Click here to access the Tanksim website
SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

BUYING GAMES, BOOKS, ELECTRONICS, and STUFF
THROUGH THIS LINK SUPPORTS SUBSIM, THANKS!

The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations!

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > General > Tanksim.com

Old 08-03-10, 11:07 AM   #1
zossy1
Nub

Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default Pros and Cons - Current Tank Sims (and your recommendations?)

Hi guys,

Noob here - great forum, I'm really looking forward to getting stuck into some armored action!

I have played many war games over the years but never an armored sim - at least not since M1A1 Tank Platoon (the first one) back in the 80s! Things have sure changed since then.

With this in mind, I am looking for something new to play. I have two systems I use regularly - one is a fairly stock compact Dell Latitude 4300 Core 2 Duo 2.4Ghz, 4GB RAM and onboard Intel graphics for my trips on the train (XP SP3). The second PC is an Sager gaming laptop, less than a year old with i7 processor and top shelf everything (Win 7).

Given these systems, what would be the best tank sim to play on each system? I would prefer WW2-era sims but modern sims would be OK if the playability was superior. I am familiar with mods and JSGME from my time playing SH3 GWX. I would love something with a dynamic campaign and with infantry represented, but I am really looking for the best armored warfare gameplay experience as the priority.

I like the look of T34 vs. Tiger with ZeeWolf's mods...

Any thoughts on Achtung Panzer Kharkov? Any mod support for this game yet? It looks to have some weaknesses (at least on the reviews I have read).

Of the many other options, are there any that stand out?

Thanks guys!
zos.

Last edited by zossy1; 08-03-10 at 11:34 AM. Reason: Added info

Old 08-03-10, 12:40 PM   #2
frinik
Grey Wolf

Downloads: 0
Default Sims

Hi Zossy !