Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Modern-Era Subsims > Dangerous Waters
Forget password? Reset here

Old 05-07-19, 11:46 AM   #1
CTPAHHNK88
Bilge Rat

Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
radar 688i Hunter Killer vs Dangerous Waters

Hello ladies and gents, I'm new to naval sims (more of a flight sim guy), but would love to learn more about nuclear subs. Really enjoying dangerous waters so far, but the ratio of fun/boring missions is not as high as I would like. I was wondering if any of you have tried 688i Hunter Killer on WIndows 10 and which one do you think is better?
Cheers

CTPAHHNK88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-19, 12:38 PM   #2
FPSchazly
Good Hunting!

Downloads: 15
Uploads: 1

Dangerous Waters is a strict upgrade, in my opinion. 688(I) H/K is rather old at this point and certain functionality you take for granted in DW is absent from 688(I), like the use of mouse wheel scrolling on maps is absent in 688(I). It does have some interesting features that DW does not have (plotting a history of the depth beneath the keel, panning around the control room), but nowhere near enough for me to recommend a game two generations older than DW in an either/or scenario. Sub Command, the sequel to 688(I) and prequel to DW, has some fun Cold War-type campaigns that are all purely sub based, which you can play in Dangerous Waters.

There are also a lot of good third-party scenarios for DW on this website here: Dangerous Waters Custom Scenarios

My videos:
**Exclusive Look at Modern Naval Warfare!**
Dangerous Waters Liu Doctrine (LwAmi
Learn to play Dangerous Waters
FPSchazly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-19, 02:00 PM   #3
p7p8
Seasoned Skipper

Downloads: 136
Uploads: 6

688 H/K have better looking sinking model - ships can split to 2 parts
Old 05-07-19, 02:47 PM   #4
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666

Location: On a tilted, overheated, overpopulated spinning mudball on Collision course with Andromeda Galaxy
Downloads: 22

Default Welcome aboard!

CTPAHHNK88!