SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH4 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-20-2019, 04:06 PM   #1
jackmchammocklashing
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: FIFE SCOTLAND UK
Posts: 10
Downloads: 13
Uploads: 0
Default SH4 not working right

I have SH4 since released, but have never been able to play it
I have downloaded Websters mods, and have bought Gold edition with U boat missions
It is now GFO 1.4 But I have the same problem, the torpedo station when target if fwd shows red arrow, same as when astern
The opposite is true if target is fwd then rear tubes go green etc

Also the distance is shown at 32000 yds when the ship either catches my bow or takes the fin off

I have removed all versions, and have installed it fresh on non win progs

Win 7 home edition

Any help appreciated, or ideally a DVD working copy which I will give the original discs for and the cashj required

Jack McHammocklashing aka Jimbo
jackmchammocklashing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2019, 05:49 PM   #2
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 14,928
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0


Default Welcome back!



Jack McHammocklashing!
__________________
"Only two things are infinite: The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe..." Philip K. Dick
Aktungbby is online   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2019, 09:50 PM   #3
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 4,876
Downloads: 256
Uploads: 1


Default

I've got a few more questions for you:
1. Is your current Gold version from Steam? Amazon?
2. Where do you have the game installed - the path to it, ie: "C:\Program Files (x86) \Ubisoft" or some other?
3. Are you attempting to use Manual-Targeting? Have you tried Auto-Targeting? Does that work correctly?
Post back with at least that information please. I am guessing that you used Ubisoft's Official v1.4 patch on top of your original DVD-R disk, correct? If so, GFO will not work correctly on top of that, only the Gold Edition that you have. For mods to apply properly, you must not have the game installed in a Windows "protected" folder, such as on of the "Program Files" folders. Windows will un-do most parts of a mod when the game is installed there. If you have a disk version of the game, you can just copy the game's folder contents and paste that into another folder of your own choosing, but if you have Steam or a few other download versions, then it gets more complicated, but can be done. If you do not have a lot of games, it is most likely easier to reinstall the game in a different folder of your own naming. You should also delete the Save folder to clear old data when you change mod configurations.

If you do have Steam, you could read Moving a Steam Installation and Games for more information...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2019, 03:26 PM   #4
jackmchammocklashing
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: FIFE SCOTLAND UK
Posts: 10
Downloads: 13
Uploads: 0
Default Shop bought SH GOLD

It is a shop bought SH4 Gold editon U-boat missions

It is installed on an F: drive and is run as stand alone not using win7 86 etc
it comes up as Silent hunter 4 1.4

I only use auto torpedo set up as I have not got far enough to be able to try manual

The problem as stated is that the distance shows as 28k to 32k yds but I can actually see the crew on the ship, and most times they take my fin off

The torpedoes I set for depth and angle contact/magnetic etc, but the periscope site says 60 deg port only the torp station shows fwd torps as red, rear torps as green
Reverse is true for 170/200 deg rear torps show red fwd show green
Nothing ever hits

Regards Jimbo
jackmchammocklashing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2019, 07:46 PM   #5
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 4,876
Downloads: 256
Uploads: 1


Default

"Silent Hunter Wolves of the Pacific Gold Edition" is v1.5, not 1.4. When your game loads, do you see the "v1.4" or "v1.5" in the lower right? When you get to the main menu, do you have a choice for a German career? Or, if on the Quick Mission menu screen, do you have a "Switch Sides" screen? Do you have any mods activated? Have you deleted the Save folder (usually "C:\Users \UserName \My Document \SH4")? That folder holds the information that the game uses to run.
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim