SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific > SH4 ATO Mods
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2019, 02:02 PM   #1
Fifi
Ocean Warrior
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France - South West
Posts: 3,181
Downloads: 394
Uploads: 0


Default Weather change

Hi,

Loving OM + OMEGU, iím Frustrated with the damn weather not changing for days, not to say weeks.

I donít recall seeing this in FOTRSU, so as it is same game engine (SH4) is there a mod somewhere to accelerate the rate of weather change?

The one included in Traveller mod for OM isnít working at all (and compatibility problems with OMEGU)

Or maybe someone know the file (s) to tweak to enhance the weather change?

Thanks in advance
__________________
https://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/2019/28/7/1563131204-om.jpg
Coming soon: OM Dark Waters!
Fifi is online   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2019, 03:57 PM   #2
KaleunMarco
Grey Wolf
 
KaleunMarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 922
Downloads: 279
Uploads: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fifi View Post
Hi,

Loving OM + OMEGU, iím Frustrated with the damn weather not changing for days, not to say weeks.

I donít recall seeing this in FOTRSU, so as it is same game engine (SH4) is there a mod somewhere to accelerate the rate of weather change?

The one included in Traveller mod for OM isnít working at all (and compatibility problems with OMEGU)

Or maybe someone know the file (s) to tweak to enhance the weather change?

Thanks in advance
fifi,


weather is controlled from more than one file however if you are playing a career-mission, the .MIS file for that mission will control the weather for that mission. you can try the SH4_MissionEditor (ME) and look at the file contents but i have been less that satisfied in using the ME in figuring out what any one mission is trying to accomplish.
you might be better served by attempting to create a new mission and look the weather options available.
my apologies that i only know a little about this subject.


mb
__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.

------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 32 GB Ram running Win10
KaleunMarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 05:45 AM   #3
Fifi
Ocean Warrior
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France - South West
Posts: 3,181
Downloads: 394
Uploads: 0


Default

Thanks my friend.

As already said long ago in others threads, Control+N solved partially the issue.
It unstuck the current weather running too long.

Now i will try to not TC over 512, maybe the weather will have time to change more than running X4096...
__________________
https://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/2019/28/7/1563131204-om.jpg
Coming soon: OM Dark Waters!
Fifi is online   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 06:56 AM   #4
mikesn9
Ensign

 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sarasota Florida
Posts: 232
Downloads: 50
Uploads: 0
Default

There was a discussion some time ago on this.
I believe the final assumption was: don't go over TC 2048. They said the weather gets "stuck" if you do.
this applied to a stock version, if I remember right.
__________________


I spent the cold war under water.
mikesn9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 08:25 AM   #5
Fifi
Ocean Warrior
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France - South West
Posts: 3,181
Downloads: 394
Uploads: 0


Default

Yes, now that i donít pass over 512, i got a weather change in middle of North Sea...for first time

Before, i had the same weather from Kiel to Scapa, so itís definitely linked to TC.

Just have to be more patient and run at 512
__________________
https://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/2019/28/7/1563131204-om.jpg
Coming soon: OM Dark Waters!
Fifi is online   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 09:01 AM   #6
KaleunMarco
Grey Wolf
 
KaleunMarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 922
Downloads: 279
Uploads: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fifi View Post
Thanks my friend.

As already said long ago in others threads, Control+N solved partially the issue.
It unstuck the current weather running too long.

Now i will try to not TC over 512, maybe the weather will have time to change more than running X4096...
be careful with the Control-N thing. apparently, the change is unilateral...and not as complete as you might think.
there was a post, this year i believe, in which there was a healthy discussion of what occurs when you use control-n. as you have probably seen, it might clear the rain, fog, and clouds, but it does not reduce the size of waves. also, it does NOT change the weather for the enemy forces.
i will try and find the post-string and repost it here.

__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.

------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 32 GB Ram running Win10
KaleunMarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 09:10 AM   #7
Fifi
Ocean Warrior
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France - South West
Posts: 3,181
Downloads: 394
Uploads: 0


Default

Yes Marco, iíve readed it.

Not exceeding 512 TC in game, the weather is changing every 2/3 days or so now. Thatís very good to me

__________________
https://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/2019/28/7/1563131204-om.jpg
Coming soon: OM Dark Waters!
Fifi is online   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 01:26 PM   #8
Fifi
Ocean Warrior
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France - South West
Posts: 3,181
Downloads: 394
Uploads: 0


Default

UPDATE:

Up to TC X1024, no weather problem
__________________
https://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/2019/28/7/1563131204-om.jpg
Coming soon: OM Dark Waters!
Fifi is online   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2019, 11:02 AM   #9
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,411
Downloads: 289
Uploads: 2


Default

I'll look for the nVidia settings for SH4 if you have an nVidia card Fifi. Front Runner several months ago discovered discrepancies in his game's time clock when he was doing 1x TC while he noodled about the house while playing the game. His sunset was earlier and earlier each day. But when he used certain levels of higher TC, the clock would "hold". Part of the problem is that the game is built to run at 30fps, and that's what "ties" the game's day / night cycle, base time, moon cycles, etc. all together. If your game is running over 30fps, then your clock gets out of whack. Above a certain level of TC (2048??), the "clock" seems to run slower. Plus, doing a Save in the middle of a weather cycle will re-set the time it has run that cycle back to zero, like the patrol time does...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 03:45 PM   #10
arief.satriyo
Sailor man
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 46
Downloads: 30
Uploads: 0
Default

Got similar problem here, it even worse in my case because the weather for all-purpose and intend is non-existent. Apparently OMEGU break any presence of weather system not to mention the water look cartoonish.

How do I get the stock water and weather and the clouds, rain, etc back while still retaining OM + OMEGU...?

Thanks Beforehand
arief.satriyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim