SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH5 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2019, 04:57 AM   #12346
vdr1981
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 5,306
Downloads: 545
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tonci87 View Post
Hi VDR I have three requests for a future update.

1.) Is it possible to reduce the noise of the electric engines when you are at the hydrophone? They seem to be really loud, even at silent running.
I don't know how or can this be done at all. I'll put this on my to do list for some future update since I don't have much time these days for detailed file exploration...

Quote:
2.) My Deck gun crew is terrible at shooting although they have maxed out skills. Their horizontal aim is sometimes of by a shiplenght or two, even in calm seas. I can understand that it is difficult to get the distance to your target right when your gun is bobbing up and down, but to get the direction wrong like that? It seems excessive. Can their horizontal aiming error be lowered a bit?
Random aiming error can not be tweaked. I think this is hard codded or something. What can be done is to slightly increase vertical gun movement speed. I need to think about this solution and test it more. U-boats were very unstable platforms anyway but right now I'm quite satisfied with crew's hit/miss ratio from some normal distance (500-600m) in calm seas.


Quote:
3.) What would need to be done to make the vertical markings in the UZO usable? Currently they are not suitable to measure the range as you explained in another thread. Can this be corrected?

Thank you.
I think that this can be done but I'm not sure that real life UZO binoculars had that kind of markings in the first place?
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 09:51 AM   #12347
Sailor Steve
Really feelin' it.
 
Sailor Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: High in the mountains of Utah
Posts: 51,187
Downloads: 630
Uploads: 250


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vdr1981 View Post
I think that this can be done but I'm not sure that real life UZO binoculars had that kind of markings in the first place?
They didn't. The UZO was a regular pair of binoculars mounted to a stand. On the other hand the stand had the markings, as you can see when playing, and once the binoculars were sighted on the target the IWO simply had to look down at the markings to get the bearing. Since you can't click a button to do that I don't see any difference between that and just having the markings onscreen.
__________________
"I will stand my ground, and I won't back down."
—Tom Petty




Sailor Steve is online   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 11:29 AM   #12348
Tonci87
Stinking drunk in Trinidad
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 349
Downloads: 93
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sailor Steve View Post
They didn't. The UZO was a regular pair of binoculars mounted to a stand. On the other hand the stand had the markings, as you can see when playing, and once the binoculars were sighted on the target the IWO simply had to look down at the markings to get the bearing. Since you can't click a button to do that I don't see any difference between that and just having the markings onscreen.
No, this is not about bearing markings, but about those vertical markings that you can use to measure the mast height.

I had a look on the internet, and it appears as if the UZO only had a vertical line in the reticule. See here:
https://technodocbox.com/Cameras_and...do-firing.html

I guess it was really only intended to give the bearing to the TDC. I wonder though if maybe another instrument was used on the bridge to get the distance to target. maybe a sextant? Or was it really just guesswork?

Thank you for the answers VDR.

I think the vertical error of the gun is quite OK, so I do not think that it is necessary to change the vertical gun movement speed, it is the horizontal aiming error that is the problem
Tonci87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 11:39 AM   #12349
XenonSurf
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Germany, Italy
Posts: 1,350
Downloads: 65
Uploads: 1
Default

Suggestion: I would add a notice in the description for those sub systems that could potentially not be repaired while on patrol, but only in a dry dock at port, by reading this we would better understand they remain damaged (and us avoiding to consult the sub systems to see if the system is now repaired).
Something like "The system can only be fully repaired in a sub pen" or similar.
XenonSurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2019, 05:36 AM   #12350
vdr1981
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 5,306
Downloads: 545
Uploads: 13


Default

Version 2.2.13 is ready for download Captains! Links are in my signature...



v2.2.13 Changelog

- Polish destroyer ORP Wicher is now accurately represented in game by Bourrasque clone since real ORP Wicher was copy of this French destroyer.
- Fixed occasionally missing "Start of hostilities against Poland" radio messages from the opening stages of Operation Himmler (invasion of Poland).
- Slightly reduced visual sensors difficulty parameters for merchants and warships.
- Reduced skill of Polish Danzing bay taskforces to "average".
- Slightly increased duration of "Disable watch crew reports" WO ability in order to pass unimportant contacts more efficiently and without TC drop.
- F7 key command will now simultaneously activate/deactivate both battlestations level 1 and 2 crew states and also place the guns to neutral positions after the command is disabled.
- Improved numerous tooltip descriptions for various GUI elements and commands in order eliminate players confusion. (travel mode ect)
- Improved tooltip descriptions and instructions for some crew active and passive abilities (Submerged torpedo loading, External torpedo reserves transfer, air purification measures ect).
- Added warning message in the main gameplay settings screen which will note the player that gameplay settings for the ongoing campaign can be manipulated only from the bunker.
- Reworked XO TDC dialog box messages for players who have troubles to understand optional auto TDC procedure in TWoS (XO: Lock target again to calculate auto TDC solution => Auto TDC is active!).
- Ingame TWoS credits page updated with latest outstanding TWoS supporters/donors : Hubert Dewey, Fernand Delfosse, Ludwig Diebel, Joerg Krieger, Carlos Jesús Bustos Moreno, Joseph "TM=Bluntman" Dewey and Janne Aatrakoski. Thank you very much and happy hunting Captains!



Happy hunting!
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2019, 08:37 AM   #12351
XenonSurf
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Germany, Italy
Posts: 1,350
Downloads: 65
Uploads: 1
Default

Congrats, Veko, for your amazing ongoing work. The changed F7 commands make much sense.

With Battlestations activated, will repairs last longer, and the sub be more detectable by enemies because of more noise ?



Thank you,
XenonSurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2019, 10:22 AM   #12352
fitzcarraldo
Argentinischer Kaleun
 
fitzcarraldo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina. Arrived in U-977 after 60 days below
Posts: 3,649
Downloads: 1796
Uploads: 0


Default

Many thanks for the new update!

Congrats Vecko!

Fitzcarraldo
__________________



My subject is War, and the pity of War. The Poetry is in the pity - Wilfred Owen.


Too old to rock'n'roll, too young to die!
fitzcarraldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2019, 01:48 PM   #12353
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 4,870
Downloads: 256
Uploads: 1


Default

I haven't caught my breath from the last update yet, good sir! Exemplary work!
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2019, 10:36 PM   #12354
boogieman335
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 12
Downloads: 132
Uploads: 2
Icon14

HI VDR, This is a great mod thank you for all your hard work. But I do have a couple of comments and a question. I have converted my game back to English spoken by adding the English voices back with no problems. The other issue I had was that the Pencil navigation line was very hard for my old eyes to see so I edited the graphic files and now see it great, but my question is : is there a way to make the Longitude/Latitude numbers a little bigger on the map? I know that part of the mod was probably developed by someone else but to me they are really hard to read sometimes.
boogieman335 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 04:39 AM   #12355
vdr1981
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 5,306
Downloads: 545
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boogieman335 View Post
is there a way to make the Longitude/Latitude numbers a little bigger on the map? I know that part of the mod was probably developed by someone else but to me they are really hard to read sometimes.
I don't think so, no...
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 09:30 AM   #12356
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 8,761
Downloads: 998
Uploads: 0


Default

A Warm Welcome To The Subsim Community > boogieman335
Subsim <> Make A Donation <> See The Benefits <> Support The Community
SH3 – 4 - 5 Tutorials > Downloads > Other Useful Information > See Links in My Signature Below
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 12:40 PM   #12357
NIDGE2112
Seaman
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: 50° 26' N 3° 33' W
Posts: 32
Downloads: 400
Uploads: 0
Default

I changed the colour of the lat/long to white, to me with my old eyes the numbers are easier to read

Try this http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...1&postcount=41

Hope that helps
NIDGE2112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 12:41 PM   #12358
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 14,906
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0


Default welcome aboard!

boogieman335!
__________________
"Only two things are infinite: The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe..." Philip K. Dick
Aktungbby is online   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 04:31 PM   #12359
kiwikid1940
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 14
Downloads: 295
Uploads: 0
Default Fix to change mission ?

I have been unable to find the fix where you can pick any mission. I have installed it previously but can't remember where I found this in the past. I would appreciate it if some one can point me in the right direction please.
Mike

Edit: I have now established it is the "silentotto" fix and I need to start a new career and type "silentotto" into mission name? Is this correct.?

Last edited by kiwikid1940; 06-16-2019 at 06:56 PM.
kiwikid1940 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2019, 07:15 AM   #12360
Lugermann
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Danzig (Deutsches Reich)
Posts: 5
Downloads: 10
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks for your hard and great work, Vecko.

__________________
Freiwillig zur Kriegsmarine
Lugermann is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim