SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH4 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2008, 01:18 AM   #1
rebel5555
Mate
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 55
Downloads: 16
Uploads: 0
Default [TEC] How to make Deeper Harbor Entrances?

Well the title speaks for itself but, I was wondering if it's possible to make the entrances to harbors deep enough to dive to periscope depth, because I think in real life harbors are pretty deep to make sure there's less of a chance to run aground. Thanks for the help in advance! By the way HAPPY NEW YEAR!
rebel5555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 01:25 AM   #2
tater
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 9,058
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 2
Default

No US subs ever went into enemy harbors, and they'd not operate submerged in their own. Infiltrating harbors is already a joke in SH4, too.
tater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 01:31 AM   #3
cheese123
Gunner
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: on some striat
Posts: 96
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default

I raid Hiroshima all the time and its a harbor.
cheese123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 06:06 AM   #4
Reece
CINC Pacific Fleet
 
Reece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Down Under
Posts: 25,408
Downloads: 171
Uploads: 0
Default

You can increase the overall ocean height if that's any good.
__________________

Sub captains go down with their ship!
Reece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 07:06 AM   #5
Peto
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The details of my life are quite inconsequential
Posts: 1,049
Downloads: 4
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tater
No US subs ever went into enemy harbors, and they'd not operate submerged in their own. Infiltrating harbors is already a joke in SH4, too.
Well, my first (sort of) disagreement with tater . There were a few harbor penetrations done by US subs in the war. (Wahoo at Wewak, Barb, and a few others). BUT!!!!! They didn't go into main harbors like Tokyo or Rabaul or Hiroshima et al. Assessing harbor infiltration as being a joke in SH--I will certainly agree with that !
__________________
If your target has a 30 degree AOB, the range from his base course line equals the current range divided by 2.
Peto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 09:03 AM   #6
tater
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 9,058
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 2
Default

Wewak is barely a harbor It's about as closed as this--> ) , and just sticking Wahoo's nose in there a little was stunningly brave in RL. In SH4, my 4 year old could sneak to Kure

It's pretty clear that in RL so much as nosing in to a "harbor" regardless of how tight the opening was was literally medal of honor level stuff, not the everyday activity of SH4.
tater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 03:32 PM   #7
Peto
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The details of my life are quite inconsequential
Posts: 1,049
Downloads: 4
Uploads: 0
Default

Actually tater--in Silent Victory there are quite a few account of harbor penetration. And Wahoo went 9 miles in Wewak Harbor in water they didn't go deeper than 90 feet in. The Barb made a Harbor attack on the surface where it was so shallow they could not dive at all. And that was miles from deep water. They were lucky to get back out. The Herring was sunk in a harbor by shore batteries. Seawolf at Vigan. Spearfish(?) at a Halmahera Horbor (I think that's who and where). 6 boats ordered to enter Lingayen Gulf through dense escort screens to attack anchored ships in Very Shallow water (not exactly a harbor penetration but just as or more dangerous). And that's just off the top of my head so...

I very Respectfully must disagree on this point.
__________________
If your target has a 30 degree AOB, the range from his base course line equals the current range divided by 2.
Peto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 03:53 PM   #8
tater
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 9,058
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 2
Default

I don't disagree, but the harbors in question were not tightly constrained areas like some common SH4 penetrations.



The little spit in the middle is Cape Boram. Wewak Point is the lower right bit. Cape Moem in the background. The distance Wewak Point to Cape Moem is ~8-9 miles. It's impossible to penetrate 9 miles, the harbor is only inside the farthest land by 4 miles or so.


That 18 fathom line is 108 feet. Wonder how far out the penetration started (where they considered the entrance to be).

My point is really that such trivial (in SH4, not reality!) anchorages/harbors were extremely dangerous, even when effectively wide open like Wewak. There were no missions, none at all, like the common, idiotic SH4 missions. Those missions have you go through 4-10 mile openings, then move submerged for a whole day inside totally enclosed areas.

Maybe if we made some shoals for Wewak in SH4 (sub nets ) to make it better.

tater
tater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 04:26 PM   #9
Peto
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The details of my life are quite inconsequential
Posts: 1,049
Downloads: 4
Uploads: 0
Default

Oh--trust me on this :hmm:--I completely agree with your thoughts on the subject !!!

My reference to 9 miles travelled by the Wahoo is both in and back out. I'm pretty sure that's how far George Grider said they went in his book Warfish. And Mush Morton was aggressive to the point of revealing a personal death-wish. That's a great map of Wewak btw. I've never seen that one.

You're absolutely correct about constrained harbors--especially ones that historically had mines and anti-submarine nets! Stock Special missions are a little (how do I say) fantastical in that a boat actually making position X is wishfull thinking at best--at least in RL.

I just wanted to make the point that there were "some" harbor penetrations. But they certainly didn't occur in Tokyo Bay !

__________________
If your target has a 30 degree AOB, the range from his base course line equals the current range divided by 2.
Peto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 05:41 PM   #10
CaptainHaplo
Silent Hunter
 
CaptainHaplo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,401
Downloads: 22
Uploads: 0
Back to the subject originally - is there a way to mod the worldmap to change the depth at a given area - harbor or no?
__________________
Good Hunting!

Captain Haplo
CaptainHaplo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 05:56 PM   #11
tater
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 9,058
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 2
Default

Right now, no. There is a program for SH3, but it doesn't work on the SH4 files.

When it does, I'd likely add more shallows and reefs, not make them deeper, LOL.

Point taken, Peto, I kinda meant compared to SH4. In SH4 infiltrating any harbor is a joke. In RL, going close to even a wide open harbor like Wewak was considered incredibly agressive. In SH4 it's another day at the office for a green crew, hehe.
tater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 07:16 PM   #12
Peto
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The details of my life are quite inconsequential
Posts: 1,049
Downloads: 4
Uploads: 0
Default

Wow! I'm sure glad that fight is over!!!

__________________
If your target has a 30 degree AOB, the range from his base course line equals the current range divided by 2.
Peto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2020 Subsim