,355
Downloads: 180
Uploads: 1
Default

I've got a problem! Even after re-downloading the latest 0.27 version, I still can't use full screen mode, or have my crew find their way to the equipment locker. These bugs were previously mentioned and apparently sorted out, but I'm unable to find how. Can anyone help?

I've also had another idea for a breakable system, the electrolysis system for the oxygen generator. 2 potential faults could be:

1) a breakdown of the oxygen generator which would lead to a slow decrease in the boats air supply,

and

2) a breakdown in the hydrogen removal system which would cause a build-up of hydrogen in the boat, which if not dealt with, could ignite when you operate a switch or turn something on or off. BOOOOMMM!!!
__________________


Hanging on in quiet desperation is the English way...

Last edited by Tango589; 06-15-15 at 07:59 AM.
Tango589 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-15, 06:06 AM   #522
Tango589
Still crazy as ever!
 
Tango589's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: A little south of sanity
Posts: 3,355
Downloads: 180
Uploads: 1
Default

__________________


Hanging on in quiet desperation is the English way...
Tango589 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-15, 06:59 AM   #523
TheGeoff
Planesman
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 37°47'S 144°58'E (Melbourne, Australia)
Posts: 197
Downloads: 27
Uploads: 0


Default

Sorry about the lack of communication or updates lately! Real world commitments have left me with very little time for programming over the past few months unfortunately. Also, I mysteriously stopped receiving email updates from subsim so I hadn't noticed all the new posts in this thread. With any luck I'll have more time for sub sims again very soon

I hadn't noticed that the full screen bug had resurfaced in the latest version - it should be fixed now. The equipment storage bug (only occurs on the Foxtrot as far as I can tell) seems to have a more complex cause, I'll look into it asap.

I like the suggestions on this page, escape pods / suits might be a bit tricky to add but improved communications and electrolysis failures will probably make it into the game some time soon.
TheGeoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-15, 09:56 AM   #524
JerikTelorian
Watch
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 17
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

Geoff, I'd like to know what font you use for the instrument panel labeling, if you don't mind me asking. It really fits the theme perfectly.
JerikTelorian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-15, 07:44 AM   #525
TheGeoff
Planesman
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 37°47'S 144°58'E (Melbourne, Australia)
Posts: 197
Downloads: 27
Uploads: 0


Default

Thanks! I spent quite a while searching for the right font, and eventually settled on Futura Demibold. It's one of the fonts NASA recommends for control panels in their Systems Integration Standards manual.
TheGeoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2023 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.