SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2018, 08:13 AM   #1501
Fifi
Ocean Warrior
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France - South West
Posts: 2,869
Downloads: 379
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rconch View Post
Another question.

I have a rookie crew-first mission.

The depth keeping abilities is very poor-anything less than STD speed at periscope depth causes the boat to sink. Wears out the batteries pretty quick.

As these guys improve(experience), does the depth keeping improve? I am hoping so.

Now silent running is useless as the boat sinks like a stone.

Thanks for any responses.
The sub is slowly sinking only when stoped. You have to run at least 1 knot to stay leveled. It’s a NYGM nice feature to simulate real sub behavior.

If you are sinking like a stone (without any damage) it’s not normal, and you should check what mods you have activated on top of NYGM. Something might have break the mod...
__________________
https://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/2019/28/7/1563131204-om.jpg
Fifi is online   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 09:16 AM   #1502
Rconch
Captain
 
Rconch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: No. Virginia
Posts: 575
Downloads: 349
Uploads: 0
Default

Thank you-started a new career-the early one was a test with loading mods.

With the new career-depth keeping is normal and no problems now. All good, even silent running.

Thanks for your response.
__________________
"Noch und Noch"
Prowling the Nord Atlantik with GWX 3.0.
Rconch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 04:23 PM   #1503
Kelly621
Officer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 237
Downloads: 335
Uploads: 0
Default

Fifi,
nope, no chronometer in WYGM. The range formula in the video should work since WYGM uses 6X power.


Sorry for the slow reply...wife just got out of surgery.


Kelly621
Kelly621 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 07:08 PM   #1504
BigWalleye
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Beyond Black River - in Pict country, you betcha!
Posts: 1,986
Downloads: 465
Uploads: 0


Default

Kelly, I hope your wife is doing well. Added a prayer for her.

No chronometer in WYGM? Since when? There's a lovely Hanhart to the left of the optics window in both periscope screens and the UZO screen, at least in my version. And it's in menu_1024_768.ini, item G26 I107 et sec, in both VanJast's original file and my corrected one. If you don't see it, I suspect some other mod is overwriting VanJast's mod. FWIW, the whole reason for the correction to VanJast's original file was to clean up a minor bug in the placement and operation of the chronometer hands.

-BW
BigWalleye is online   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 01:24 AM   #1505
Fifi
Ocean Warrior
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France - South West
Posts: 2,869
Downloads: 379
Uploads: 0


Default

Thanks for reply Kelly and BW.

No i don’t see any chrono in WYGM...maybe a corrupted file, because even running stock NYGM without any external mods others than Stiebler’s download page, nothing there

Anyway no big deal, there is the ARB gui running fine
__________________
https://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/2019/28/7/1563131204-om.jpg
Fifi is online   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 06:19 AM   #1506
BigWalleye
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Beyond Black River - in Pict country, you betcha!
Posts: 1,986
Downloads: 465
Uploads: 0


Default

Fifi, can you take a look in your menu_1024_768.ini file? Item G26 I107 should be the chronometer. Or anybody else with this issue, would you please take a look? Ideally, check in the nod itself, rather than in the active /data folder.
BigWalleye is online   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 01:41 PM   #1507
Fifi
Ocean Warrior
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France - South West
Posts: 2,869
Downloads: 379
Uploads: 0


Default

Yes, it's the chrono, but can't see it...

here is what i have in menu file:

;=======================================
; 6.- CHRONOMETER PANEL
;=======================================
[G26 I107]
Name=Chrono
Type=1026;Menu group
ItemID=0x26020000
ParentID=0x26000000
;Pos=608,764,136,52
;Pos=33,383,200,300
Pos=70,400,200,300
Color=0xFFFFFFFF

[G26 I108]
Name=Reflection
Type=1030;Static bmp
ItemID=0x26020001
ParentID=0x26020000
Pos=-12,-12,256,256
Materials=1
Display=0;No stretch
Mat 0=data/menu/gui/Reflex.tga
MatFlags=0x2
TexFmt=0x9
Drag=false

[G26 I109]
Name=Sec
Type=1031;Stat bmp array
ItemID=0x26020002
ParentID=0x26020000
Pos=85,-92,14,150
Materials=1
Display=5;Linear&rotation
Mat 0=data/menu/gui/Hanhart_Sec.tga
Crop 0=0,0,0.5,1
MatFlags=0x29
TexFmt=0x9
Drag=false
BmpState=1
NeedFocus=false
SelOne=false
IdGroup=0
StatesColors=0xFFFFFFFF, 0xFFFFFFFF, 0xFFFFFFFF, 0xFFFFFFFF

[G26 I110]
Name=Min
Type=1031;Stat bmp array
ItemID=0x26020003
ParentID=0x26020000
Pos=85,-116,14,40
Materials=1
Display=5;Linear&rotation
Mat 0=data/menu/gui/Hanhart_Min.tga
Crop 0=0,0,1,1
MatFlags=0x29
TexFmt=0x9
Drag=false
BmpState=1
NeedFocus=false
SelOne=false
IdGroup=0
StatesColors=0xFFFFFFFF, 0xFFFFFFFF, 0xFFFFFFFF, 0xFFFFFFFF

[G26 I111]
Name=Estim Sec
Type=1031;Stat bmp array
ItemID=0x26020004
ParentID=0x26020000
Pos=85,-92,14,150
Materials=1
Display=5;Linear&rotation
Mat 0=data/menu/gui/Hanhart_Sec_Red.tga
Crop 0=0,0,0.5,1
MatFlags=0x29
TexFmt=0x9
Drag=false
BmpState=1
NeedFocus=true
SelOne=false
IdGroup=0
StatesColors=0xFFFFFFFF, 0xFFFFFFFF, 0xFFFFFFFF, 0xFFFFFFFF

[G26 I112]
Name=Estim Min
Type=1031;Stat bmp array
ItemID=0x26020005
ParentID=0x26020000
Pos=85,-116,14,40
Materials=1
Display=5;Linear&rotation
Mat 0=data/menu/gui/Hanhart_Min_Red.tga
Crop 0=0,0,1,1
MatFlags=0x29
TexFmt=0x9
Drag=false
BmpState=1
NeedFocus=true
SelOne=false
IdGroup=0
StatesColors=0xFFFFFFFF, 0xFFFFFFFF, 0xFFFFFFFF, 0xFFFFFFFF


[G26 I113]
Name=Dial
Type=1031;Stat bmp array
ItemID=0x26020001
ParentID=0x26020000
Pos=0,0,200,300 ;180,990,183,256
Materials=1
Display=0;No stretch
Mat 0=data/menu/gui/H_Chronometer.tga
MatFlags=0x29
TexFmt=0x9
Drag=false
BmpState=1
NeedFocus=true
SelOne=true
IdGroup=0
StatesColors=0xFFFFFFFF, 0xFFFFFFFF, 0xFFFFFFFF, 0xFFFFFFFF

;=======================================
; BACKGROUND IMAGE
;=======================================
[G26 I114]
Name=Background
Type=1030;Static bmp
ItemID=0x26000001
ParentID=0x26000000
Pos=0,1080,1920,1080
Color=0xFFFFFFFF
Materials=1
Display=0
Mat 0=data/menu/gui/VanWide1920_AttackScope.tga
Crop 0=0,0,1,1
MatFlags=0x21
TexFmt=0x9
__________________
https://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/2019/28/7/1563131204-om.jpg
Fifi is online   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 01:57 PM   #1508
Stiebler
Fuel Supplier
 
Stiebler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,233
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 4


Default

"I have a rookie crew-first mission.
The depth keeping abilities is very poor-anything less than STD speed at periscope depth causes the boat to sink. Wears out the batteries pretty quick.
As these guys improve(experience), does the depth keeping improve? I am hoping so.
Now silent running is useless as the boat sinks like a stone."

This is an example of the "Crash-dive Blues", which continues to trouble new players of NYGM.
If you interrupt a crash-dive *before* it has reached its standard dive-depth of 80 metres, the U-boat fails to level out correctly.
This is not a problem with stock SH3, nor with other super-mods (eg GWX), which have the standard diving model. (U-boat tends to rise slowly at slow speed.)
However, NYGM's diving model is biased towards a realistic slow sinking anyway, which is made much worse by an interrupted crash-dive.

There is an easy solution:
Return to the surface and perform another crash-dive. But on this occasion allow the U-boat to reach 80 metres and level-out, before you continue the dive to a deeper depth.
Of course, this is not possible if there is a destroyer overhead. So practise first in safe waters!


Stiebler.
Stiebler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 09:21 PM   #1509
BigWalleye
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Beyond Black River - in Pict country, you betcha!
Posts: 1,986
Downloads: 465
Uploads: 0


Default

Fifi, was that entry from the mod or from the active Data folder? If it's from the mod, then VanJast's menu_1024_768.ini file is getting overwritten by another mod. If it's from the active Data folder, then perhaps something is corrupted in the download?
BigWalleye is online   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 01:25 AM   #1510
Fifi
Ocean Warrior
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France - South West
Posts: 2,869
Downloads: 379
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigWalleye View Post
Fifi, was that entry from the mod or from the active Data folder? If it's from the mod, then VanJast's menu_1024_768.ini file is getting overwritten by another mod. If it's from the active Data folder, then perhaps something is corrupted in the download?
From the mod...but it is activated last on the list...so should be the active one
__________________
https://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/2019/28/7/1563131204-om.jpg
Fifi is online   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 06:30 AM   #1511
BigWalleye
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Beyond Black River - in Pict country, you betcha!
Posts: 1,986
Downloads: 465
Uploads: 0


Default

<Scratching head.>

Is there another G26 I107? And is there a missing G26 I106? Either will cause a problem.

The menu_1024_768.ini my copy of Van's mod is date stamped 7/19/2014. 4:29 PM. Does yours match?

Just as a cross-check, does the identical set of items appear in the menu_1024_768,ini in the active Data folder?

Last edited by BigWalleye; 11-14-2018 at 07:27 AM.
BigWalleye is online   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2018, 07:04 PM   #1512
Kelly621
Officer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 237
Downloads: 335
Uploads: 0
Default

BigWalleye,

You were absolutely right about the chronometer in WYGM. I should never, never post when I am stressed out and up for 29 hours

Thanks for the kind words concerning my wife's surgery. It was life threating condition, but she came through the surgery fine and will be back home tomorrow.

Kelly621
Kelly621 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2018, 09:56 PM   #1513
BigWalleye
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Beyond Black River - in Pict country, you betcha!
Posts: 1,986
Downloads: 465
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelly621 View Post
BigWalleye,

Thanks for the kind words concerning my wife's surgery. It was life threating condition, but she came through the surgery fine and will be back home tomorrow.

Kelly621
God bless you both.

Glad you found the chronometer OK.

Last edited by BigWalleye; 11-19-2018 at 10:04 PM.
BigWalleye is online   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2018, 05:09 PM   #1514
zeus
Engineer
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 216
Downloads: 739
Uploads: 0
Default

Hello people

I am playing with the megamod NYMN 2017 (The most realistic one) and when I attack a ship launching torpedoes they across the ship and no explote, everyone, I have deactivated the "not torpedos dud" and not
the hie patch "torpedo fix"

Do you know if it is a bug?
zeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2018, 01:42 AM   #1515
Fifi
Ocean Warrior
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France - South West
Posts: 2,869
Downloads: 379
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeus View Post
Hello people

I am playing with the megamod NYMN 2017 (The most realistic one) and when I attack a ship launching torpedoes they across the ship and no explote, everyone, I have deactivated the "not torpedos dud" and not
the hie patch "torpedo fix"

Do you know if it is a bug?
That’s why you just said « the most realistic one » !
__________________
https://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/2019/28/7/1563131204-om.jpg
Fifi is online   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
torpedos through hull

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim