SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Modern-Era Subsims > COLD WATERS
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2017, 03:42 PM   #1
Skvid
Watch
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 30
Downloads: 33
Uploads: 0
Default MK16 torpedoes

How exactly do i use these? They have a great range and speed but they don't lock on. I could deal with that but you cant even set the depth for them, they seem to be anti-ship torps but if you fire them from 50ft depth they WILL GO UNDER THE KEELS of the ships, which is absolutely retarded, even wiki says these torps had some basic settings like depth levels and pattern behaviors.

The game wants you to use them as well, every loadout for older ships has them, and not the slow, wired ones (mk38?). What am i missing?
Skvid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2017, 04:09 PM   #2
Hans Schultz
Sparky
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 150
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Default

There is a tutorial mission with Mk16s. I can't hit a thing when them either not when the enemy is maneuvering.
Hans Schultz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2017, 04:46 PM   #3
Onkel Neal
Born to Run Silent
 
Onkel Neal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Cougar Trap, Texas
Posts: 18,125
Downloads: 401
Uploads: 200


Default

Use the blue aiming dot and make sure you are in a good position
__________________
Would you like to join my Wolfpack crew? Friend me on STEAM, my username is SUBSIM.
Good hunting and don't forget to close the hatch!

Onkel Neal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2017, 02:47 AM   #4
schurem
Loader
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 90
Downloads: 42
Uploads: 0
Default

Those are the straight runners aren't they? Do as you did in Silent Hunter: fire a spread of course!
schurem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2017, 03:38 AM   #5
ikalugin
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,959
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0


Default

1) mk16 is a straight runner.
2) you have to set it for low depth as it would by default run on ownship depth.
3) you can use aim assist dot.
__________________
Grumpy as always.
ikalugin is online   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim