SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Subsims & Naval Games > Classic Subsims
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2015, 02:15 AM   #1
Eagle1_Division
Bosun
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 66
Downloads: 12
Uploads: 0
Default Destroyer Command Problem

So, this problem persists and remains unchanged whether I use my integrated graphics or Nvidia drivers, compatibility mode, or run as administrator.

The game starts just fine, perfectly and normally. I can even go to the campaign screen (notable since that's a different exe). But as soon as I try to load or start a game - when the game tries to start Sim.exe, it crashes, but leaves the DClauncher (black screen) running. I found this - it may be really helpful, Januslog seems to be reporting the exact cause of the error:

Code:
Loading configuration:
  Got HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Ultimation\DestroyerCmd
  Installation: Full
  Language: English
  Got HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Ultimation\DestroyerCmd
  DDrawDevice: Primary Display Driver
  DDrawWidth: 1024
  DDrawHeight: 768
  DDrawDepth: 32
  Mode 0: 640x480x16
  Mode 1: 640x480x32
  Mode 2: 1024x768x16
  Mode 3: 1024x768x32
  DSoundDevice: 0
  DSoundChan2D: 16
  DSoundChan3D: 16
  DSoundMaster: 255
  DSoundEffects: 255
  DSoundMusic: 255
  DSoundVoice: 255
  DSoundMovies: 255
  LODFog: 1
  LODMipMapFilter: 1
  LODRangeFog: 0
  LODTableFog: 1
  LODEnviroMap: 1
  LODCubicMap: 1
  LODBumpMap: 1
  LODNormalMap: 0
  LODSpecular: 1
  LODBias: 10
  LODLocalSmoke: 1
  UIHotText: 1
  UIKeyCodes: 0
PGame::PGame()  ### Memory Status -- Virtual (Free: 2005776k  Used: 91248k)  Physical (Free: 1048575k  Used: 0k)
Selected display device: Primary Display Driver
display Primary Display Driver
   SW RGB Emulation Microsoft Direct3D RGB Software Emulation
   HW Direct3D HAL Microsoft Direct3D Hardware acceleration through Direct3D HAL
   TNL Direct3D T&L HAL Microsoft Direct3D Hardware Transform and Lighting acceleration capable device
Video Mode: 1024 768 32
Z-Buffer format: 16
Z-Buffer format: 32
Z-Buffer format: 32
Z-Buffer format: 24
Z Buffer created: 1024 768 32 0
*** Offscreen images must be loaded into video RAM
Device: caps: e09ae51 tricaps: 3261b1 185d depth: 1280 1536 texture: 1 1 8192 8192
*** BD3DEngine: Fog table enabled!
DirectInput: Another application has a higher priority level, preventing this call from succeeding. This value is equal to the E_ACCESSDENIED standard COM return value. This error can be returned when an application has only foreground access to a device but is attempting to acquire the device while in the background.PGame::Initialize() - Keyboard initialization failed
Initialization failed.Deleting BD3DEngine: 9f4020 1
Device release: 0x0
Deleting surface: 0x  a68680
Surface release: 0x0
Deleting z buffer
Restoring video mode
Deleting window
Deleting tables
Deleting fonts
Deleting Direct3D
BD3DEngine destructor exiting
PGame::~PGame()  ### Memory Status -- Virtual (Free: 1952532k  Used: 144492k)  Physical (Free: 1048575k  Used: 0k)
Exiting DestroyerCmd:Sim
Seems to imply that if I could give the game exe some extra permissions (such as accessing devices that are in background, or while in background? To freely change back and foreground windows, etc), then my problem could be solved. Anyone know how to do this?

~
Alienware 17 model
Windows 7 Home Premium
Intel Core i7-4700MQ CPU @ 2.4 GHz 2.4 GHz
16 GB RAM
64 bit operating system
Eagle1_Division is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2015, 02:40 AM   #2
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 15,678
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0


Default Welcome back

Eagle1_Division Yipes! I play DC on an old WIN 98 but haven't a clue on this one! welcome; back afrter 7 sears though
__________________
"Only two things are infinite: The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe..." Philip K. Dick
Aktungbby is online   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 08:32 PM   #3
Eagle1_Division
Bosun
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 66
Downloads: 12
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks!

At the moment I just have it installed on a different laptop where it works.
Eagle1_Division is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2015, 06:23 PM   #4
Easy Rhino
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Californey
Posts: 1
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

this post was a while ago but this message seems interesting:

DirectInput: Another application has a higher priority level, preventing this call from succeeding. This value is equal to the E_ACCESSDENIED standard COM return value. This error can be returned when an application has only foreground access to a device but is attempting to acquire the device while in the background.PGame::Initialize() - Keyboard initialization failed


Some sort of problem with they keyboard? some sort of advanced keyboard setup that may not have existed 12 years ago?
Easy Rhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2015, 11:04 PM   #5
Hinrich Schwab
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 901
Downloads: 85
Uploads: 0


Default

Since you mention both integrated and Nvidia, I am assuming that you have an Nvidia card on a rig with an integrated card, too.

Both DC and SH2 get really weird on systems that have both integrated GPUs and some NVIDIA cards. All sorts of weird crashes can occur because of both oddball NVIDIA incompatibilities and DirectDraw hiccups. Could you share some more details about your rig? It may help narrow things down.
Hinrich Schwab is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim