SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH5 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-17-2019, 10:22 AM   #12361
skin-nl
KapitanLeutnant
 
skin-nl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: GlanerBrucke
Posts: 257
Downloads: 125
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kiwikid1940 View Post
Edit: I have now established it is the "silentotto" fix and I need to start a new career and type "silentotto" into mission name? Is this correct.?
You need to type silentotto where you can choose your mission.
I don't know if you need to start a new career. You'll shall try it out.
__________________
skin-nl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2019, 12:38 PM   #12362
Fifi
Ocean Warrior
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France - South West
Posts: 2,897
Downloads: 379
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skin-nl View Post
You need to type silentotto where you can choose your mission.
I don't know if you need to start a new career. You'll shall try it out.
No need to start a new career, but you have to be between two campaign (when the campaign screen will appear)
Just type silentotto while in this screen to unlock all the campaigns...
__________________
https://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/2019/28/7/1563131204-om.jpg
Fifi is online   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2019, 02:29 PM   #12363
kiwikid1940
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 14
Downloads: 295
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks for the information which has worked fine.
kiwikid1940 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2019, 03:11 PM   #12364
XenonSurf
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Germany, Italy
Posts: 1,356
Downloads: 65
Uploads: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kiwikid1940 View Post
Thanks for the information which has worked fine.

And you can even use KSD Commander to further spawn at a precise date in your bunker, at a specific sub-chapter. For that, you need to save the game just before going into bunker, set your desired date in KSD and start game with KSD. You will then leave the bunker at your desired date.
XenonSurf is online   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 08:18 PM   #12365
Erilaz
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Ahoy!
Minor question here. It is possible it's already answered somewhere, but I searched for it here and could not find anything.

Do TWoS render historical convoys? I am talking about ones reported by BdU in radio messages like these


That one features two battleships and battlecruiser in escort, as well as lots of troop transports, very valuable target and I had time to catch it.
I patrolled AM02-AM52 area from 10th to 17th.. Nothing. Reloaded, waited entire week mostly submerged in AM53. Nothing. Reloaded, went to Filth of Clyde itself and spent three days there from 15th to 17th on bottom - nothing at all. I literally raided Glasgow, Greenock and Clyde at once on the day when BdU told the troops are disembarding in Britain, guess what? Nothing there.
Was it there or it's just me being bad listener?

Should I expect any of other messages to be true and try to find other valuable targets reported in their messages and "keep the good work" or these radio convoy reports are just flavor noise which doesn't differ from your regular "be more aggressive" bull as much?
Erilaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 10:53 PM   #12366
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 14,935
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0


Default Welcome aboard!

Erilaz!
__________________
"Only two things are infinite: The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe..." Philip K. Dick
Aktungbby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 07:46 AM   #12367
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 8,767
Downloads: 998
Uploads: 0


Default

A Warm Welcome To The Subsim Community > Erilaz
Subsim <> Make A Donation <> See The Benefits <> Support The Community
SH3 – 4 - 5 Tutorials > Downloads > Other Useful Information > See Links in My Signature Below
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 10:00 AM   #12368
XenonSurf
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Germany, Italy
Posts: 1,356
Downloads: 65
Uploads: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erilaz View Post
Ahoy!
Minor question here. It is possible it's already answered somewhere, but I searched for it here and could not find anything.

Do TWoS render historical convoys? I am talking about ones reported by BdU in radio messages like these


That one features two battleships and battlecruiser in escort, as well as lots of troop transports, very valuable target and I had time to catch it.
I patrolled AM02-AM52 area from 10th to 17th.. Nothing. Reloaded, waited entire week mostly submerged in AM53. Nothing. Reloaded, went to Filth of Clyde itself and spent three days there from 15th to 17th on bottom - nothing at all. I literally raided Glasgow, Greenock and Clyde at once on the day when BdU told the troops are disembarding in Britain, guess what? Nothing there.
Was it there or it's just me being bad listener?

Should I expect any of other messages to be true and try to find other valuable targets reported in their messages and "keep the good work" or these radio convoy reports are just flavor noise which doesn't differ from your regular "be more aggressive" bull as much?

These messages are for game immersion only and no contacts will spawn that are directly related to these messages, BUT: Independant from these messages, historical actions are simulated in the campaign - at least the most important ones - with the corrisponding warships or convoys spawning in the world, yes.

Important:
Only messages directly sent to YOU, sometimes only found in your Captain's Log, like convoy reports or mission orders, are really important and you can always expect to see the related assets in the world. Such messages can have cyan or red color to denote their importance - and will always contain your exact submarine ID or U-021.


Happy hunting and welcome to Subsim!
XS

Last edited by XenonSurf; 06-21-2019 at 10:15 AM.
XenonSurf is online   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 12:09 PM   #12369
excel4004
Hans-Jürgen Hellriegel
 
excel4004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 323
Downloads: 173
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XenonSurf View Post
These messages are for game immersion only and no contacts will spawn that are directly related to these messages, BUT: Independant from these messages, historical actions are simulated in the campaign - at least the most important ones - with the corrisponding warships or convoys spawning in the world, yes.

Important:
Only messages directly sent to YOU, sometimes only found in your Captain's Log, like convoy reports or mission orders, are really important and you can always expect to see the related assets in the world. Such messages can have cyan or red color to denote their importance - and will always contain your exact submarine ID or U-021.


Happy hunting and welcome to Subsim!
XS

Very good explanation XenonSurf!
__________________
U-96
March 1942 - March 1943 * Oblt.z.S. Hans-Jürgen Hellriegel

excel4004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2019, 12:04 AM   #12370
boogieman335
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 13
Downloads: 132
Uploads: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NIDGE2112 View Post
I changed the colour of the lat/long to white, to me with my old eyes the numbers are easier to read

Try this http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...1&postcount=41

Hope that helps
This was Exactly what I needed! Thank you very much. There should be a way to make that
particular font a bit bigger, but at least colored white it is visible.
boogieman335 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2019, 11:19 AM   #12371
XenonSurf
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Germany, Italy
Posts: 1,356
Downloads: 65
Uploads: 1
Default

@Veko,


I have a somewhat hig-tech question, please be patient



In the folder data\Cfg there is the file AirStrike.cfg that governs the spawning of aircrafts from bases and carriers on player's contact reports sent or when player is detected.

What surprises me, is that your file is from 04.07.2013, whereas the file from IRAI_0_0_41_ByTheDarkWraith is a newer one dated 16.02.2014 which references the changes from your file into new values.

Are you saying the older values are better and that's why you are not using the newer one? And for which reason, because they don't do what you want in your TWoS mod? AFAIK, the Carrier & Airbase trigger is disabled in the Generic Patcher, so I wonder wether this file has any importance at all for the Airbase and Carrier values.
Thanks very much to clarify if this is still a work to be done by you, and you need to do the changes, or if the older file (your file) must be used in every mod because of some reason.

I'm asking because I want to re-introduce Air Support in another mod in relation with 'contact reports' sent by players, but I want to delay the spawn time depending on the airbase range, a value that I haven't found in the file.



Thanks!

Last edited by XenonSurf; 06-23-2019 at 02:00 PM.
XenonSurf is online   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2019, 01:10 PM   #12372
Captain_AJ
Nact Morder U-77
 
Captain_AJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 637
Downloads: 270
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boogieman335 View Post
This was Exactly what I needed! Thank you very much. There should be a way to make that
particular font a bit bigger, but at least colored white it is visible.
However, when you get a convoy sighted report from the navigator .. those are valid and you ought to investigate. but sometimes that convoy size can be discouraging.. but at the minimum, you will have at least to merchants to hunt and kill
__________________
Captain AJ

Captain_AJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 09:08 AM   #12373
PurpleCow
Mate
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 53
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Default New to SH5 - Is TWOS the best choice?

I own SH5 on Steam and just patched it to v 1.2. Some other threads (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/sho...d.php?t=225274) mentioned the TWOS mega mod as the best mod to start with if you did not want to deal with mod conflicts. I was wondering if that still was the case?

If so, do I need to install JSGME or another mod patcher? Does this mod work with the Steam version of SH5? Thanks!
PurpleCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 09:31 AM   #12374
Oby
Sparky
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: BH7853
Posts: 157
Downloads: 449
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vdr1981 View Post
I think I have finally satisfied with the results although it was a nightmare to mess up with these because , according to the developers, 100-200=16 and 1-1=-125 ?! I really do understand now why no modder has ever tried to deal with it...

Anyway, you can see here how modified efficiency bars jump around depending of different crew states and also new passive ability for WO ...





It also tried to edit those hideous "Radio GUY" and "Sound GUY" inscriptions but that will , from some reason, mess up your gamesave...

Can you please tell me which file from game data folder relate to efficiency bars?


Thanks.
Oby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 12:04 PM   #12375
boogieman335
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 13
Downloads: 132
Uploads: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PurpleCow View Post
I own SH5 on Steam and just patched it to v 1.2. Some other threads (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/sho...d.php?t=225274) mentioned the TWOS mega mod as the best mod to start with if you did not want to deal with mod conflicts. I was wondering if that still was the case?

If so, do I need to install JSGME or another mod patcher? Does this mod work with the Steam version of SH5? Thanks!
TWOS comes as an executable that does all that for you and yes it works fine with Steam version.
JSGME is included and will launch as part of the install process. Read the install instructions carefully, also I advise making a backup of your Steam game, and then installing. TWOS installer will patch the Steam version of the SH5.exe file. Also if you are like me and prefer English spoken in game you can copy the voice files from your backup to the new install. I think this should be an option in one of VDR's future updates as the install just copies German over the English voice files. Do not add any mods to the new install except the optional ones that come with TWOS as pretty much all the best ones are already included and have been tweaked to work with the game. The only add on mod I use is the murky water mod that is part of Dynamic Env 2.9 because I prefer the bluer pelagic looking water than the murky green.
boogieman335 is online   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim