SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific > SH4 ATO Mods
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-03-2019, 07:51 PM   #1
podunkpete
Seaman
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sub Capital of the World - Grotn Ct USA
Posts: 32
Downloads: 119
Uploads: 0
Default Time Compression Enemy Warning

It's getting late and my eyes/brain are shot. Somewhere in these forums is a thread detailing how to drop out of time compression when an enemy is detected. I had modified my last install per the posting but at this hour my post scanning and search skills seem to be nill. Can anyone direct me to the post or where the settings are to drop out of time compress when an enemy is spotted and how to limit max time compression? It's a new install, but that's a long story. Thanks for any help.
podunkpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2019, 09:43 PM   #2
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,413
Downloads: 289
Uploads: 2


Default

The settings for Time Compression are in the "game folder / Data / Cfg / Main.cfg" file. Under most circumstances, the game will return you to 1x TC when an enemy is encountered. The higher the TC level, the longer in game time it takes though... If you are below a certain level of TC (16x?? 8x??), the game might not take you back to 1x though, so be careful of that...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 05:02 PM   #3
podunkpete
Seaman
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sub Capital of the World - Grotn Ct USA
Posts: 32
Downloads: 119
Uploads: 0
Default

Yup! That's it by golly. It was set to 8 at enemy contact, and since at this point most enemies are planes they certainly had an advantage while my slow fingers moved to get back to x1. I wonder if there's a way to hot key to normal time! Thanks again for the info. Much obliged!
podunkpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 07:14 PM   #4
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,413
Downloads: 289
Uploads: 2


Default

Depending upon Stock or the mod, the <Backspace> "pauses" the game at "0"TC, while some mods have the number keypad's <Enter> key set to send you back to 1xTC. You can also edit the "Data / Cfg / Commands.cfg" and do it yourself. I usually end up messing that up though, misplacing commas and semi-colons... so the Backspace is my key.
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 05:10 PM   #5
podunkpete
Seaman
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sub Capital of the World - Grotn Ct USA
Posts: 32
Downloads: 119
Uploads: 0
Default

Another tip I wish I had known sooner! My version was a download with no manual (that I can find.) I've noticed at times that when I'm travelling in time compression to a patrol zone the game will "Hiccup", after which a convoy will sometimes appear. I've learned to mouse to the lower corner and go to x1 if the game stutters, just in case. There aren't always targets, but you never know. Thanks again for the info!
podunkpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 02:48 AM   #6
Fifi
Ocean Warrior
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France - South West
Posts: 3,181
Downloads: 394
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by podunkpete View Post
Another tip I wish I had known sooner! My version was a download with no manual (that I can find.) I've noticed at times that when I'm travelling in time compression to a patrol zone the game will "Hiccup", after which a convoy will sometimes appear. I've learned to mouse to the lower corner and go to x1 if the game stutters, just in case. There aren't always targets, but you never know. Thanks again for the info!
That’s what i call the hydrophone cheat...common to all silent hunter series, even with some powerful CPU & GPU
Can hiccup up to 2 seconds depending the spawning objects numbers and the time compression you are running on.
I can never miss a convoy spawning at 1024 TC.
Well if sometimes the AI can cheat to find you, we also can do as well
__________________
https://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/2019/28/7/1563131204-om.jpg
Coming soon: OM Dark Waters!
Fifi is online   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim