SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2010, 09:39 AM   #301
java`s revenge
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: at periscope depth
Posts: 1,204
Downloads: 97
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi,
I come back with an old problem. Tried a long time the settings of
the first post. But i always got a black screen with sh3 when i started it.
I altere the aa setting to application and that worked. But then i got
a jaggied horizon.

Now i have tried aa supersampling 4x4 and that gives the solution
for me for a correct horizion. But now i have a golfball sun. (flat)

When i use shift page/up the sun glows but the jaggied horizon comes back.

My specs
Geforce 260gtx
driver 195.62
__________________
java`s revenge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 10:41 AM   #302
Arclight
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Land of windmills, tulips, wooden shoes and cheese. Lots of cheese.
Posts: 8,467
Downloads: 48
Uploads: 10
Default

Few thoughts:

-4x multisampling is the max that will work without side-effects
-Be sure to disable "gamma correction" in nHancer/Nvidia CP.

Make sure the profile is active if you make these changes in a game-specific profile!
__________________

Contritium praecedit superbia.
Arclight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 10:47 AM   #303
java`s revenge
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: at periscope depth
Posts: 1,204
Downloads: 97
Uploads: 0
Default

My opion is that sh3 and sh4 has been thrown on one pile.

This sticky had to be seperatly made for sh3 / sh4.

No, that doesn`t work, get the black screen again.
__________________
java`s revenge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 12:21 PM   #304
Arclight
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Land of windmills, tulips, wooden shoes and cheese. Lots of cheese.
Posts: 8,467
Downloads: 48
Uploads: 10
Default

Same engine, same tricks to make it work. No problem putting them on the same pile in this case imho.



Didn't we have this conversation before? I posted an image with explanation and as far as I can tell it worked for you.
__________________

Contritium praecedit superbia.
Arclight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 01:56 PM   #305
java`s revenge
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: at periscope depth
Posts: 1,204
Downloads: 97
Uploads: 0
Default

You are right Arctic,

Got also black screens in the past with these settings. Now it works.
Horizon is good but the sun is flat.

But i can live with it.


Thanks mate
__________________
java`s revenge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 02:05 PM   #306
Arclight
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Land of windmills, tulips, wooden shoes and cheese. Lots of cheese.
Posts: 8,467
Downloads: 48
Uploads: 10
Default

Ah, wait, I think I had that as well. Works at first, but then the halo disappears. Fixed it by toggling the settings for the driver, and then it would work untill I rebooted or something.

It's a bit of hit and miss really. Problem is the game just doesn't support AA natively.
__________________

Contritium praecedit superbia.
Arclight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 03:12 PM   #307
java`s revenge
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: at periscope depth
Posts: 1,204
Downloads: 97
Uploads: 0
Default

When you toggle in the game with shift/page up you have a fine sun
but then the jaggies are coming back..
__________________
java`s revenge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 07:12 PM   #308
berobispo
Helmsman
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 110
Downloads: 161
Uploads: 4
Default

btw, I have bought and installed a cheap little fan, and my 7600gs is now running at smooth 90°C ...coming from the mac side of the world actually and have still some things to learn with pc's
berobispo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 01:54 AM   #309
Arclight
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Land of windmills, tulips, wooden shoes and cheese. Lots of cheese.
Posts: 8,467
Downloads: 48
Uploads: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by java`s revenge View Post
When you toggle in the game with shift/page up you have a fine sun
but then the jaggies are coming back..
Never touched the in-game filter thingy, just setting up the profile properly should do the trick.
Quote:
Originally Posted by berobispo View Post
btw, I have bought and installed a cheap little fan, and my 7600gs is now running at smooth 90°C ...coming from the mac side of the world actually and have still some things to learn with pc's
That's more acceptable.

I never let my card go above 80-85C, but it has a big dual-slot cooler. Definitely makes it more manageable.
__________________

Contritium praecedit superbia.
Arclight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 05:24 AM   #310
java`s revenge
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: at periscope depth
Posts: 1,204
Downloads: 97
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by berobispo View Post
btw, I have bought and installed a cheap little fan, and my 7600gs is now running at smooth 90°C ...coming from the mac side of the world actually and have still some things to learn with pc's
My gpu is much cooler during gaming.
I do use rivatuner, here is a tutorial to set it up,

__________________
java`s revenge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 12:06 PM   #311
berobispo
Helmsman
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 110
Downloads: 161
Uploads: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by java`s revenge View Post
My gpu is much cooler during gaming.
I do use rivatuner, here is a tutorial to set it up,

Thanks! But I already use Riva Tuner. First used it to actually downclock my passive cooled gs7600, now have it slightly overclocked.
berobispo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 01:44 PM   #312
That's not my dog
Mate
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 55
Downloads: 76
Uploads: 0
Default Blocky oil and fire

I am having blocky oil spills in the and blocky fire on board ships. There was a thread that solved this issue, but the file to fix it is not gone. I am using Nhancer and I running the following MODS:

4 Ships_Reflect and Caustic_Environment Mod 5.1
AOBF 16-9 Res
Captain's Desk Photos 26
EAX_Sound_Sim
EAXsoundsim_with_WebstersManeuver_RFB2
MaxOptics 3 for SH4_1.5_051509
Merchant Skin Pack
RFB_2.0
SH4 Flag Replacement
Webster's Missing Voices for v1.4 & v1.5
RSRDC_RFB_V575
RSRDC_V5xx_Patch1

I am getting ready to undue some of the MODS to see if I can locate which one changed things. If anyone has a better idea, please let me know.
Thanks in advance.
That's not my dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 02:02 PM   #313
Arclight
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Land of windmills, tulips, wooden shoes and cheese. Lots of cheese.
Posts: 8,467
Downloads: 48
Uploads: 10
Default

Got a link to that thread? Maybe we can recreate that fix.
__________________

Contritium praecedit superbia.
Arclight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 03:00 PM   #314
Barman1943
Nub
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I just tried these settings, and when I started up Sh4 all I got was a black screen. I could hear the menu music, but nothing was showing up.
Barman1943 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 03:43 PM   #315
Arclight
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Land of windmills, tulips, wooden shoes and cheese. Lots of cheese.
Posts: 8,467
Downloads: 48
Uploads: 10
Default

Welcome aboard.

Sounds familiar, but I can't remember the fix.

Few questions:
What card are you using?
What version of the game are you running?
What driver version are you running?
Are you using Nhancer?
__________________

Contritium praecedit superbia.
Arclight is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2020 Subsim